Credit Card Reviews

BMO World Elite MasterCard Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(22 reviews)
BMO World Elite MasterCard
2.7 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Customer Service

by Asif on Dec 16, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

The service is terrible for this credit card. I called to ask for past statements (only 3 months are available online) anything past that, they have to mail a paper copy and they charge you. I asked if I could get it faster and the representative said he had to talk to a supervisor.
I was placed on hold for 40 mins (they do not have a call-back feature).
In the end, I had to hang up because the representative never came back.
For your information, other cardholders have several months of statements available online.
Terrible service!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer service is terrible

by Sonia on Dec 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I applied for the card online on Nov 9 and subsequently received an auto-email saying I need to follow up in 7-10 business days if I don't receive any responses. Seven business days later, I called the number in the auto email and waited for an hour. The agent told me that I needed to visit a branch to do some paperwork because I was approved for a secured credit card instead of the normal one. So I visited a branch the next day and finished the paperwork. A week later, I called again, the agent said the paperwork did not go through. Anyway, I received an email on Dec 15 saying my card was approved and it would take 7-10 business days for the card to arrive.
I needed the credit card for Black Friday shopping, but it cannot even arrive before Boxing Day! Thanks, BMO, you have a very good way of doing business!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

2-3 hours wait to get someone on the phone

by Parm on Dec 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I had issues with my credit card for the last couple of months, non of my transactions were going through even tho I paid the full amount I owed. I have actually overpaid the amount I owed. I have tried to contact customer service via phone many times, their wait time is over two and a half to three hours. A few times I have stayed online for over 45 minutes then all of a sudden phone disconnects. I went to the bank and asked for help, they tried calling the MasterCard line and told me they can not hold the line for so long so I have to call the Mastercard line myself in my own time. Who has 2-3 hours to hold phone line, this is totally ridiculous. I will not recommend this bank to anyone or their credit cards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Garbage

by Danny on Nov 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to talk to someone from World Elite Mastercard for a week. Each time, I am put on hold for an estimated wait time of 2-2.5 hours. I have tried calling several times between 8 am and 9 pm. It’s always the same message. Do you think any our your customers that qualify for this credit card have 2.5 hours to wait on hold?!
You would think paying $125 a year, would come with at the very least - the benefit of being able to talk to one of your employees! Absolute garbage. I will be cancelling my card as soon as I have time. I imagine cancelling it will take 2 hours too!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Still Waiting After Two Hours

by Marjorie on Oct 16, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

At this point, I am looking for another card. Worst customer service ever! Only good for air miles. They still charge a fee for every foreign currency transaction. I pay my bill monthly, but for those of you who don’t, my interest rate went up to 22.5%.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Way too long wait times

by Holly Thomson on Oct 8, 2021
4 out of 5 stars

Got a call that my card was compromised, so I called BMO. Waited 45 minutes on hold, got asked really hard to answer security questions - apparently, I got one wrong or something - as many people would since it’s something many people don’t know off the top of their heads. She told me she couldn’t help me because I failed the security test. That I had to physically go to a branch - because some random hacker on the internet compromised my card or something - something not even my fault. I’m just really annoyed right now so venting. I don’t think they should make the questions so hard to answer without any notice of what they are going to ask. Especially after such a long time on hold.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Customer Service?

by basiler on Oct 5, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

I use this credit card for air miles. But customer service sucks big time. I have been trying to reset my online password as I am locked out, and it's been over a week and wait times have been anywhere from 2 to over 4 hours on any given day. At this point, I may just cancel the card. Customer Service is everything to me. I guess BMO does not feel the same way?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by TJ on Oct 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Got this card after extensive research comparing numerous travel reward cards. I simply couldn't pass up the 3:1 and 2:1 reward rates. The first problem occurred when I was navigating the sign-up for the rewards site... took multiple attempts to secure acceptance of my typed-in info. Directions included in the welcome package were not clear. Started to rack up points and was ready to redeem for a hotel stay through their reward website. Took me 2 hours just to get the website to come up! Followed all steps to book the hotel I needed but the booking didn't go through! I was super frustrated by this time and called the reward centre. It took 2 days before I finally got through and in the end, nothing got resolved. The customer service is terrible!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

5 hrs on hold

by Donna Salt on Aug 31, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to get customer service on the phone for over a week. Every time I call they say over 2 hours wait. I’m locked out for online with my MC, so today I decided to wait. I am still on hold it’s been over 5 hours! That is the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I don’t care how good the rewards are if the customer service don't care!!! Very angry and frustrated! I am going to cut up this card and move on. Don’t ever get this card!!! I will NEVER get an account with the bank either.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Complain

by Laura on Aug 19, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

It took me few times to be on the line for more than 3 hours.
Right now I am on the line and it turned my 4th hour of waiting when someone will pick up the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics