Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Auto Insurance Reviews

(62 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
32,260
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

BAD CUSTOMER & RENTAL SERVICE!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sy Jun 19, 2018
Yemi E Personal Line Claims Representative-Auto Was totally rude, raised her voice and hung up the phone on me. I was upset that I did not receive information and due to it, I was responsible for extra rental car fees. I had an oral surgery, so was unable to attend her call quickly, but as soon as I was able to speak, I called which was in a few days. Anyways, I called to ask for an extension for the car rental so we have time to look for a car or at least when we receive our cheque. She started stating the policy only covers till an offer is made (even if it is not taken). Before telling me that she has already updated it so that it will be covered only up till today, she chose to raise her voice because I said I felt like the company was scamming us. Due to the fact that they stated we have to return the rental car the second an offer was made, which does not make sense whatsoever. If the agent, who was selling the policy, has informed us about this, we would have never signed with them. Basically, they can offer $1 for the total loss amount and we would be responsible for rental, going forward. Asked to speak to supervisor or contact information and she denied providing it or transferring to a supervisor. Then hung up! I do not know what kind of customer service allows someone to hang up on a client because a customer is feeling upset about the unfortunate situation they are in. Totally unprofessional.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Strategem, artiface, trickery?

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Amnoz May 27, 2018
Beware! If you have a physical injury, they will send you for an assessment with a "Doctor" who is not on your side, even though the "spin" is that it is all for your benefit. A "Doctor" I was sent to was a "creature" whose office had reminiscences of Film Noir, backstreet abortionist's "clinic" scenes, or the "mysterious" "Doc", sweating, with eye evasion difficulties, who "testified" in old Perry Mason shows. Beware!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gabiegirl May 15, 2018
We are 20 year customers of the Cooperators, when they suddenly without prior notification increased the cost of vehicle policies by $500 year. The customer service representatives were misleading and would not tell us upfront about the changes to our policies. Finally I spoke with our account representative, just to be passed on to his "helper", who condescendingly went on to lecture me that "the losses of the few should be shared by many" - in other words, the Company had an increase in claims this year, so they need to up their rates to cover any potential loss to the Company, and to add to that they have so many clients that they were unable to advise them of rate increases - if you do not notice it, they are not going to tell you... Beware, you cannot and should not trust them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Got dropped

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by boki May 14, 2018
Apparently, if you get two at fault accidents within 5 years, you get dropped. First one was my fault, second one I'm still to blame but was related to an abnormally high and narrow curb driveway which dented the bottom of the car while turning. I debated whether or not to even bring it up to them, but clearly regretting having said anything because they can't afford the odd chance of someone having two accidents within 5 years even if one of the two is small.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Untrustable

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Mina M May 08, 2018
Very bad service. I give them my car, brand new Mazda three 2017, and they return the car with tire damage and when I asked them, they just said: "we are not responsible". Unprofessional team and untrustable place, I would never recommend.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Not good service.

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by unhappy customer Apr 27, 2018
As a person who had never been insured under my own name, I went with Cooperators as it was the cheapest option. However, after a year, I realized that I was being completely ripped off. I had payment issues twice and was charged $100.00, even though it wasn't my fault that they did not process the change in my banking info. Also, I have never been able to get a hold of anyone at the KING office. Every time I called, I have been transferred to the head office. I am pretty sure all they do is go out to lunch, or not come in. Lastly, I finally got around to cancel the insurance, yet I check my account and see they have decided to pull out money and continue my insurance. These people are incompetent, and to get one issue resolved you must call at least 5 times, over a two-week span to resolve anything! PS: They offer a 5% discount for using a driving device. My new company offers up to 25%, and they gave me a cheaper quote than I got to renew my insurance after being with Cooperators for a year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

STOP NOW!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Against this Apr 03, 2018
I went through an auto collision claim with this unorganized Company. They first said the collision was my fault when there were witnesses saying the other person was speeding! Then they sent me to a car rental agency with a confirmation number that did not even exist with the company, so I was stranded all weekend without a Vehicle because I don’t even Live in an area that has city buses! I finally on my own called Another rental place and did it all myself. They are so rude and Horribly unorganized I don’t recommend using this Company for anything! They lost me immediately after the Claim was dealt with. Hear my warning people, don’t let them Screw you like they did me!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

negative 5 star rating

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by kremmer Apr 02, 2018
I had both home and auto, but sold my home and asked for a rebate along with some general questions in regards to my premium. They advised me that I was due about $24.00, but sent me a cheque for $8.77 while I was waiting for a return call from a supervisor (advocate). My initial call was Feb. 13/18 - no return call. 2nd call Feb 16/18 - no return call. 3rd call Feb 23/18 - after begging for 20 minutes, the CSR had an advocate call me. This is the 3rd time that I initiated a call to the Cooperators. April 2nd/18 - I receive their "Final Position" letter where they "sincerely apologize that they could not meet my service expectations" - Apparently, my expectation to actually receive a return call from them was way over their ability in selling a service. I would think twice before you choose them for your insurance as they have definitely lowered the bar on customer service in this industry.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

So sick of this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kimmy Feb 17, 2018
I've been with this company for 5 years just in the last 8 months they have messed my whole account up they have been taking amounts out that weren't supposed to be taking out they have messed my stuff up so bad that they cancelled my insurance for their mistake and then RI put me back on charging me an extra $40 a month and then once it's all straightened out on their side they decide to start taking money out of my daughter's account and then putting it back in and taking it back out and putting it back in and then start charging me extra from the amount that supposed to be taken out encouraging me NSF fees on their side plus NSF fees on my bank side when the amount was supposed to be 188 they would go into my account and take out 268 some days it was 386 how do you get 188 from those amounts wish you guys could just get yourself together and take the proper amounts out and stop taking money out of my daughter's account this is ridiculous I shouldn't have to go through this my insurance was $146 and because yous guys messed it up you now charge me 186 for your mistake plus all . All the NSF charges I've had to pay because of your mistakes I should be reimbursed for all of this including my daughter as well this is the worst company I have ever dealt with in my entire life
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Ridiculous

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Feb 16, 2018
Worst company to deal with when you're going through an auto claim. Not one person that we've had to deal with knows what's going on. Every answer is "I don't know" "we can't say". Nobody gets back to you, weeks even months we've gone without a reply. I would never recommend this company to anyone! It's been several months now and we still don't have answers or replies from anyone, it's ridiculous and sad actually. As being a loyal customer for so many years I feel this company does not take care of their clients. I can't wait to be done with this company! If there was a negative rating I would rate them with a negative one.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Switching Vehicle

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Customer Feb 09, 2018
I already had insurance with them and i decided to switch my car. I called them and I got a quote on Tuesday without giving them the description of the vehicle just by giving them the VIN number which they can have the full access of the vehicle. I call them on Friday to email me the insurance paper and I'm not been able to pick up my vehicle without insurance they told me that they had a quote by the description of the car, not by VIN number which is absolutely ridiculous cause they already emailed me the full quote with the VIN number. When I told them I can give the VIN now and get a new quote they said that are are not allowed to give a quote with a VIN number and gave me a customer service number which they gave me some random wrong number. I can't wait to pay the cancelation fee and move to another insurance. The customer service is very poor.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Useless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anonymous Jan 06, 2018
I had a car accident and they kept in tossing me around like I was stupid. The left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing and refused to understand what I was experiencing. I am extremely disappointed and will probably not deal with them anymore. Worst insurance company. I wish there was a rating below zero.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Ruining my life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cybersunday Nov 21, 2017
Prepare for a shock if you have an accident 100% not your fault and would you like to collect any benefits. I was rear-ended in April 2016 and suffered among other things a brain injury. Constant dizziness, nausea, slurred speech and so on. I tried to go back to work 2 months later but only ended up in ER again. Lost my driver's licence. Lost totally my night vision. So far not a penny in income replacement benefits, refused to pay for physio but spent already about $13,000 on their own doctors trying to prove that I am fine. First doctor, a neurologist, just invented his own story which was immediately proven false by other medical experts. His reply was that this is not the scope of his expertise. Second doctor excused himself again saying this is not his job. Third advised them that this is not a minor injury. More doctors coming. They disregard any OCF3 from my attending health professionals. When I approached their ombudsman, it was a total joke. Run as fast as you can from this company. They can teach organized crime a thing or two.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Cooperators = Crooks

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Robert J. Sep 20, 2017
Never a good experience. I was a loyal customer for nearly 20 years. I always felt I was paying a little more than I should be, but never really shopped around. So I decide to stop in one day and the receptionist tells me that no one would be able to see me. After looking around the only people present are the receptionist, two insurance reps and myself! I came back later at a preset time. I asked for a review of my rates and my insurance past, clean record and never made a claim. No change or savings on my rates. So I checked with CAA and received a savings of almost $30 a month on my auto insurance and $12 a month on my home, with better coverage! Cooperators answer to this was to charge me even more money for ending my policy not on my renewal date. Worst insurance company ever, find insurance anywhere else! They take more and give you nothing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Howie Centre woman happy insurance company reversing decision

 
(4.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cape Breton Post Jul 02, 2017
CAPE BRETON POST“I’m very thankful to be alive and very thankful that The Co-operators did reopen and do a more thorough investigation that made them come to the decision that it was a no-fault accident,” said Donna Matheson, a widow and mother of two.

“I think it was a good judgment call on their part. I appreciate that they did that.”

In a written statement, Michelle Robichaud, spokesperson for The Co-operators, said: “We’re pleased to support Ms. Matheson through her claims process following this unfortunate accident.”

CAPE BRETON POST Matheson and her friend, Jolene Gouthro, were coming home from a Canada Day concert at the Emera Centre in North Sydney when the accident happened. Gouthro was driving Matheson’s vehicle because she wasn’t drinking alcohol.

Another driver had knocked a power pole down. It was laying directly across the road when Matheson and Gouthro turned a corner and saw it. Although Gouthro did slam on the brakes, it was too late to avoid hitting the pole.

Nova Scotia Power confirms the length of the pole is 35 feet and Cape Breton Regional Municipality Public Works confirms the width of the road is 26 feet.

“When they initially told me it was going to be considered an at fault accident I was of course very upset,” Matheson said. Read more at capebretonpost.com
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Great company and amazing cs

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jen Jun 27, 2017
I was with the cooperators previously and switched to another company for a lower price. I returned because the cooperators has amazing customer service and they actually matched the other competitor's price. Never switching against.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Buyer be warned

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisappointedHusband Jun 16, 2017
My wife was in a car accident in 2015. Suffered a massive back injury, can't sit normally in a chair anymore due to pins holding her back together. I had a premium Auto Insurance coverage with over a million in coverage for rehabilitation. Cooperators does not assist at all. You need to constantly fill out forms and get doctors assessments before they provide any financial assistance in making life comfortable. My wife has slept on the couch for 2 years waiting for a custom bed. Every month, "we just need one more form filled out". Simply disgusting how they treat a human. You become nothing more than a case file and an expense. Buyer be warned, Cooperators has little interest in helping, just making a profit.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Best Insurance for Auto

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Kelly Miller Apr 24, 2017
I've had two not-at-fault accidents caused by careless/reckless drivers, who evidently were charged by police - but I digress. After both accidents I called The Cooperators within an hour of the collision, and they immediately got to work with renting me a car, getting my car taken to a body shop, and hooking me up with their injury claims people. My premiums are pretty low, and my experiences have been nothing but great. You're doing it wrong if you're not with The Cooperators. I had physio for several months after one of my accidents, paired with massage and acupuncture - all covered by my claim, and never once did I have an issue with anything. They're fabulous. I was with Aviva years and years ago, and they were the absolute worst company I've ever had to deal with in my life. Had another not-at-fault when I was 18 - pizza delivery man hit me going 80 in a 40, and HE GOT 0% AT FAULT, and I had to take the hit - literally! When he caused the accident! I even had viable witnesses that they deemed unfit to testify.... I was livid. As soon as they closed that claim, I moved to The Cooperators, and they've been fantastic ever since. I recently got life insurance through them, and will be buying my first house and insuring it with them this year. Don't go anywhere else but Cooperators - but especially never ever ever use Aviva. Unless you want to be called a liar and get blamed for something you didn't do, just because you're an 18 year old female and the pizza dude was a 50+ year old man. (I'm still bitter, can you tell?)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Useless

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Abac Apr 16, 2017
We were rear ended (no fault of ours )by someone with cooperator insurance. I use someone else for insurance. So to start with i have 2 children involved, who's car seats needed to be replaced ( no injures to them thankfully) . warning to all they will not fully replace your car seats they will give you about 50% the cost of new back. At the cost of car seats that was a very expensive cost we had to foot ourselves. Our vehicle was an older vehicle they decided it was not worth repairing . while they did give us a fair settlement on the cost of the vehicle they towed it the next day but it took over a week to get our money after they had said 2-3 days . also would not provide us with a rental vehicle making it nearly impossible for a family of 4 to shop for a new vehicle , my children missed nearly 2 weeks of school, sports and activities as there was no way to get them there . my husband had to taxi or pay to get rides to work . overall they had no interest in helping us and cost us a lot of money for a accident that was not our fault .
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Horrible experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cybersunday Apr 07, 2017
I had a car accident almost a year ago. My injury prevents me to work, my driver's licence is suspended and years this company is denying me any benefits. As a result of the accident, I am absolutely broke.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Co-operators

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shanrowe Apr 05, 2017
Do not go with co-operators, they do not follow the legal rules for drivers. My husband has been with them for 20 years and as soon as a claim came up, they screwed us. I was accused of an accident that was the fault of the other driver and I has to be responsible for 50% and the other driver had 0%. The other drivers insurance didn't make him responsible and the other driver was responsible for this accident. I am with co-operators and I was screwed with 50% when I was not responsible for this accident. Also there no witnesses and no evidence suggesting that I am the person at-fault. The underwriters were rude. They hang up on you, they tell you nothing, they just assume it's your fault every time when there is NO evidence that you were at fault.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Horrible Claim service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Ihateco-op Mar 23, 2017
I had a great experience getting my account set up everything was very easy and they took care of most of it. Now making my first every claim and it is unbelievable how different the services is. By different I mean bad. The responses take days or weeks. I try over and over to get a hold of them they don't pick up there phone. I will even email stating when I will call and still can't get a hold of the correct person. They owe me money for storage and I have asked at least 5 times about that and every time literally answer all my other questions and ignore that. Now I am currently filing a complaint and even they haven't gotten back to me and it has been almost a week. Horrible service if they owe you money would not suggest this company to anybody
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators is Crooked

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Janet M Mar 13, 2017
I had a claim where no one knew what happened in a parking lot, no police involvement. I got a call a month later from Cooperators saying some guy accused of hitting his can when I didn't. Since no one knew, it went 50/50 but the other guy got off scott-free b/c he claimed 0% first even though he's 50% responsible. The customer service stinks, my claims adjuster just kept accusing me with no proof. The appraiser said I couldn't have caused the accident but b/c Cooperators needed to accuse someone, I was the person. Any joe blow in a parking lot can write down your plate number and call insurance and accuse you and if you with Cooperators, they will make you liable. THEY ARE CROOKS! Bad for business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Phat_J Mar 02, 2017
Hello. This is a quick summary of my experience: they are liars, incompetent, they dodge responsibility aka "pass the buck," overcharge, are undertrained, and they mislead. Here are the details: I boycott Cooperators, and tell everyone I know not to use this company. I shudder every time I see the name. They do not need any more customers until they can fix their fundamental issues. I signed up using a preferred rate through college as an alumnus. All of a sudden, my policy got changed without my authorization about a year later, so I called to inquire. I was told they no longer support the school alumni... then I was told Cooperators never supported that particular college alumni. I asked how is that possible when I had signed up my policy because of that? I was then threatened to be "charged back" the difference over the length of time I was "saving" money under the "wrong" policy!! It was constant phone tag, misinformation, and promises of calls back which never happened in my attempt to resolve this. In the meantime, I was looking for another company to switch to, and someone supportive and understanding was able to keep me with Cooperators, in spite of being overcharged. It was not worth any more of my personal time to be calling and calling to get someone to resolve my original issue. AND on top of that, I inquired what the 13D glass endorsement entails. The lady nonchalantly tells me it covers all the glass on my car, which is 100% incorrect (see part 2 below). These people need to be trained better. I am willing to bet there are many, possibly hundreds or thousands of their customers under incorrect coverage. So part 2. Around March/April 2016, I inquired on what "13D limited glass coverage" entails, as it appeared on my policy. I was informed it included glass but no windshield coverage. I specifically asked if rocks through glass, other than through windshield, were included. I was told yes. I asked if I had this coverage on my plan, I was told yes. This made sense to me, as from my VIN, it should show I have a moonroof, and that coverage would be beneficial to me from the start. A friend of mine had a rock through her glass during springtime and claimed through insurance. I wanted to ensure I had the same coverage in case it happened to me. Sure enough, months later, it did. Now I call to make a claim, and I'm informed I do not have this coverage. They mentioned that it's "rare" that people opt for glass coverage... I find that hard to believe that a moonroof on a car is "rare." I was informed that comprehensive claims for glass are covered if it was in the act of theft, weather, or vandalism. If I had have known this prior, and that my roof glass would NOT be covered because of a rock, I could have lied and said it was vandalism/a falling tree branch/some kid/etc. I chose to be HONEST and I got screwed over, due to their incompetence setting up my policy and wrongly answering my questions. I had them pull my recorded call history to verify what was said in the previous calls. Of course, they claimed that they had done no wrong and now I'm on the hook for repairs ($1500 for the new part, plus labor). I asked to hear my own calls. They tell me I need a lawyer for that!! Absolutely absurd. A supervisor tells me I was supposed to pay a certain amount more every month to have this glass coverage, so I offered to pay the difference over the months I've had the plan, plus the deductible to fix the glass. I thought it was a fair deal considering how I was treated up to this point. Nope, they refused. Wouldn't budge at all. I cancelled with them as soon as I could. I paid these people for over a year, had this terrible experience. They need to be set straight or put out of business. An absolute disgrace.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Penalized for cancelling

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Jan 11, 2017
I had been with Co-operators since I was 18, twenty years later I move and ask to cancel my home insurance, it was agreed but apparently not noted in the call centre. I called back a couple months later when I realized payments had not stopped. Not only was I not offered my payments back I was penalized for cancelling the insurance after the said date. I argued that I had already cancelled and customer service did not oblige. I am normally very patient and loyal but I will be switching insurance companies. This does not please me by any means.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Huge Disappointment

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by roland p. Dec 22, 2016
So I had been with Cooperators for some time and was considered an A-list driver (no previous records etc) and also had my home policy with them. Before I begin, I should also note that I received a call from a sales person about 6 months prior to upsell me on 'extra' accident insurance. The premium was so negligible - like 11$/year or something silly that I went for it. The context of the insurance was in the case of an accident - I would be given extra time and rental insurance. I cannot remember the numbers but it was something to the effect of - typically I would have $500 to cover the cost of a rental, and this upsell would be somewhere in the vicinity of $1200-1500. Easy I thought. Here is where it gets interesting.... fast forward 6 months or so later, and my wife and kids are struck head on by a driver who was texting on a highway. Everyone was ok, but I immediately got a call from an agent reassuring me that I could get a rental immediately and she even noted that I had the 'extra' insurance...yay for me. So we get a van, and while I am awaiting the status of my damaged van - say about 3 days, I start to get phone calls. "Has the adjuster let you know the status of the van?" ....me - "nothing yet" this goes on for 3 more consecutive days, but all the while I think - no big deal... this car is costing $35/day and I am nowhere near that, as I am only a few days in. So, my Math tells me I am not even dipping much farther than $100 of the $1200-$1500 available. By the next week, I got a call again and I began to grow concerned, so I asked what the deal was. The response was that once my damaged van was considered written off I had 24 hours to return the rental, as the company sends a settlement cheque out that day. Wait - 24 HOURS? What? I don't even have a replacement van yet? How does that even make sense? Well, apparently it does to them. Many, many phone calls to supervisors etc. etc. and I finally get to someone who is only interested in telling me the policy...to which I debate that it is impossible for me to drive to work in a cheque that is in the mail. Long story short, I was 'given' a few extra days since there were not even any vehicles to pick from in my region (car lots were out of stock on minivans if you can believe that) I was incensed, and have since taken my home and auto policies elsewhere. Not that many of the others are much better - I just could not stand the way I was treated. Hope you find this useful when making a selection.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

6 month and nothing

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Simon Claim#1072xxx Dec 09, 2016
I have had an accident with one of cooperator client, wish i was also at the time one of their client. It now has been over 6 month an had to file a claim in court. I receive a default jugement and still can't get my payment. Now i have to go thru the next step with is a cease of their bank account. like seriously cooperator, start beeing an honest business and make up you name. the only good thing i can say about this compagnie is that they never miss taking a payment of my bank account each month. Thank you to the finance team!!!! Simon CLAIM #1072xxx
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

2 month wait

 
(1.2 out of 5 stars)
by Keith Sep 23, 2016
I was involved in an accident with a Cooperators Insurance client who was the party @ fault. From the date of the accident, it took 2 months to settle the claim. I was in a rental vehicle in the accident and the rental company was about to send a collection agency after me when Cooperators finally assumed responsibility for the accident, and agreed to pay for the repairs. After Cooperators made the payment to the rental company, nobody from Cooperators contacted me to tell me that it had in fact been paid, So I lost sleep over it thinking I was on the hook for the repair and a collection agency was after me. It was 7 days after the payment when I was finally informed of the payment. Cooperators was not very coperative.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cooperators ripped me off.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Curtis Jul 19, 2016
I crashed my old car last month. Cancelled my insurance, was assured I wouldn't be charged again. Went to my bank, cancelled my plan, took all the money out. Two weeks later these ingrates take the insurance payment for a car that no longer is insured. The next day the reimburse my bank, I get an NSF charge, that got reimbursed, then 7 days later they took it out again. Illegally. I didn't even notice because until after I made a deposit, and all my money was stolen.... Don't trust these people at all. I was a client for over 18 years and that's how they did me. Scam artists.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

TERRIBLE! Choose anyone else.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jay Jul 19, 2016
I was with this company for about 2 years. I was misled, lied to, overcharged, and threatened. Here we go: I signed up using the Kanetix website, and got a good quote based on being a NAIT alumni. About a year into the coverage, they decided to change my plan without my authorization. All of a sudden I get an email saying "here is your revised policy." I called to ask why this happened, they tell me I do not qualify for the previous rate, as I am not staff of NAIT school. I explained that I am a former student, not staff. They tell me they never had a plan for former students... I play an extensive game of phone tag to get this resolved, to no avail. In the meantime Kanetix still quoted rates based on being a NAIT alumni, and listed Cooperators/Coseco (It has been corrected since). It was not worth my time to keep chasing them to correct their mistake, so I stayed with them. Also, in the process I was threatened to be charged back "what I should have been paying" for the erroneous coverage... Yeah, quality customer service right there. This spring, I called to revise my policy and to ensure I had coverage for glass, as a friend had a problem with glass damage on her vehicle which her company would not cover, so I wanted to ensure I had coverage. My policy listed "17d," which I inquired as to what that entails with Cooperators/Coseco via a phone call. The gentleman I spoke with explained that glass is covered through a comprehensive claim, except for the windshield. All was well for the time. Recently, a rock went through my sunroof and I called to make my first claim. Replacement cost $1500+. I was told I do not have coverage!! I provided many examples from online where I should be covered for this type of damage. Sited many resources including some from THEIR OWN WEBSITE. The lady I spoke with had the audacity to say "it's very rare anyone gets coverage for glass" Like I'm the only one out there with a glass moonroof??? They also told me that "coverage differs from each provider" umm for a specific feature on my coverage that all companies offer? That doesn't sound right. Now I was led me on a wild goose chase to various other representatives up the chain. I spoke with someone who told me they would "review the recorded calls" of my conversation a few months ago regarding glass coverage. They come back and tell me a different situation than what I discussed with the guy. I asked to hear this recorded call, and was informed I needed a lawyer to do that!! Of course they can just cover their rear end like that. So I made a proposal. Based on my poor experience with this company, either I pay the deductible of $250 to fix my roof plus the cost of the "correct" coverage difference over the past few months for glass (would have been about $45 give or take), AND I renew for another year,. Or, I flush them and go with someone else. They wouldn't play ball, so I canceled right then and there, and will tell everyone I know not to pick this insurance company. They even wanted to charge a cancellation fee!! No way that was happening. Lessons learned: - ALWAYS have a paper trail and RECORD your phone calls yourself when dealing with ANY insurance provider. - ALWAYS get a second, third, or fourth opinion, and don't take one representatives word on what your coverage entails. - Apparently, "17D Limited Glass" means something different depending on which provider you choose. Google various providers, and their definition of 17D, and you'll see what I mean. - NEVER go with Cooperators/Coseco.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Want to save on auto insurance?
10+ Insurers compared
Get a free, instant quote
Customize your policy
Cooperators Auto Insurance
62 reviews
5 Darkstar
(10)
4 Darkstar
(6)
3 Darkstar
(2)
2 Darkstar
(7)
1 Darkstar
(37)
Most helpfull reviews