Car Insurance Reviews

Economical Insurance Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(227 reviews)
Economical Insurance
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Horrible to deal with for a claim

by Never use economical insurance again on Jun 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

From my experience, they are by far the worst company to deal with for a claim. Setting up the claim was straight forward. They were too busy to take a look at the car and wanted it released into their own yard and threatened to charge us storage fees. Many phone calls to them with promises of callbacks, nothing returned. One of the guys who called was very rude on the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst Claim experience

by Sunny on Apr 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

They have the worst process and people working in claim department, specially adjusters. They never pick calls and reply your over emails. When you ask for justice, they will ask you to provide irrelevant documentation and then put your claim on without prejudice and then delay as much as possible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible experience

by A-E on Jan 25, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

after 11 years begin their client, when an accident happened, the service I got from them was frustrating, horrible.
Ignoring my emails and no communication from them.
I have 2 horrible experience with this company.
Ripped off

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Cannot cancel by phone or email from out of country

by Anne on Jan 16, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I needed car insurance for 6 months and now have paid an extra 3 months and they will not send me a form to cancel!!!
I have called twice from Australia and email errors from here. So these criminals are still trying to collect and the vehicle is in storage since November.
What the hell????

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Auto & Home insurance

by Dissatisfied on Dec 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service is terrible for both auto and home.
They are expensive to boot.
They did not approve a home claim and had no expense when it was fixed. They threatened to cancel the insurance if the problem was not fixed by a certain date- even thought the supply chain problem caused major problems for getting workers to fix the problem.
The non-accepted claim was recorded as a bonafide claim.
After a car crash, the adjuster would not check out a witness' statement. Which may have altered the settlement.
He did not answer many e-mails. Very bad experience. Very bad adjuster.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Absolutely Horrible

by Varun Verma on Dec 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I'm at my wit's end with this terrible insurance company. My truck was stolen in September, and they've been nothing but a nightmare to deal with. They won't even give me a rental car because they're "investigating," whatever that means. I've given them every document they asked for, but there's been zero progress. Trying to get a hold of the adjuster is like talking to a brick wall – they never answer calls and only reply to emails after I've sent a bunch. It's the absolute worst communication I've ever experienced. They won't even give me any updates. Here I am, four months later, still waiting to find out what's happening. It's just ridiculous.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

My car was stolen, but Economical is the biggest thief.

by Peyman on Dec 11, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I've been dealing with my insurance company for the past three months after my car was stolen, and the experience has been incredibly frustrating. Despite the time that has passed, they have yet to provide the compensation I'm entitled to, no one responded to my emails and phone calls and the delays are causing significant inconvenience. It's disappointing to face such challenges during an already stressful situation. I'm exploring other options and considering seeking legal advice to ensure a fair resolution. Overall, not the level of service and support one expects from an insurance provider. The case adjuster just lie and lie and lie, no responsibility, no compassion. They don’t care that I'm a human.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I will never use economical/definity or any associated company again

by Joe s on Nov 12, 2023
1.3 out of 5 stars

I’ve been a client of economical for years now, after hitting a moose with my truck this fall, i made a claim. After waiting a month to hear from an adjustor they offered me half of what my truck was worth as a settlement, i rejected the offer and going forward they have ignored my calls and emails for weeks in between each communication, they have belaboured this process so badly. Its been months of trying to sort this out and they are still low balling me to an insulting level and refusing to communicate in a timely manner. I will never use them again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Cancellation

by Pissedoff on Sep 14, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Called these people in January about canceling my policy as I wasn’t happy with their services, they refused to cancel when I called in January. They then turned around in February and cancelled the policy claiming it was for nonpayment, because of this I’ve been getting problems trying to get insurance through another insurance company. I’ve been calling them every other day for almost a month now and all I keep getting is a manager would get back to me. Finally spoke to a Manager on Tuesday and he then told me he would get back to it’s Thursday I need to get my car back on the road and it’s like it’s a game to them. Called 3 times today first call 11:50am it’s now after 2:30pm and everytime I call managers just happen to be in a meeting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.

Bad company

by De-Gaulle Armstrong on Oct 15, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They don't answer customers. You can be on phone for a whole hour wanting to reach them. I had a rental by them and they called me, I mean one representative of Economical Insurance called to change the return date for my vehicle rental. I went by her words and it looks like she together with the rental company are trying to rip me of 170 bucks. All efforts to reach her by phone and email are fruitless. I can't get back my money I deposited for the rental either.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo