Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

ICBC Auto Insurance Reviews

(166 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
37,848
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

ICBC steals from customers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BC drivers Sep 05, 2020
ICBC continued to make automatic withdrawals for three months on a vehicle that I no longer owned. I went in with an original Bill of Sale from the date of the vehicle sale for confirmation. I also asked them to explain how they think they can charge for two policies on the same vehicle with two different owners at the same time. Their representative( who is probably employed as a supervisor due to his remarkable lack of ability to apply logic and reason to a customer's concerns) could not provide that answer. But, he didn't mind admitting that ICBC has no problem double-charging customers. Not, only would they not refund the approximately $500 that they continued to charge me; they also charged me another $60 to cancel the policy that had just automatically withdrawn the current month's insurance fee two days earlier. The only thing that gives me a small amount of satisfaction is knowing that the level of thievery and incompetence that has become the standard at ICBC will inevitably end in their grand failure. And, if you are having a bad day; just be thankful that you don't have to answer "ICBC" if someone asks where you work. Thieves!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Utterly useless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ICBC hater Aug 31, 2020
This is the most archaic and frustrating insurance company that I have ever dealt with. They hide behind policy and use that as an excuse for the terrible service that they provide. It took me 2 months to cancel my policy and receive a refund. They are lucky to be the state-run insurer because I can ensure the majority of people would leave them the second they could.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Drive or Eat

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Hard working victim Aug 18, 2020
My payments last year were $300 because I was 24 and still considered as a new driver. I had 1 fender bender in the last 9 years I was driving but because 3 of the years were in Newfoundland I am now considered to have 6 years driving experience due to the new structure ICBC has. That being said they raised my rates up by 150%. Yes, my payments are now $750 a month. How can this even be allowed? And they are saying that I can just pay 10,000 to have it insured for the year if I don't want the payments. I've got 3 young kids and a wife to feed and a mortgage to pay for. The wife doesn't work right now and with just the truck payment, insurance and mortgage I'm looking at 4,000 a month. What!? ICBC is a scam and they take advantage of people because they are our only option for insurance. No wonder people drive without insurance or jump off bridges. I can't believe they are doing this sort of stuff. I thought $300 a month was bad. The real kicker was that I got a piece of mail from ICBC to remind me to renew and it said that with their new structure, premium rates don't rise each year like they used to. HA...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Starts well, ends very poorly

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by KK Jul 17, 2020
So had a collision (non-fault) resulting in a total loss claim. All ok during the initial reporting and notifications process and once acknowledged as non-fault a hire car was duly provided quickly. Fast forward a few days and the settlement offer comes through, not too bad really but a couple of bugbears and errors in the report so managed to get slightly more in the end. Again ok, except that you can tell they don't want to pay anything more than originally offered. Now at this point I ask, 'So how long have is the grace period for the hire car' to be told, Oh now you've had a settlement offer (not agreement or actually received the money) you have 3 days to return the car. Wow... one I haven't accepted this offer and two I don't have the money, how do I get a new vehicle and what do I do in the meantime? Apparently, that isn't their problem as I knew it was a total loss so should have been looking at cars already...hang on I haven't got the money so how do I get a new car? so I wasn't happy to have no car access with weekends away planned etc! Fast forward another week and I still haven't had the settlement check delivered and when I chased this up they said 'if it's still not there in a week call us again, but it has been issued'. Very very poor customer service and do not feel looked after at all. Would expect the hire car to be kept until at least the settlement money has been deposited in the bank. Also on the follow-up call, I was advised I could have had a direct transfer payment, something I was not even made aware of initially.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Gouging young drivers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disallusioned Jul 17, 2020
Gouging young drivers. Our 20-year-old for one year in the lower mainland based on a 14-year-old Honda is paying $6000 a year for insurance with one accident. This is completely unfair. How do these young people get ahead and be able to live in this province?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Never Trust ICBC

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Adel May 19, 2020
I had to work in Vancouver for one month in 2016, I bought a car and I did insurance with this insurance company. I paid the first month but I left back to Quebec the same month and the engine of the car stopped at the road and I went to the garage. They told me to scrap the car. The same day I called the insurance company and cancelled. All was good after then I found just now on my Equifax reported that I have a personal loan with this company, so I'm gonna talk with my lawyer and report them by Equifax Canada.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Rip-off place

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by KK May 10, 2020
The insurance rates keep rising each year. The highest rates in North America are in BC!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

ICBC fee during COVID-19

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PLin Apr 23, 2020
COVID-19 Pandemic situation reduces a lot of traffic on the street and the chance of the claims on auto insurance. People are asked to stay at home and avoid going out. How come ICBC still charges the same premium and fees during the period even though most of the people are suffering the income loss?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

New Rates are a Rip Off!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shiela Apr 20, 2020
I just went to renew my insurance. Last year I was at - 19 year os experience. (-9) being the maximum discount. I had a little parking lot fender bender and not my insurance has gone up $800.00. .713 discount. The customer service agent told me on the old model I would have gone to -13. Thanks for the good news that is NO good to me. I could have had TWO accidents and still got the maximum discount because of all my years of safe driving. Then she says "but there is a new model now and we can't compare apples to oranges". SO MAD! What a joke! Then she offered to share with me information on how the public loves this model way more. Especially seniors. (they should get a seniors discount anyway) I do not believe many people think this is better. Plus....we don't even have a choice!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Smiles and knowledge

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by RM Apr 03, 2020
We had very professional and pleasant dealings doing one of our many vehicles renewal at the Kings Cross store in Surrey. Fast and efficient and very pleasant to deal with. Great service. We'll be back.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Gougers

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by XV Apr 01, 2020
Very high rates. A new and improved system that caused delays in renewals and adjustments finally came out with the promise of punishing bad drivers while doing the opposite. The fact that I now have to put a parent on my insurance who will NEVER EVER drive my vehicle to lower my rates more accurately to what they were at before should be a HUGE RED FLAG. Well over 10 years of flawless driving. Being punished. A person close to me has to pay over 1400 more a year. Also 10 safe driving.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Shameful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cynthia Mar 13, 2020
I have never in all my born days been so disappointed in an insurance company as I am with ICBC from cost to service. ICBC is an empirical and outdated system with no competition to keep them in their place and costs affordable. Absolutely shameful when it comes to reasons for increases, discounts given, it's all about them, not the customer.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ICBC Customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by lana Mar 03, 2020
The worse experience ever. ICBC Customer Service are the rudest people in the universe. They just do not care what are you saying. They can care less. It is obvious their mistake and still, they do not care. I called 3 times and they still did not send me the report I have asked for. Also, ICBC is the most expensive. Why in BC we only have only one insurance company. Absolutely terrible in every possible way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

In an accident not my fault

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Icbc scaming Feb 27, 2020
The accident wasn't my fault I got a concussion. The concussion limited my eyesight and still causing me blackouts so they promised wage subsidy after one month of nothing I kept emailing trying to phone nothing I provided everything they asked for three months later the finally made it clear that unemployment insurance had to come first and that they were going to top up the wages. I have now waited 6 months nothing from ICBC they decided to send me an email recently saying who cares about your symptoms and blackouts get back to work! So ICBC promotes unsafe driving now and people on the roads that may pass out! This isn't an insurance company it is a scam!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

ICBC knowledge test

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rayzi Feb 26, 2020
Knowledge test seems like it was written by someone who likely doesn't speak English. Many questions are poorly worded and some questions and answers are just plain wrong and/or have nothing to do with anything relevant to safe driving or really anything at all...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Love this place.

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Todd Feb 11, 2020
No nonsense. Just excellent customer service. The agent was first class... I found her extremely knowledgeable, professional, helpful & very pleasant. Definitely an excellent addition to your wonderful staff. I can’t imagine going anywhere else for all my insurance needs. Great experience!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Hit and Run accident

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jeremias Feb 07, 2020
One month after someone hit and run my car still haven't heard back from ICBC. Keep calling and emailing multiple times without any luck. But when you have to pay them if you delay one day the ask 25% overdraft and if you fail the second day the just cancel your insurance and flag you to the police. If this is not an excellent customer service then what is it?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Cash Grab

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ICBC Feb 02, 2020
64 year old with a clean driving history. My insurance went up to $175.00, almost 10 %. This is a tax grab. ICBC should be opened up for a competition to make it more efficient and fiscally responsible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Lawyer up! Get informed

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by TA Dec 24, 2019
I got reared ended by another driver! So frustrated and adjuster was just horrible. He played games with documents and would accuse me of things without even reading the reports from the health care professionals. I emailed his supervisor and requested someone new. She refused. All the damage to my wife/me are in our muscles so we can't get a serious claim unless we wait for a year to see what is happening. The loss of quality of life isn't really a consideration unless something is super serious. I'm pretty frustrated with the overall process. I want a different option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

ICBC in the ditch

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jsyring Dec 22, 2019
The recent changes to ICBC were paraded out as rewarding the "good" drivers while getting "bad" drivers off the road. I have a spotless driving record (both incident and infraction free) of over 30 years end had the full discount. Now, I find out my insurance has gone up over 30% under the new system and my driver rating is what the broker called "average!!!" What would one have to do to get an excellent rating? The Broker could not explain why the cost had gone up and had no knowledge of how the cost was formulated. I would be far better off going third party which is where I will take my renewal.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

A price gouging monopoly

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by FrustratedCanadian Dec 22, 2019
Rates keep going up every year, even for experienced and safe divers - often at least twice as expensive as other provinces for the same coverage, vehicle, and driver. ICBC has an unchecked monopoly and should not be allowed to continue operating like this.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Awful thieves

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mari Dec 18, 2019
AWFUL THIEVES. Having L driver's license for years no longer counts for experience, I’m paying 370 to drive an old 07 vehicle and they’re increasing the price to 5.5k annually. I only drive less than 15 km to and from work, absolute monsters squeezing every penny they can off of drivers:( This is very upsetting.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

The worst company of all

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gabo Dec 17, 2019
My hatred for ICBC knows no bound, in the last 5 years I tried to deal with them, they only bled me dry and/or actually prevented me from being able to drive legally. All the way from file opening to cancellation, the process is inconvenient and cumbersome, the terms are confusing and inflexible. 3 months upfront or 6 monthly payment, miss one and you're banned forever from payment plans. They PUNISH drivers from out of province, from the get-go, they told me that much when I asked to justify the ludicrous 250$ monthly payments I have to make for LIABILITY ONLY!!! ( Although I never claimed my whole life.) Punish drivers out of province though workers from outside are vital for the local economy and a car there is a vital PERIOD. Not to mention they have a total monopoly and you're obligated to deal with them to purchase a vehicle in BC. You are very welcome. Renewal is no better, they have a 30-day frame where you can renew and you have to be physically present in BC. They actually ruined my life this fall with this beforehand undisclosed hurdle; forcing me to go back to BC then away on icy Canadian roads. I crashed my car of course and since 250$ a month is already more than I can afford I have liability only so they'll leave hanging and I lost everything. I asked to cancel my payments since I no longer have a vehicle, but no, I'm a bad out of province boy again so I'll have to mail them their plates back then they'll consider letting me off the hook, after taking a hefty cancellation fee. So there goes the last 250$ I had. Again, you are very welcome. To top it off, the customer service is rude and unhelpful, I never could keep my cool with them, all they do is nag you about what a bad customer you are for not knowing all of their book of rules and hurdles. If you are thinking of getting a car in BC, don't, get it from Alberta or Ontario or wherever else, especially if out of province; you will save money and trouble and sanity and not contribute to enriching the heads of this poisonous state-mandated cartel. I intend to never ever deal with them again after I get my cancellation.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Worst customer service ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by AngeF Dec 06, 2019
I found no uniformity of information provided when speaking to different people. This was made much worse when I had to deal with different departments on the same issue- customer service can't see account services notes etc, so I was constantly going in circles and getting something done was impossible especially anything out of the norm. Out of 10 people my broker and I spoke to only ONE was helpful and I think she is account services and I would like to give her all the compliments I can because she actually LISTENED, had empathy for my situation, and tried to think outside the box to help solve the situation. Everyone else did not seem to care to listen or help me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

WORST COMPANY EVER

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by audrey Nov 22, 2019
Super abusive policies. They try to make it as hard and as expensive as they can for their clients. Plus, they have really bad customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Just a mushed up door.....

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Victim. Nov 21, 2019
My car was written off for an accident that was 0% my fault... I just lost my only transportation to and from work, so now I have lost the work too. When you see the homeless on the street, maybe ICBC wrote their car off for a minor fender bender because of its age... I drove my car another 1,000 kms before turning it over to them. Now I will go find my self a cardboard box for my family. Evil Corporation to say the least.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Absolutely Ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by A123 Nov 15, 2019
I just went to renew my insurance, and under the new ICBC policy, I'll be paying 5200 a year compared to 3600. I have had 0 accidents, 0 claims and not even a parking ticket to my name. All because I still have my N and under the old policy they used the years you had your L towards your discount and recently cut that only counting the years you had your N. As well there is an increase for N drivers to boot. I'm in university full time, in what world can a full-time student afford that? We don't even have reliable public transportation where I live so I'm forced to pay this even though I can't afford it.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cw Nov 08, 2019
I just moved here from Ontario. The license transfer has been a horrendous process. No one seems to know what is going in this office. I've been told different requirements by 3 different people and after waiting for my abstract from Ontario they wouldn't accept it today. I've been driving for 10 years in April and I'm considered a new driver now. The girl I dealt with would not apply a discount to driving history despite having the proper form and her comment today was appalling to me. Her excuse for all this miscommunication was " the staff have been misinformed and no one has been trained properly". That is great customer service... The insurance here is a scam. I paid half of what I pay here for a Mercedes Benz in Ontario which is considered a high risk car. I switched to a safer car (Nissan rogue) and somehow my insurance is more. Something needs to change in the next couple of years ! This is absolutely ridiculous. Also step up your customer service skills because they need serious work.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Nov 01, 2019
Cost, wait times, service is all terrible. Time to dismantle ICBC. Prices too high. Salaries too high. Due to it being a monopoly people have no options which amounts to no service. Dealing with them for anything is frustrating at every level.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Horrible Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Annoyed Citizen Oct 19, 2019
I had a hit and run claim with an independent witness. Yet ICBC can still decline the claim saying that the height of the damages on both vehicles did not match. I also had another experience of enquiring some simple questions at the ICBC licensing office and when they could not provide a clear answer, they asked you to leave or else will call the Police. Can you believe it? Yes by-product of being a monopoly and that independent supervision towards them is not effective . Worst experience I ever had with similar authority.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?