Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Auto & Home insurance

by Dissatisfied on Dec 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service is terrible for both auto and home.
They are expensive to boot.
They did not approve a home claim and had no expense when it was fixed. They threatened to cancel the insurance if the problem was not fixed by a certain date- even thought the supply chain problem caused major problems for getting workers to fix the problem.
The non-accepted claim was recorded as a bonafide claim.
After a car crash, the adjuster would not check out a witness' statement. Which may have altered the settlement.
He did not answer many e-mails. Very bad experience. Very bad adjuster.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Absolutely Horrible

by Varun Verma on Dec 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I'm at my wit's end with this terrible insurance company. My truck was stolen in September, and they've been nothing but a nightmare to deal with. They won't even give me a rental car because they're "investigating," whatever that means. I've given them every document they asked for, but there's been zero progress. Trying to get a hold of the adjuster is like talking to a brick wall – they never answer calls and only reply to emails after I've sent a bunch. It's the absolute worst communication I've ever experienced. They won't even give me any updates. Here I am, four months later, still waiting to find out what's happening. It's just ridiculous.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I will never use economical/definity or any associated company again

by Joe s on Nov 12, 2023
1.3 out of 5 stars

I’ve been a client of economical for years now, after hitting a moose with my truck this fall, i made a claim. After waiting a month to hear from an adjustor they offered me half of what my truck was worth as a settlement, i rejected the offer and going forward they have ignored my calls and emails for weeks in between each communication, they have belaboured this process so badly. Its been months of trying to sort this out and they are still low balling me to an insulting level and refusing to communicate in a timely manner. I will never use them again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Awful service

by Kim on Sep 15, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Someone from Roger's came up my driveway to do a cold call. When the representative got back into his vehicle he backed into my deceased fathers car.
The car is a limited production car, it was signed by GM line workers who assembled the car as my father worked for GM. From the first time we spoke to a representative from Economical he told us the car will be considered a write off prior to seeing the vehicle. I have been dealing with a rep who is totally incompetent. We told them we do not want the car to be written off as it holds so much sentimental value. I have not received any calls from him since September 5, 2023. I have tried emailing him and all my emails are being returned. I have called and was told I would hear back from Mark within 24 hours and he has not called back. I then called after the 24 hours to escalate the issue. Today, September 15th 2023 a tow truck drive came to attempt to take the car to IAA which is an auto auction. Very sneaky. Needless to say, the car did not leave my driveway. If something doesnt get resolved I will be taking this to the ombudsman. I have taken the car to 3 auto shops who have all said the car is not a write off. I would never suggest this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Cancellation

by Pissedoff on Sep 14, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Called these people in January about canceling my policy as I wasn’t happy with their services, they refused to cancel when I called in January. They then turned around in February and cancelled the policy claiming it was for nonpayment, because of this I’ve been getting problems trying to get insurance through another insurance company. I’ve been calling them every other day for almost a month now and all I keep getting is a manager would get back to me. Finally spoke to a Manager on Tuesday and he then told me he would get back to it’s Thursday I need to get my car back on the road and it’s like it’s a game to them. Called 3 times today first call 11:50am it’s now after 2:30pm and everytime I call managers just happen to be in a meeting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

AVOID

by Disgruntled on Mar 4, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I got hit on a Saturday night - badly. They claim to have 24 emergency claim support - NOPE! People are at their most emotionally vulnerable - but if you get hit after 5 pm on a Friday - guess what? You'll be waiting for 3 days. They have an answering machine that DOESN'T record messages. It's been like that for 2 years and NO ONE CARES ENOUGH TO FIX IT! I called on a Monday morning - go through to a representative - she put me on hold after a 5-minute chat and my call was disconnected. Did she call back? NOPE! I got an assessment and it's been 4 days - my shop still hasn't received it. I'm driving around in a smashed-up car. Terrible company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo