Group Benefits Reviews

Canada Life Group Benefits Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(20 reviews)
Canada Life
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Phone Wait Times and Terrible Service

by Ross on Jul 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have called Canada Life a number of times over the past couple of years and the vast majority of the time I have been on hold for at least an hour. Most recently, I have called in and been on hold for 1.5 hours, only to be disconnected after 1.5 hours because they are having "issues". The constant message of "We apologize for the delay, we are working quickly to get to your call..." is somewhat insulting considering that they eventually disconnect you. In addition, I do not understand how the call center is the only way to contact their support. Why can't would submit an email - at least I do not need to wait on hold.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst experience

by Ed Soman on Jul 26, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My employer has Canada Life. I am on LTD with cancer. Being off for almost 2 years I was told my claim would end at 24 months. A few months ago I was told I must apply for my CCP disability and threatened that they could or would come after me for repayment if I didn't file. I did file and received a letter today saying I was approved from March of 2021 and the amount was $22,586. But that Canada Life wanted to be reimbursed and that a payment of $22,586 was sent to Canada Life. I have had numerous caseworkers in 2 years. Some don't get back to you. Worst experience I have had, STAY AWAY from this rip-off company and their employees. Should be Canada LifeLess.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer service

by Kim on Jul 19, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

Lack of customer service and not being able to reach anyone on the phone. Information is not accessible on the website telling me to contact customer service. Twice I have sat on hold for 1.5 hours. Both times I was disconnected and never spoke to an agent. After being on hold for 1.5 hours the message says “we are unable to process your call. Please try again later.” Unacceptable customer service for the money they are getting from my payroll deductions. Utterly frustrating to deal with a company like this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

What is worse then bad customer service, no customer service

by Dine_16 on Jun 22, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This company has been the worse to deal with. We have placed 4 calls in the past 2 days waiting over 1.5 hours each time and getting an automated message saying there was a technical issue and to try again later. First, if you are having technical difficulties maybe indicate this at the first of the call so people don’t have to wait. Second, how do you get service to get an issue resolved when you need help right away. I had a few insurance companies and this one is in a league of its own for being the worse.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible customer service

by Douglas Patenaude on May 26, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I can't state enough how awful the company is when you need them. They drag you through the trenches and I believe it's done purposefully to try and get you to give up on your claim. Wait time is always horrendous no matter what time of the day you try and reach out to them, but let's face it, if you're employed full time, based on their hours, you will be forced to spend your work time trying to get in touch with someone who can help you. And if they can't help you, there seem too suspicious technical difficulties where you're hung up on, and you need to go through the queue again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Drug/Dental Benefits Service Provider!!!!

by Nothisprovider on Apr 5, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I never leave reviews, but really feel the need to do so here. I hope to save you many headaches. I strongly suggest you choose someone other than Canada Life for your extended health benefits. Canada Life lost my manual submissions twice, $money was never reimbursed; predeterminations for dental took over 2 months (my husband's plan, thru a different provider, took less than 72 hours). You'll get transferred to 5 departments, you'll wait in the calling queue on hold for over 30 minutes with each call transfer, have to go through the story 5 times and still not get anywhere in the end.
I've dealt with 4 other service providers over the last 30 years between my work and my husband's work. If you're in the market for individual health benefits and you choose Canada Life, can't say I didn't warn you. Good luck and take care.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unable to contact, amalgamation = garbage service

by Bob on Apr 1, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Seems to be a consensus in the reviews that Canada Life is not interested in any form of customer service. As others have stated, I have made 3 unsuccessful attempts to reach them by phone with over 1 hour wait time before the line auto disconnects.
This was not the case with Great-West Life. Another example of amalgamation equals garbage quality for the customer. I bet the executives are still patting themselves on the back over the savings when they canned all those unrequired service agents. Can you say bonuses for the privileged!
So when the normal medical expenses and dispensing fees are mysteriously no longer covered, good luck reaching out to anyone for an answer. More money is well wasted if you are paying for coverage with this typical garbage of the industry.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Inefficient by design, for profit. A terrible company. Avoid.

by Billy P on Mar 15, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have never known a company create so many hindrances and delays to perform the sole purpose that their business is supposed to provide. I wish my company didn’t use them as they generate more hardship than they solve. For seven years through Great-West Life and now Canada Life, it is such a rigamarole to try a submit health expenses that the effort is almost not worth it - and that is if they honour their obligation.
To Canada Life: If you must average hour+ call wait times (at least), then have more than 27 seconds of uplifting swing jazz to become more maddening slowly - unless this is by design. In 7 years, I have not experienced one moment where I feel this company is trying to help a patient, but I have lost track of how many times their actions are geared to deny claims and make any communication horribly inefficient.
Go thank yourself, Canada Life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

0 stars if I could

by t on Feb 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They have customary charges listed on everything but don't say it in the package.
They even have customary charges that aren't listed on their website. As a result of this and other deductibles, the percentage coverage is never the full percentage. It's a scam for what we're paying.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Bad customer service

by Susan He on Dec 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

If I can give a 0 or finger to Canada Life (used to be Great-West Life), I would love to do so.
Each time I call Canada Life, it takes more than 1 hour as an average wait time for the past 6 months. When I talked to the agent Stephanie (Dec 1, 2021) who kept telling me I just have to follow the steps so she can hang up. I have trouble submitting my Orthodontic claim online and would like her help but all she could do is tell me to follow the instructions and steps. In the end, I demanded to talk to her supervisor. She said she can't find one at that moment but someone will call me back within 24-48 hours, then 24 hours have passed (Dec 03, 2021) and I have not received any call from Canada Life. I called on Dec 2, 2021, another 1-hour wait to talk with an agent. This agent is better but while we were talking for less than 10 mins, either she hung up on me or had a technical problem, the call was dead. I even have not got a chance to know her name. After these 2 call incidents, I finally decided to write a review regarding the poorest service at Canada Life. An hour has passed and I am still (Dec 03, 2021) waiting to talk with the agent :(

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo