Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Auto Insurance Reviews

(86 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
48,874
consumers
(1.8 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Amazingly good experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Victorialll Aug 21, 2019
I was in a car accident and expected a long struggle to finalize claim related matters. Was totally surprised at helpful and professional handling of the entire matter by the adjustor who explained the entitlements l was not aware of and took it upon herself to clarify any grey areas. I don't know yet how long it will take to finalize the claim but so far so good.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Money grabber in cooperator

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Aug 08, 2019
All they do is collecting money. When I called for a flooded basement they said I am not covered. Called to rent a van from the discount they claimed I am not insured to drive a van. If I die they will say you are not covered.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They abuse the elderly ...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stephen Jul 31, 2019
My stepfather had his new car ownership taken from him by the agent when he was transferring his insurance policy. They made it very difficult to get it back (we still do not have it). They keep promising to send it. The kicker is that they threatened to tow his new vehicle away as they had the ownership. A very sad company with nobody that has people skills. Messages to Ombudsman rarely returnedю. I would never use this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

DISRESPECTFUL RUN AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Notmyfault Jul 23, 2019
I was the last car in a 3 chain rear end. The horrible adjuster didn't investigate. I had no claim but they raised my rates 100 percent. They claim there is nothing they can do about no-fault determination rules and they stuff you into a scenario from the 1990 policy that doesn't take into account modern technology, fraud, distracted driving by the first or second drivers that had already collided suddenly with no opportunity for me to react to an unforeseen event. They lie. Stay away.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nto Jul 22, 2019
Such a bad company! Not recommended for anyone, they don’t do their job properly and people fool them and get money. I had an accident and it wasn’t my fault but they are unprofessional enough and so cheap to investigate and do their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Terrible COOPERATORS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tina Jul 16, 2019
I had auto insurance for two of my cars with this company, and the individual I dealt in the past was a really nice lady. Who offered me the best customer service. But my file was transferred over to someone other individuals in this company, and I have spoken to them about insurance for my new car. Which they agreed and quoted me on and I also provided them with the date of receiving the vehicle. On the date of signing my vehicle, they called me an hour before that and told me my insurance was cancelled and I have 15 days. And gave me all invalid and unrelated reasons. My record was clear, no tickets, no claims, no accidents. I have been with them for so long. Had a good record and relationship, yet they provided me with the worst customer service. Especially the individual whom I spoke to. Disgusting manners. Never AGAIN with this insurance company. They don't know what professionalism is and sounds like they don't even like working there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by InnocentBuyer Jul 16, 2019
I called to get a quote for auto insurance from Cooperators. The representative is totally unprofessional and asking my information with the very poor manner and showing that she doesn't like her job at all and also she doesn't like that I am calling to get a quote. She asked me why I need insurance? Hahaha, I answered I cannot drive without insurance in Canada and that's why I need this. I felt like I did wrong because I am calling this stupid company to get a quote and tried to give business to them. She said I need to send my driving abstract to them to get the insurance. Because this is their policy and they have to see If I had 15 accidents in earlier. That made me super dumb and surprised!!! I told her I don't have any accidents in the past and I am a customer and calling to do business with your company and she shouldn't talk to a customer like that way. I am very happy that I didn't go too far and got insurance from this company. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

complete fraud!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angry Jul 11, 2019
First off I insure 8 vehicles trailers and motorhome and I have been insured with them for almost 10 years. 37 years accident-free zero at-fault claims. I get into an accident 1 time when it's not, even remotely, anything I could do to stop it from happening. On a highway (only 2 lanes) guy stops on a blind corner in an 80km zone and they deem me 100 percent at fault. No police come, so, no file, no record and now they raise my rates through the roof! The motorhome was 500.00 approximately a year to insure now 7,000.00 a year can you say TOTAL RIPOFF! Insurance companies in Canada should be shut down or the government needs to step in and do something about these crooks! If you have insurance isn't this what it is for!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

All about money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by paynter Jul 07, 2019
I had a theft from my bank account. The bank, of course, takes a long time to do anything. I live paycheck to paycheck like most. I had 600 dollars go missing from my bank account and the bank can not answer to it. So, the police and the bank were investigating. I advised cooperators that this had happened and they went ahead and took money when it wasn't there. Including their NSF fee. Of course, with my accounts on hold pending an investigation. I couldn't put money in nor take it out. However, they went ahead and attempted with only 3 days notice. 10 calendar days is required by law in Ontario. That being said they wanted more NFS fees as well as I was paying the NFS fee from the bank. So, now one-month premiums ended up being 3 times the price because they did not care enough to see what their customer was living through and forced more issues that needed to be. I had a claim in December. It took 3 weeks to get a rental car. So far I'm without insurance because of reasons beyond my control. After 7 years of being a client... They don't care about the issues that are beyond your control. They expect you to live just like them or your scum. Horrible people to think their benefit should be at the cost of a child not eating.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Worst experience ever had

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vjohn Jul 04, 2019
If you have a claim, they will cross-examine you by asking questions by a lot of claims representative and finally send you to claims investigator. That person will question you more worst than a police officer. They use the method threatening to their customers in order withdrawing from the claim. And ask for personal data and bank statements. This is my personal experience which I never had from other insurance companies. I have no idea how this company still up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Very bad service, so bad

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Newcarowner Jun 01, 2019
Called many times they put you on hold forever. Emails no one replied, I am glad that I did not go with them. After reading the people comments I am very surprised the company still existed. I think an only 1-2 person working at the company. Lousy service, and bad services sooner or late they will be out of business. I don’t the even worth a 1 star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Never recommend

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kan Apr 13, 2019
I had a small accident while I was doing delivery for SkipThe Dishes, I didn’t know that I need to inform that I was doing SkipThe Dishes delivery and I even did it for only a few days. I told these people truly that what actually happened. I told them I didn’t know about this because I am a new driver and it’s a 2 months old brand new Hyundai Sonata. They took a statement from 3-4 times and I asked them if it's not covered, please tell me, I will fix it. They didn’t say anything, they were saying we are doing verification, it’s been 28 days, I didn’t get anything and they didn’t pay for a rental. I paid 1000$ for that, and still, my file is pending. Whenever I ask them if they would send, I need these documents and I send right away and again, they take time to reply, this is the worst service I have ever seen.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DO NOT GO HERE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Igahite Apr 04, 2019
This company is a joke, if you want great customer service, and feel like you have been helped do not go here. The financial advisor was belittling me because I was able to provide a document to show my driving history. It all started with a phone call, I had called in seeking a quote and wasn't able to be given one. My advisor, over the phone she was very rude, very unfriendly, belittled my situation, and didn't call me back for my quote. I had to go to another agent over the phone, to be given a great price. The agent I worked with over the phone had advised me to pay at the main office by debit only to realize that the agent I originally worked with took on my file once again. She again continued to be rude, obnoxious and belittled me over my file. Do not go here!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

hard time when you claim!

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by vanraj Mar 14, 2019
They didn't pass my claim because I was doing ridesharing at the moment. I had already informed them before one month of the accident that I was doing part-time ridesharing. They seemed fine with that at the moment and when the accident happened, they rejected the claim. I was covered by insurance, which was providing through LYFT, but they only gave me actual cash value as they didn't have OPCF 43 in their policy (car was declared as totalled). The car was brand new and was only used for two month and I had OPCF 43 and rented car policy in my Cooperators policy. They didn't cover me for Class 5 grand, therefore, I didn't get a new car and was in loss of 10 grand after everything because of all the accessories and aftermarket expense. I paid them for OPCF 43(waiver of car depreciation) but they didn't cover me for a penny and now I owe 6 grand to a bank and I got no car in my garage. I was right about everything and they didn't care about the customer who is broke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mb Feb 14, 2019
I advise anyone to never use this company for anything. I had a car with them and they did have good coverage and got me what I needed for the cheapest I could find to insure my car, which is the only reason they have above zero stars from me. All customer service representatives are undereducated and quite frankly rude. I was hung up on, yelled at, and aggressively spoken to when trying to make my claim. They were unreasonable and when I tried getting a new car, I decided to give them another chance because they were cheap. And they put me through this big unneeded process just to have me transferred 3 times and after talking to one lady for no more than 2 minutes, she said even though my accident was resolved and my court case went in my favour that none of it mattered and they wouldn’t take me on as a client anymore. Terrible. Terrible company. No one use them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

garbage service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by pissed off customer Jan 24, 2019
If you have to deal with these people for any type of claim, make sure you have a lawyer involved. My experience with one of the agents was an absolute disgrace. I've been screwed around on every step of my claim. They cut the rental car off 3 days after their appraiser gave me an estimate on the value of my vehicle (cheque hadn't even arrived yet). They jerked me around on my injury claim. They don't seem to return phone calls. These people aren't there to help you through the process, they're out to nickel and dime you at every step of the way.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Christmas Nightmare

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NeedNewInsuranceCo Jan 09, 2019
The offer was given to me on boxing day. It is now January 9. They have a dismissive relationship with me and they have become rude recently. So far they have not threatened me or anything which is good I guess??? Why one star? I have had no car for this time. My boss is getting fed up. My second job is a 4-hour shift, so the 27-dollar uber (no know on uber), so I make 16 dollars a day after tax. Yes, you can learn from my mistakes. Where and When is my offer valid? The offer was for Rexdale Hyundai between December 24-Dec 31. However, I wasn't told this until January 4. I live 45 minutes away from there and my local Hyundai was offering a different special. Can you dispute the amount? Still not sure about other insurers, but when I said to them that my Hyundai didn't accept their offer, they told me that because you went to the wrong one and the offer is non-negotiable. So I don't know why the lady who talked to me was so okay with me asking if I should do that. Anyways good luck with your insurance everyone!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Stay Away

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jessica Nov 07, 2018
Extremely poor service, the claim agent was rude and unprofessional. Made unnecessary personal comments - derogatory comments in regards to my speech disorder and age. Considering how her East Indian accent was thick and hard to understand she probably doesn't know what is deemed to be improper or impolite. This is inexcusable. As for claims, the process is a complete headache. They give you the runaround for days and find any obsolete excuse to not cover your rental, costing you hundreds at your expense. Switched to TD, where people are professional and literate. Heard bad reviews from TD but would suffer through TD than with an excuse of an insurance company such as Cooperators. Do yourself a favour and STAY AWAY!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't waste your time or money

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Molly8483 Oct 26, 2018
I was a customer of Co-Operators for 5+ years for auto, and 2+ years for home insurance. Each year, my insurance rates would increase (quite substantially) even though I was a claims-free driver/homeowner. When I finally decided to cancel my insurance policies, they shut down my online account immediately - even though I had 30+ days left on my policy that I was STILL paying for - which made it a huge hassle to obtain my policy info to send along to my new insurance agency. Don't waste your time or money. They don't care about their customers at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Don’t bring your business here

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by WouldGive0StarsifCould Oct 20, 2018
This is the worst company I have had an experience with. Their customer service reps are rude and have no idea what they are talking about if you call for advice. I’m a new driver and I got into an accident 6 months after I got my car, and if my accident wasn’t bad enough, the insurance company made my life much worse while dealing with them. It took me over 7 calls to finally be told that the claims department on the weekend doesn’t know the procedures and information regarding my problem, so instead of just telling me the first time, they gave me different answers and ended up costing me 200$ extra because they instructed me wrong. I’m so beyond upset because the customer service rep wouldn’t even let me finish my sentence before he interrupted me, then had the nerve to tell me not to talk over him. Sir, if you had let me finish my sentence, then I would’ve stopped talking so you could answer. Needless to say, me and my family are taking our business elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Good price and service

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by will Oct 03, 2018
I am posting because I am surprised by the under 2-star reviews. Seems pretty fishy. I had a small fender bender and because of my 25 years of no claims, they did not charge me at all. They are polite every time I deal with them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Worst insurance in the World

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by rubbish cooperators Aug 17, 2018
This insurance company is really a garbage. The collision happened 3 weeks ago and they didn't reach out their client! They just told me the driver is not answering the phone and asked me to wait and wait and wait only! I personally called the driver and there is it, someone answered the phone! I told this to one of the agents but he's still saying me they cannot do anything at this point so just wait!!! And then this agent just cut off my phone!!! 3 weeks I have to pay the towing fee and all the transportation myself!!! Trust me, the Cooperators will do nothing when you have a problem. I suggest everyone, don't use this rubbish company anymore or you have to prepare for a tragedy.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by greicy Aug 03, 2018
Had to move and changed my address - they increased my insurance before the end of the 1-year contract - I was with them for only 3 months! So I quoted with other insurance companies, and they all gave me a lot lower rates for my new address. Tried to negotiate and they gave me a lower rate by phone, and then would not confirm over e-mail or any documents and started charging me the higher rate! You cannot trust this company - horrible!! Do not recommend to anyone!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

stay away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by arty125 Jul 24, 2018
Customer service is awful even before buying. You can imagine what happened after buying. I highly recommend to stay away from this company. They rejected my phone when I was talking and asking to change the liability of my auto insurance.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

BAD CUSTOMER & RENTAL SERVICE!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sy Jun 19, 2018
Yemi E Personal Line Claims Representative-Auto Was totally rude, raised her voice and hung up the phone on me. I was upset that I did not receive information and due to it, I was responsible for extra rental car fees. I had an oral surgery, so was unable to attend her call quickly, but as soon as I was able to speak, I called which was in a few days. Anyways, I called to ask for an extension for the car rental so we have time to look for a car or at least when we receive our cheque. She started stating the policy only covers till an offer is made (even if it is not taken). Before telling me that she has already updated it so that it will be covered only up till today, she chose to raise her voice because I said I felt like the company was scamming us. Due to the fact that they stated we have to return the rental car the second an offer was made, which does not make sense whatsoever. If the agent, who was selling the policy, has informed us about this, we would have never signed with them. Basically, they can offer $1 for the total loss amount and we would be responsible for rental, going forward. Asked to speak to supervisor or contact information and she denied providing it or transferring to a supervisor. Then hung up! I do not know what kind of customer service allows someone to hang up on a client because a customer is feeling upset about the unfortunate situation they are in. Totally unprofessional.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Strategem, artiface, trickery?

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Amnoz May 27, 2018
Beware! If you have a physical injury, they will send you for an assessment with a "Doctor" who is not on your side, even though the "spin" is that it is all for your benefit. A "Doctor" I was sent to was a "creature" whose office had reminiscences of Film Noir, backstreet abortionist's "clinic" scenes, or the "mysterious" "Doc", sweating, with eye evasion difficulties, who "testified" in old Perry Mason shows. Beware!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gabiegirl May 15, 2018
We are 20 year customers of the Cooperators, when they suddenly without prior notification increased the cost of vehicle policies by $500 year. The customer service representatives were misleading and would not tell us upfront about the changes to our policies. Finally I spoke with our account representative, just to be passed on to his "helper", who condescendingly went on to lecture me that "the losses of the few should be shared by many" - in other words, the Company had an increase in claims this year, so they need to up their rates to cover any potential loss to the Company, and to add to that they have so many clients that they were unable to advise them of rate increases - if you do not notice it, they are not going to tell you... Beware, you cannot and should not trust them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Got dropped

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by boki May 14, 2018
Apparently, if you get two at fault accidents within 5 years, you get dropped. First one was my fault, second one I'm still to blame but was related to an abnormally high and narrow curb driveway which dented the bottom of the car while turning. I debated whether or not to even bring it up to them, but clearly regretting having said anything because they can't afford the odd chance of someone having two accidents within 5 years even if one of the two is small.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Untrustable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mina M May 08, 2018
Very bad service. I give them my car, brand new Mazda three 2017, and they return the car with tire damage and when I asked them, they just said: "we are not responsible". Unprofessional team and untrustable place, I would never recommend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Not good service.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy customer Apr 27, 2018
As a person who had never been insured under my own name, I went with Cooperators as it was the cheapest option. However, after a year, I realized that I was being completely ripped off. I had payment issues twice and was charged $100.00, even though it wasn't my fault that they did not process the change in my banking info. Also, I have never been able to get a hold of anyone at the KING office. Every time I called, I have been transferred to the head office. I am pretty sure all they do is go out to lunch, or not come in. Lastly, I finally got around to cancel the insurance, yet I check my account and see they have decided to pull out money and continue my insurance. These people are incompetent, and to get one issue resolved you must call at least 5 times, over a two-week span to resolve anything! PS: They offer a 5% discount for using a driving device. My new company offers up to 25%, and they gave me a cheaper quote than I got to renew my insurance after being with Cooperators for a year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?