Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Auto Insurance Reviews

(69 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
36,290
consumers
(1.9 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jessica Nov 07, 2018
Extremely poor service, the claim agent was rude and unprofessional. Made unnecessary personal comments - derogatory comments in regards to my speech disorder and age. Considering how her East Indian accent was thick and hard to understand she probably doesn't know what is deemed to be improper or impolite. This is inexcusable. As for claims, the process is a complete headache. They give you the runaround for days and find any obsolete excuse to not cover your rental, costing you hundreds at your expense. Switched to TD, where people are professional and literate. Heard bad reviews from TD but would suffer through TD than with an excuse of an insurance company such as Cooperators. Do yourself a favour and STAY AWAY!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Don't waste your time or money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Molly8483 Oct 26, 2018
I was a customer of Co-Operators for 5+ years for auto, and 2+ years for home insurance. Each year, my insurance rates would increase (quite substantially) even though I was a claims-free driver/homeowner. When I finally decided to cancel my insurance policies, they shut down my online account immediately - even though I had 30+ days left on my policy that I was STILL paying for - which made it a huge hassle to obtain my policy info to send along to my new insurance agency. Don't waste your time or money. They don't care about their customers at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don’t bring your business here

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WouldGive0StarsifCould Oct 20, 2018
This is the worst company I have had an experience with. Their customer service reps are rude and have no idea what they are talking about if you call for advice. I’m a new driver and I got into an accident 6 months after I got my car, and if my accident wasn’t bad enough, the insurance company made my life much worse while dealing with them. It took me over 7 calls to finally be told that the claims department on the weekend doesn’t know the procedures and information regarding my problem, so instead of just telling me the first time, they gave me different answers and ended up costing me 200$ extra because they instructed me wrong. I’m so beyond upset because the customer service rep wouldn’t even let me finish my sentence before he interrupted me, then had the nerve to tell me not to talk over him. Sir, if you had let me finish my sentence, then I would’ve stopped talking so you could answer. Needless to say, me and my family are taking our business elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Good price and service

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by will Oct 03, 2018
I am posting because I am surprised by the under 2-star reviews. Seems pretty fishy. I had a small fender bender and because of my 25 years of no claims, they did not charge me at all. They are polite every time I deal with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance in the World

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rubbish cooperators Aug 17, 2018
This insurance company is really a garbage. The collision happened 3 weeks ago and they didn't reach out their client! They just told me the driver is not answering the phone and asked me to wait and wait and wait only! I personally called the driver and there is it, someone answered the phone! I told this to one of the agents but he's still saying me they cannot do anything at this point so just wait!!! And then this agent just cut off my phone!!! 3 weeks I have to pay the towing fee and all the transportation myself!!! Trust me, the Cooperators will do nothing when you have a problem. I suggest everyone, don't use this rubbish company anymore or you have to prepare for a tragedy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by greicy Aug 03, 2018
Had to move and changed my address - they increased my insurance before the end of the 1-year contract - I was with them for only 3 months! So I quoted with other insurance companies, and they all gave me a lot lower rates for my new address. Tried to negotiate and they gave me a lower rate by phone, and then would not confirm over e-mail or any documents and started charging me the higher rate! You cannot trust this company - horrible!! Do not recommend to anyone!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

stay away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by arty125 Jul 24, 2018
Customer service is awful even before buying. You can imagine what happened after buying. I highly recommend to stay away from this company. They rejected my phone when I was talking and asking to change the liability of my auto insurance.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

BAD CUSTOMER & RENTAL SERVICE!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sy Jun 19, 2018
Yemi E Personal Line Claims Representative-Auto Was totally rude, raised her voice and hung up the phone on me. I was upset that I did not receive information and due to it, I was responsible for extra rental car fees. I had an oral surgery, so was unable to attend her call quickly, but as soon as I was able to speak, I called which was in a few days. Anyways, I called to ask for an extension for the car rental so we have time to look for a car or at least when we receive our cheque. She started stating the policy only covers till an offer is made (even if it is not taken). Before telling me that she has already updated it so that it will be covered only up till today, she chose to raise her voice because I said I felt like the company was scamming us. Due to the fact that they stated we have to return the rental car the second an offer was made, which does not make sense whatsoever. If the agent, who was selling the policy, has informed us about this, we would have never signed with them. Basically, they can offer $1 for the total loss amount and we would be responsible for rental, going forward. Asked to speak to supervisor or contact information and she denied providing it or transferring to a supervisor. Then hung up! I do not know what kind of customer service allows someone to hang up on a client because a customer is feeling upset about the unfortunate situation they are in. Totally unprofessional.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Strategem, artiface, trickery?

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Amnoz May 27, 2018
Beware! If you have a physical injury, they will send you for an assessment with a "Doctor" who is not on your side, even though the "spin" is that it is all for your benefit. A "Doctor" I was sent to was a "creature" whose office had reminiscences of Film Noir, backstreet abortionist's "clinic" scenes, or the "mysterious" "Doc", sweating, with eye evasion difficulties, who "testified" in old Perry Mason shows. Beware!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gabiegirl May 15, 2018
We are 20 year customers of the Cooperators, when they suddenly without prior notification increased the cost of vehicle policies by $500 year. The customer service representatives were misleading and would not tell us upfront about the changes to our policies. Finally I spoke with our account representative, just to be passed on to his "helper", who condescendingly went on to lecture me that "the losses of the few should be shared by many" - in other words, the Company had an increase in claims this year, so they need to up their rates to cover any potential loss to the Company, and to add to that they have so many clients that they were unable to advise them of rate increases - if you do not notice it, they are not going to tell you... Beware, you cannot and should not trust them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Got dropped

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by boki May 14, 2018
Apparently, if you get two at fault accidents within 5 years, you get dropped. First one was my fault, second one I'm still to blame but was related to an abnormally high and narrow curb driveway which dented the bottom of the car while turning. I debated whether or not to even bring it up to them, but clearly regretting having said anything because they can't afford the odd chance of someone having two accidents within 5 years even if one of the two is small.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Untrustable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mina M May 08, 2018
Very bad service. I give them my car, brand new Mazda three 2017, and they return the car with tire damage and when I asked them, they just said: "we are not responsible". Unprofessional team and untrustable place, I would never recommend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not good service.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy customer Apr 27, 2018
As a person who had never been insured under my own name, I went with Cooperators as it was the cheapest option. However, after a year, I realized that I was being completely ripped off. I had payment issues twice and was charged $100.00, even though it wasn't my fault that they did not process the change in my banking info. Also, I have never been able to get a hold of anyone at the KING office. Every time I called, I have been transferred to the head office. I am pretty sure all they do is go out to lunch, or not come in. Lastly, I finally got around to cancel the insurance, yet I check my account and see they have decided to pull out money and continue my insurance. These people are incompetent, and to get one issue resolved you must call at least 5 times, over a two-week span to resolve anything! PS: They offer a 5% discount for using a driving device. My new company offers up to 25%, and they gave me a cheaper quote than I got to renew my insurance after being with Cooperators for a year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

STOP NOW!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Against this Apr 03, 2018
I went through an auto collision claim with this unorganized Company. They first said the collision was my fault when there were witnesses saying the other person was speeding! Then they sent me to a car rental agency with a confirmation number that did not even exist with the company, so I was stranded all weekend without a Vehicle because I don’t even Live in an area that has city buses! I finally on my own called Another rental place and did it all myself. They are so rude and Horribly unorganized I don’t recommend using this Company for anything! They lost me immediately after the Claim was dealt with. Hear my warning people, don’t let them Screw you like they did me!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

negative 5 star rating

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kremmer Apr 02, 2018
I had both home and auto, but sold my home and asked for a rebate along with some general questions in regards to my premium. They advised me that I was due about $24.00, but sent me a cheque for $8.77 while I was waiting for a return call from a supervisor (advocate). My initial call was Feb. 13/18 - no return call. 2nd call Feb 16/18 - no return call. 3rd call Feb 23/18 - after begging for 20 minutes, the CSR had an advocate call me. This is the 3rd time that I initiated a call to the Cooperators. April 2nd/18 - I receive their "Final Position" letter where they "sincerely apologize that they could not meet my service expectations" - Apparently, my expectation to actually receive a return call from them was way over their ability in selling a service. I would think twice before you choose them for your insurance as they have definitely lowered the bar on customer service in this industry.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

So sick of this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kimmy Feb 17, 2018
I've been with this company for 5 years just in the last 8 months they have messed my whole account up they have been taking amounts out that weren't supposed to be taking out they have messed my stuff up so bad that they cancelled my insurance for their mistake and then RI put me back on charging me an extra $40 a month and then once it's all straightened out on their side they decide to start taking money out of my daughter's account and then putting it back in and taking it back out and putting it back in and then start charging me extra from the amount that supposed to be taken out encouraging me NSF fees on their side plus NSF fees on my bank side when the amount was supposed to be 188 they would go into my account and take out 268 some days it was 386 how do you get 188 from those amounts wish you guys could just get yourself together and take the proper amounts out and stop taking money out of my daughter's account this is ridiculous I shouldn't have to go through this my insurance was $146 and because yous guys messed it up you now charge me 186 for your mistake plus all . All the NSF charges I've had to pay because of your mistakes I should be reimbursed for all of this including my daughter as well this is the worst company I have ever dealt with in my entire life
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Feb 16, 2018
Worst company to deal with when you're going through an auto claim. Not one person that we've had to deal with knows what's going on. Every answer is "I don't know" "we can't say". Nobody gets back to you, weeks even months we've gone without a reply. I would never recommend this company to anyone! It's been several months now and we still don't have answers or replies from anyone, it's ridiculous and sad actually. As being a loyal customer for so many years I feel this company does not take care of their clients. I can't wait to be done with this company! If there was a negative rating I would rate them with a negative one.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Switching Vehicle

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Customer Feb 09, 2018
I already had insurance with them and i decided to switch my car. I called them and I got a quote on Tuesday without giving them the description of the vehicle just by giving them the VIN number which they can have the full access of the vehicle. I call them on Friday to email me the insurance paper and I'm not been able to pick up my vehicle without insurance they told me that they had a quote by the description of the car, not by VIN number which is absolutely ridiculous cause they already emailed me the full quote with the VIN number. When I told them I can give the VIN now and get a new quote they said that are are not allowed to give a quote with a VIN number and gave me a customer service number which they gave me some random wrong number. I can't wait to pay the cancelation fee and move to another insurance. The customer service is very poor.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Useless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 06, 2018
I had a car accident and they kept in tossing me around like I was stupid. The left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing and refused to understand what I was experiencing. I am extremely disappointed and will probably not deal with them anymore. Worst insurance company. I wish there was a rating below zero.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Ruining my life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cybersunday Nov 21, 2017
Prepare for a shock if you have an accident 100% not your fault and would you like to collect any benefits. I was rear-ended in April 2016 and suffered among other things a brain injury. Constant dizziness, nausea, slurred speech and so on. I tried to go back to work 2 months later but only ended up in ER again. Lost my driver's licence. Lost totally my night vision. So far not a penny in income replacement benefits, refused to pay for physio but spent already about $13,000 on their own doctors trying to prove that I am fine. First doctor, a neurologist, just invented his own story which was immediately proven false by other medical experts. His reply was that this is not the scope of his expertise. Second doctor excused himself again saying this is not his job. Third advised them that this is not a minor injury. More doctors coming. They disregard any OCF3 from my attending health professionals. When I approached their ombudsman, it was a total joke. Run as fast as you can from this company. They can teach organized crime a thing or two.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators = Crooks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert J. Sep 20, 2017
Never a good experience. I was a loyal customer for nearly 20 years. I always felt I was paying a little more than I should be, but never really shopped around. So I decide to stop in one day and the receptionist tells me that no one would be able to see me. After looking around the only people present are the receptionist, two insurance reps and myself! I came back later at a preset time. I asked for a review of my rates and my insurance past, clean record and never made a claim. No change or savings on my rates. So I checked with CAA and received a savings of almost $30 a month on my auto insurance and $12 a month on my home, with better coverage! Cooperators answer to this was to charge me even more money for ending my policy not on my renewal date. Worst insurance company ever, find insurance anywhere else! They take more and give you nothing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Howie Centre woman happy insurance company reversing decision

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cape Breton Post Jul 02, 2017
CAPE BRETON POST“I’m very thankful to be alive and very thankful that The Co-operators did reopen and do a more thorough investigation that made them come to the decision that it was a no-fault accident,” said Donna Matheson, a widow and mother of two.

“I think it was a good judgment call on their part. I appreciate that they did that.”

In a written statement, Michelle Robichaud, spokesperson for The Co-operators, said: “We’re pleased to support Ms. Matheson through her claims process following this unfortunate accident.”

CAPE BRETON POST Matheson and her friend, Jolene Gouthro, were coming home from a Canada Day concert at the Emera Centre in North Sydney when the accident happened. Gouthro was driving Matheson’s vehicle because she wasn’t drinking alcohol.

Another driver had knocked a power pole down. It was laying directly across the road when Matheson and Gouthro turned a corner and saw it. Although Gouthro did slam on the brakes, it was too late to avoid hitting the pole.

Nova Scotia Power confirms the length of the pole is 35 feet and Cape Breton Regional Municipality Public Works confirms the width of the road is 26 feet.

“When they initially told me it was going to be considered an at fault accident I was of course very upset,” Matheson said. Read more at capebretonpost.com
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great company and amazing cs

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jen Jun 27, 2017
I was with the cooperators previously and switched to another company for a lower price. I returned because the cooperators has amazing customer service and they actually matched the other competitor's price. Never switching against.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Buyer be warned

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisappointedHusband Jun 16, 2017
My wife was in a car accident in 2015. Suffered a massive back injury, can't sit normally in a chair anymore due to pins holding her back together. I had a premium Auto Insurance coverage with over a million in coverage for rehabilitation. Cooperators does not assist at all. You need to constantly fill out forms and get doctors assessments before they provide any financial assistance in making life comfortable. My wife has slept on the couch for 2 years waiting for a custom bed. Every month, "we just need one more form filled out". Simply disgusting how they treat a human. You become nothing more than a case file and an expense. Buyer be warned, Cooperators has little interest in helping, just making a profit.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Best Insurance for Auto

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Kelly Miller Apr 24, 2017
I've had two not-at-fault accidents caused by careless/reckless drivers, who evidently were charged by police - but I digress. After both accidents I called The Cooperators within an hour of the collision, and they immediately got to work with renting me a car, getting my car taken to a body shop, and hooking me up with their injury claims people. My premiums are pretty low, and my experiences have been nothing but great. You're doing it wrong if you're not with The Cooperators. I had physio for several months after one of my accidents, paired with massage and acupuncture - all covered by my claim, and never once did I have an issue with anything. They're fabulous. I was with Aviva years and years ago, and they were the absolute worst company I've ever had to deal with in my life. Had another not-at-fault when I was 18 - pizza delivery man hit me going 80 in a 40, and HE GOT 0% AT FAULT, and I had to take the hit - literally! When he caused the accident! I even had viable witnesses that they deemed unfit to testify.... I was livid. As soon as they closed that claim, I moved to The Cooperators, and they've been fantastic ever since. I recently got life insurance through them, and will be buying my first house and insuring it with them this year. Don't go anywhere else but Cooperators - but especially never ever ever use Aviva. Unless you want to be called a liar and get blamed for something you didn't do, just because you're an 18 year old female and the pizza dude was a 50+ year old man. (I'm still bitter, can you tell?)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Useless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abac Apr 16, 2017
We were rear ended (no fault of ours )by someone with cooperator insurance. I use someone else for insurance. So to start with i have 2 children involved, who's car seats needed to be replaced ( no injures to them thankfully) . warning to all they will not fully replace your car seats they will give you about 50% the cost of new back. At the cost of car seats that was a very expensive cost we had to foot ourselves. Our vehicle was an older vehicle they decided it was not worth repairing . while they did give us a fair settlement on the cost of the vehicle they towed it the next day but it took over a week to get our money after they had said 2-3 days . also would not provide us with a rental vehicle making it nearly impossible for a family of 4 to shop for a new vehicle , my children missed nearly 2 weeks of school, sports and activities as there was no way to get them there . my husband had to taxi or pay to get rides to work . overall they had no interest in helping us and cost us a lot of money for a accident that was not our fault .
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cybersunday Apr 07, 2017
I had a car accident almost a year ago. My injury prevents me to work, my driver's licence is suspended and years this company is denying me any benefits. As a result of the accident, I am absolutely broke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Co-operators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shanrowe Apr 05, 2017
Do not go with co-operators, they do not follow the legal rules for drivers. My husband has been with them for 20 years and as soon as a claim came up, they screwed us. I was accused of an accident that was the fault of the other driver and I has to be responsible for 50% and the other driver had 0%. The other drivers insurance didn't make him responsible and the other driver was responsible for this accident. I am with co-operators and I was screwed with 50% when I was not responsible for this accident. Also there no witnesses and no evidence suggesting that I am the person at-fault. The underwriters were rude. They hang up on you, they tell you nothing, they just assume it's your fault every time when there is NO evidence that you were at fault.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible Claim service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ihateco-op Mar 23, 2017
I had a great experience getting my account set up everything was very easy and they took care of most of it. Now making my first every claim and it is unbelievable how different the services is. By different I mean bad. The responses take days or weeks. I try over and over to get a hold of them they don't pick up there phone. I will even email stating when I will call and still can't get a hold of the correct person. They owe me money for storage and I have asked at least 5 times about that and every time literally answer all my other questions and ignore that. Now I am currently filing a complaint and even they haven't gotten back to me and it has been almost a week. Horrible service if they owe you money would not suggest this company to anybody
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Cooperators is Crooked

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Janet M Mar 13, 2017
I had a claim where no one knew what happened in a parking lot, no police involvement. I got a call a month later from Cooperators saying some guy accused of hitting his can when I didn't. Since no one knew, it went 50/50 but the other guy got off scott-free b/c he claimed 0% first even though he's 50% responsible. The customer service stinks, my claims adjuster just kept accusing me with no proof. The appraiser said I couldn't have caused the accident but b/c Cooperators needed to accuse someone, I was the person. Any joe blow in a parking lot can write down your plate number and call insurance and accuse you and if you with Cooperators, they will make you liable. THEY ARE CROOKS! Bad for business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
Cooperators Auto Insurance
69 reviews
5 Darkstar
(10)
4 Darkstar
(7)
3 Darkstar
(2)
2 Darkstar
(7)
1 Darkstar
(43)
Most helpfull reviews