Credit Card Reviews

RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(26 reviews)
RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Stuck in Mexico

by Unhappy card holder on Jan 15, 2022
1.7 out of 5 stars

My husband tested positive for Covid-19 this morning and when we phoned to initiate the insurance claim we were told we have nothing as the claim is related to Covid. Do not use this card if you are flying during the Pandemic. I am done with West Jet Elite

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

RBC Westjet baggage delay insurance

by Dale Phipps on Jan 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

OMG! My baggage was delayed a few days coming home from a trip to Phoenix/Vancouver. I submitted a claim after a few days of no luggage. We bought replacements for essential items, socks, underwear, I bought a jacket because mine was in the suitcase and it was freezing. Well, short story guess what! Baggage delay insurance now only counts to your destination not from! Wow! So guess what, my RBC is up for renewal and I will cancel two cards after 20 years.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Not worth it

by Hemant M on Nov 28, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

WestJet is always expensive compared to other airlines. Their customer service is beyond pathetic, no one will ever answer their call. After paying the annual fee the wsd makes no sense as the ticket prices are so high and wsd cannot be used for the tax component.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Poor service

by Ashnil Kumar on Aug 7, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have a credit card more than a year and a half spend lots but it says my qualifying spend is still 0. Waited 2 hours till now with the help line still on hold.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Small fee, for great cover

by edbell222 on Jun 20, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

I see lots of negative reviews here, but some are really not telling the whole story or their version of events. I can only relay my experience which is why I use their card and pay the $119 each year. I was returning from the funeral of my father on a long-haul flight. A plane delay of 6 hrs meant I missed my Vancouver connection to get home. Instead, I found myself in YVR on Friday night in July. I had to rebook my ongoing flight $530 for the next day, plus the cheapest hotel was $300, plus a meal, $32. I phoned RBC Mastercard and they were excellent, they immediately said I was covered. I had a cheque from them within a week for $900.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Card Insurance

by Tariq Halasa on Apr 1, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I had a vacation booked with West Jet, due to COVID-19 I had to cancel it. They refused to reimburse my trip. They said the card is covered only for trip interruption, but not a cancellation. I told that this is an unforeseen act and should be considered interruption because I was forced to cancel my trip, but they refused. For a card with a $119 annual fee should cover everything like other cards. Disappointed with their services and consider cancelling my card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

BE AWARE!

by Laura on Feb 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have had so many negative experiences with my short use of this card. First, the card I received the tap didn't work on it, and the customer service was brutal - they suggested to reset my pin and then try to purchase 3 times and it will activate. Complete garbage - I ended up waiting over a month to get a working card. I still have issues with the swipe on it for purchases, and now the most important issue: Trip Interruption or Delay - if you purchase this an expect to have any answers when you need it most - you have the wrong card and coverage! We got stuck mid-flight back from our destination due to weather, our coverage with this card was not easily found online and when we called the number on the back of the card the agent we spoke to was unable to give any information about coverage. So if you are ever in this situation please know you can call 1-800-222-9978 for the claims department and not the number on the back of your card! Customer service and so far caused more issues and stress then solving the issues that they promised!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Not what it seems

by Jaymie M on Jan 29, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

If you decide to get this card make sure you read all the fine print. They do not actually fly to many locations outside Canada. So you will have to fly with another airline to get to the final destination. Meaning you cannot use your vouchers for many of the flights outside Canada. Free checked bags are only good when flying with them. So if you do book a flight without vouchers and have to fly with another company on your way back you will have to pay for your checked bags. So basically unless you know that they fly to your final destination this card is not actually worth what you pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer Service

by KMM on Dec 15, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

When my card was skimmed with this credit card, it took numerous phone calls to be issued a new one. Once I was issued a new one, it takes 5-10 business days for the new one to arrive. With the BMO World Elite MasterCard, a new one was issued without my need to call and arrived within 1-2 business days.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

DO NOT USE THEIR CARD

by duke on Aug 22, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

They will regularly block your payments and then have an excuse for it. If you are planning to spend more than $100, beware. Completely useless customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo