Credit Card Reviews

BMO World Elite MasterCard Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(28 reviews)
BMO World Elite MasterCard
2.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Customer Service is terrible

by Chris Philpotts on May 12, 2022
2.7 out of 5 stars

I've had them block my card twice now to ask about a transaction and each time took over 3 hours to get a hold of someone to confirm it and unblock my card. Not acceptable. I'm now in the process of trying to cancel because of it, and it will take another 3 hours to get through. Huge waste of time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer Service is Zero

by Al Ja on Apr 12, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service is Zero waiting for hours no one answers. We have made a transaction by mistake and we want to cancel it, so we talk to the regular line no one answers for 1 hour, then we talked to the emergency, and the same thing happened.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wait time

by Pissed Off on Mar 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This is not acceptable. I have been on for over an hour. I pay a big premium to use this card. They have not honoured the terms of the agreement and the incentives have not been granted (lounge passes). This is a terrible company that has no regard for its customers. I am done...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

They cancel a card program and force me to a higher program with a larger yearly fee.

by Sylvia on Feb 24, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Another BMO money grab. They cancel a MasterCard program and force us to a higher program with larger yearly fees. As far as I am concerned they made a business decision business to cancel so why am I being forced to pay larger fees? Typical bank trying to get extra bucks out of the consumer and during covid to boot. Call and speak to a representative that obviously can't do anything asked to speak to a manager - was asked to hold a minute while he transferred my call and sat for over 30 minutes with no one checking in on me or picking up my call - so I hung up. Really BMO is this what you call great customer service. I think my next step is the Ombudsman.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer support

by KB on Feb 15, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

They twice lost my replacement card.
They never returned calls related to giving me a tracking number after guaranteeing they would call.
I had to go to a bank manager and beg for help.
I also had trouble with them when I was overseas,
You cannot count on support if you need it!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

by JREID on Feb 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Wait times for telephone banking is 1 hour to 1.5 hours. THIS IS ABHORRENT!!! This is a CONSISTENT problem with BMO Credit Card. Using COVID as an EXCUSE for ABHORRENT customer service is INEXCUSABLE!!! COVID has been going on for 2+ YEARS!!! If BMO has not figured out a solution to exorbitant wait times, I do not think I can trust BMO with my banking. This is sheer INCOMPETENCE!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Customer Service

by Asif on Dec 16, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

The service is terrible for this credit card. I called to ask for past statements (only 3 months are available online) anything past that, they have to mail a paper copy and they charge you. I asked if I could get it faster and the representative said he had to talk to a supervisor.
I was placed on hold for 40 mins (they do not have a call-back feature).
In the end, I had to hang up because the representative never came back.
For your information, other cardholders have several months of statements available online.
Terrible service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer service is terrible

by Sonia on Dec 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I applied for the card online on Nov 9 and subsequently received an auto-email saying I need to follow up in 7-10 business days if I don't receive any responses. Seven business days later, I called the number in the auto email and waited for an hour. The agent told me that I needed to visit a branch to do some paperwork because I was approved for a secured credit card instead of the normal one. So I visited a branch the next day and finished the paperwork. A week later, I called again, the agent said the paperwork did not go through. Anyway, I received an email on Dec 15 saying my card was approved and it would take 7-10 business days for the card to arrive.
I needed the credit card for Black Friday shopping, but it cannot even arrive before Boxing Day! Thanks, BMO, you have a very good way of doing business!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

2-3 hours wait to get someone on the phone

by Parm on Dec 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had issues with my credit card for the last couple of months, non of my transactions were going through even tho I paid the full amount I owed. I have actually overpaid the amount I owed. I have tried to contact customer service via phone many times, their wait time is over two and a half to three hours. A few times I have stayed online for over 45 minutes then all of a sudden phone disconnects. I went to the bank and asked for help, they tried calling the MasterCard line and told me they can not hold the line for so long so I have to call the Mastercard line myself in my own time. Who has 2-3 hours to hold phone line, this is totally ridiculous. I will not recommend this bank to anyone or their credit cards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Garbage

by Danny on Nov 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to talk to someone from World Elite Mastercard for a week. Each time, I am put on hold for an estimated wait time of 2-2.5 hours. I have tried calling several times between 8 am and 9 pm. It’s always the same message. Do you think any our your customers that qualify for this credit card have 2.5 hours to wait on hold?!
You would think paying $125 a year, would come with at the very least - the benefit of being able to talk to one of your employees! Absolute garbage. I will be cancelling my card as soon as I have time. I imagine cancelling it will take 2 hours too!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics