Health insurance Reviews

Canada Life Health Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(72 reviews)
Canada Life
1.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Terrible service: Wait time for calls long, rejection rate for claims high

by Ev Chan on Feb 21, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely worst company to deal with. Long wait time to speak to agent or supervisor, long call back time, high rejection rates. It seems like Canadalife does not want to reimburse us for medication. They make you wait for a long long time before an agent answer you.
I put in 3 clams from mid October to mid Jan and 2 were rejected. For one of the claim, I had to paper file in and sent in thru email. I submitted the claim on Jan 10, 2024. I had called 3 times was told the paper claim would take a month before it would be reviewed. I called today and was told it was rejected and I wasn’t able to view the claim on canadalife website. The agent told me it was rejected due to incorrect DIN.
The DIN was provided to my pharmacy by Canadalife. Before doing the compounding, my pharmacy was on the phone with Canadalife agent for 20 minutes and was given the DIN and dosage and the agent assured my pharmacy that this should be approved by Canadalife. Fast forward one and a half month later, I am now told DIN is not correct. I can’t go back to my pharmacy now and ask to call Canadalife to get the correct DIN.
I told them I would like to talk to the supervisor and was told supervisor not available and she can only put in a callback and it could take up to 5 to 7 business days.
This is not acceptable. We never had such issues when we were dealing with SunLife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

The worst service ever compare to other life insurance company

by Doris DU on Feb 18, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I submitted my claims several times, they always try their best to postpone the settlement. I spent a lot of time to call them or sent email through their contact information, that is totally wasting your valuable time.
If you consider your life or healthy insurance, please consider other companies.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

One of the Worst companies ever!

by ES on Jan 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I would give these people a -10 if the option was there.
I submitted Dental expenses on Canada Life confusing and not so functional web site. No one got back to to say some information was missing. I have been trying to call them, waited for 1 hour 45 min no response for 2 days. After I hour and half a message came on to leave a message for them to call me back. A week later no call. I even emailed, still no response. Still waiting someone to call me back. I don’t understand how on earth companies like this stay in business. PATHETIC!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don’t get benefits here

by Trish on Jan 22, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

Stuck with them because of employer. The last 6 months have been awful.
Iт a week I will have three monthly claims (pre approved) overlap, so you know it’s bad and it’s been this way for a while now.
They have no interest in fixing it, no timelines for you, no information at all.
The staff are nice but they can’t help.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible - extreme delays in processing claims

by Tara on Jan 18, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

My employer has Canadalife as the insurance provider. I have consistently had poor experiences with them, not processing claims. Most recently, 3 months ago my hospital billed them for semi-private rooms. I called them several times, and they assured me it is processed and will be paid and reflected online in 2 days - but the claim is still pending. It looks like the customer service agents just try to pacify customers without providing truthful information.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wonderful

by lk230 on Jan 8, 2024
4.5 out of 5 stars

I guess I’m the odd one out with all of these negative reviews. Every time I call Canada life, yes the wait times are long (45 mins max for me), but the customer service reps are knowledgeable and to the point. I got top of the line health & dental, it’s kinda expensive but 1000% worth it! Don’t be too discouraged with the negative reviews :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst company ever!

by Lhassan Abnaou on Jan 6, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I would give -5 stars if I could. This "company" is a joke. Since I switched from Sunlife (which was great) to these people, I am living in a nightmare. They keep denying coverages and refuse to cover my medication fees which was alright 100% with Sunlife (my and my wife plans). Not to mention the horrible customer service full of incompetent agents with 0 knowledge and 0 training. RUN AWAY!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I have had nothing but trouble with My Canada Life

by Madeline Ballard on Jan 5, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

My Canada Life is impossible to get a hold of. I have called 4 times in the last two days been in hold for over 1 hour and a half only to get cut of and receive no assistance at all.
Every time I have gotten through regarding an issue with claims. They tell me someone will call me back, they never a have.
If it wasn’t mandatory to have this insurance through my employment, I would never choose this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Confusing Website / Long Wait Times / Slow Claim Processing

by Not A Happy Customer on Jan 4, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

There is no easy way to review one entire claim if a portion of it was out of the benefits fund and a portion out of the HSC. It takes weeks and weeks (and weeks) to have a more expensive claim paid - even when a Predetermination was received. Emails are rarely, if ever, responded to. It's a 2 hour wait to speak with an agent. One agent cannot help you - you need to speak with one for dental, another for health, another for HSA. I would never recommend Canada Life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo