Car Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Auto Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(115 reviews)
Cooperators
1.7 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Claim experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

WANT THE OWNER TO SEE THIS

by Tushar Arora on Mar 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

WORST AND I MEAN IT BY SAYING WORST INSURANCE MANAGEMENT, I don't know about others but I don't understand the criteria they are taking for building up a profile for auto insurance. I've got a 2013 vehicle with a dash cam in it, which is for the safety of the vehicle, spending $$$ on it. Paying full amount, no finance, 50k on it. My roommate got a 2008 BMW and the other is having a 2007 Malibu, 200000kms on it. All three having G license, staying at the same place, I got no tickets or claims, they might have got 1 on theirs and my insurance amount is 400, 250 for BMW and 170 Malibu. Please explain to me how your machine is making its criteria, Cooperators? Poor Management, the only ability you have is to make excuses and say I understand you...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Very disappointed

by Anonymous on Mar 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I've been with this company for three years. During the pandemic, I worked from home and did not use my car daily and no claims but when I asked for renewal my premium went up to $500. They say the company has merged with another. The lady I spoke with was also very rude no empathy at all. Avoid this insurance company at all costs!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Overcharged

by Ashish Gujaran on Jan 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Got a good deal with other company hence, decided to end the contract with Cooperators. Got an email saying the penalty will be $136, which is fine. When the payment day came, for some reason I was charged for home insurance too with an additional penalty which I opted out of a month ago as was not applicable to my new address. After inquiring, I was told that this was for the month before I ended the home insurance contract. I checked my statement, it was charged and reversed back on the card by them for no reason. And apparently, in such cases, they make a 2nd attempt to charge the card after 3 to 4 days again to see if that goes through, if not there is a penalty however, it wasn't charged by the company on the required date and for their mistake I pay an additional penalty, which isn't fair and does not make any sense to me at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.

One of the worst insurers

by Dharani Kumar on Nov 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

This is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever seen. I am a full license holder for the past 5 years without a single accident or ticket. Even though I have a clear history and I am paying $350+ as my insurance and many who are coming new to the country they are getting for a cheaper price with them. When I ask about this the person who called me is giving a blunder reason and the worst service. Friends, please do not go with the Cooperators for any of your insurance needs. Before taking the insurance they won't say about the cancellation charges also. If we ask about that they will say "we are not sure how was your conversation earlier". They all are cheaters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unfair and Unjust

by Concerned_Citizen on Oct 9, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

The Cooperators increased my premiums after my insurance Coseco was acquired. Somewhere during this acquisition, my files were transferred from Coseco to Cooperators and my insurance premiums increased. When I spoke to the Cooperators, the agent indicated that my policy was up for renewal and due to a speeding ticket 3 years prior my rates were increased. I did not recall this infraction and questioned the agent why my rates did not increase the previous years then if that was the case. I could not get a satisfactory answer. The response I received was your policy has been renewed. When I asked for a breakdown of my policy and we started to go over my coverage it was noted that my discounts that was applied by Cooperators was not accurate. These discounts were adjusted on the fly leading to a further increase to my premiums. My insurance rates was conveniently increased on my renewal once my files were taken over by the Cooperators and has increased to over $100 per month? When I asked for a discount for not driving my vehicle during COVID, I was told that I did not qualify since my Policy was new with Cooperators. How is it fair for a company to take over my insurance without my consent and approval and have the right to increase my premiums and then refused any credits that I would be qualified for?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Try to talk to someone

by Ddan4341 on Aug 5, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I received rebates for less driving as well as a rebate for being mortgage-free, which was early July. I've just got my statement for renewal jacked my insurance up to $400 for the year. GREAT savings and then I try to speak to someone, waited for 2 hours on hold and finally, gave up. Insurance is legalized extortion.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.

Poor experience

by L on Jul 19, 2020
2.3 out of 5 stars

I had my first at-fault accident after 22 years of driving. By all measures, it qualified for a minor accident status, with $1200 repair cost to the other vehicle and $0 to mine. My license plate mounting bolts left an imprint in the other's bumper cover, that was it. I wanted to pay off the other driver, which the Cooperators was okay with (minor accident stipulation in Ontario insurance law). However, the other driver did not want to be paid, they wanted their insurance to handle it. So then, the Cooperators, unwilling to consider the minor nature of the accident, held it against me and jacked up my rate 50%.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Was hit from behind

by Wade on May 26, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Please let it be known that I was wrongly accused by Cooperators insurance company. They do not work for you. If you have a claim with them be prepared to be in not there favour. A very unworthy insurance company, not recommended.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Had to sue them

by Richard on May 22, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I sued Cooperators Insurance after they refused to pay my claim to replace my car $14,000 and for medical expenses. Sent me to their doctors (4) who will say there is nothing wrong. I had to leave Canada to pay out of pocket for multiple spine surgeries. It was worth it. I can walk again. I was not at fault but was the driver only passenger in the car (ICE) on the way to work. You only have 10 days to serve the city responsible or you are no longer allowed to sue. In lawsuit number 7 now and this is back in 2011. Car Insurers only pay for 2 years and only 70% of your earnings. The medical system in Ontario is a joke 48 doctors and no help except pain management. You are only entitled to $25,000 in medical expenses by law which they will not pay unless you sue. I had to wait 3 years to get disability from the federal government I had to sue them too and you have to reapply every 10 years. Yes you win in the end but you will lose everything trying. If you are in a car accident your fault or not and can no longer work in Ontario your life is over. Your only saving grace is to get your own disability insurance to age 65 you will have to sue to get it and a large life insurance policy. Take care of yourself no one else cares. The car insurers only pay $25,000 in funeral expenses. This will not even buy a burial plot anymore. If the insurer writes off your car and says its only worth $2,000 and you still have a large loan on the car tell them to repair it that is the only right you have left unless they took that away too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.

Non trustworthy

by Joseph on May 13, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Non-trustworthy in business. Very bad customer service, Not respond to your queries. Worst insurance company in Canada

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics