Independent Auto Insurance Reviews

Cooperators Auto Insurance Reviews

(111 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
67,318
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
Claim Experience:
 

Unfair and Unjust

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Concerned Citizen Oct 09, 2020
The Cooperators increased my premiums after my insurance Coseco was acquired. Somewhere during this acquisition, my files were transferred from Coseco to Cooperators and my insurance premiums increased. When I spoke to the Cooperators, the agent indicated that my policy was up for renewal and due to a speeding ticket 3 years prior my rates were increased. I did not recall this infraction and questioned the agent why my rates did not increase the previous years then if that was the case. I could not get a satisfactory answer. The response I received was your policy has been renewed. When I asked for a breakdown of my policy and we started to go over my coverage it was noted that my discounts that was applied by Cooperators was not accurate. These discounts were adjusted on the fly leading to a further increase to my premiums. My insurance rates was conveniently increased on my renewal once my files were taken over by the Cooperators and has increased to over $100 per month? When I asked for a discount for not driving my vehicle during COVID, I was told that I did not qualify since my Policy was new with Cooperators? How is it fair for a company to take over my insurance without my consent and approval and have the right to increase my premiums and then refused any credits that I would be qualified for?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Try to talk to someone

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dan Aug 05, 2020
I received rebates for less driving as well as a rebate for being mortgage-free, which was early July. I've just got my statement for renewal jacked my insurance up to $400 for the year. GREAT savings and then I try to speak to someone, waited for 2 hours on hold and finally, gave up. Insurance is legalized extortion.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor experience

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by L Jul 19, 2020
I had my first at-fault accident after 22 years of driving. By all measures, it qualified for a minor accident status, with $1200 repair cost to the other vehicle and $0 to mine. My license plate mounting bolts left an imprint in the other's bumper cover, that was it. I wanted to pay off the other driver, which the Cooperators was okay with (minor accident stipulation in Ontario insurance law). However, the other driver did not want to be paid, they wanted their insurance to handle it. So then, the Cooperators, unwilling to consider the minor nature of the accident, held it against me and jacked up my rate 50%.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Was hit from behind

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Wade May 26, 2020
Please let it be known that I was wrongly accused by Cooperators insurance company. They do not work for you. If you have a claim with them be prepared to be in not there favour. A very unworthy insurance company, not recommended.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Had to sue them

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Richard May 22, 2020
I sued Cooperators Insurance after they refused to pay my claim to replace my car $14,000 and for medical expenses. Sent me to their doctors (4) who will say there is nothing wrong. I had to leave Canada to pay out of pocket for multiple spine surgeries. It was worth it. I can walk again. I was not at fault but was the driver only passenger in the car (ICE) on the way to work. You only have 10 days to serve the city responsible or you are no longer allowed to sue. In lawsuit number 7 now and this is back in 2011. Car Insurers only pay for 2 years and only 70% of your earnings. The medical system in Ontario is a joke 48 doctors and no help except pain management. You are only entitled to $25,000 in medical expenses by law which they will not pay unless you sue. I had to wait 3 years to get disability from the federal government I had to sue them too and you have to reapply every 10 years. Yes you win in the end but you will lose everything trying. If you are in a car accident your fault or not and can no longer work in Ontario your life is over. Your only saving grace is to get your own disability insurance to age 65 you will have to sue to get it and a large life insurance policy. Take care of yourself no one else cares. The car insurers only pay $25,000 in funeral expenses. This will not even buy a burial plot anymore. If the insurer writes off your car and says its only worth $2,000 and you still have a large loan on the car tell them to repair it that is the only right you have left unless they took that away too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Non trustworthy

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Joseph May 13, 2020
Non-trustworthy in business. Very bad customer service, Not respond to your queries. Worst insurance company in Canada
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sackville office

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed May 04, 2020
They've been my auto provider for the past few years. I wanted to take a break from coverage as I was away for work for a few months. Then when I started back up they upped my rate without telling me and it was a hassle every step of the way with them. Changed providers and am paying half as much.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Rip off Artists

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tara V May 01, 2020
We had a horrible experience with this company now we pay such a high rate with zero notice that rates were going up. This should be considered criminal in Canada but it's not and they will not talk to you either they only want you talking to your broker. They are crooks and they get away with it because they can. Canada needs to help Canadians and stop robing them. We had a claim years ago not with them. After 2 years of being with them in good standing that's when they pulled the rug underneath us. The disgusting company with zero family values.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Horrible company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brynn Apr 01, 2020
The horrible company cancelled my insurance TWICE and they still keep taking payments from me. I called 3 weeks before my payment date and cancelled, the lady I spoke with told me it was taken care of. Fast forward to the 25th where my payment is originally due, I checked my account and they still took payment. I emailed them and asked what happened and she told me they don’t cancel policies over the phone and of course, I’m angry: the lady who originally cancelled my insurance lied to me. So I cancelled through email and asked for reimbursement on that last payment due to the fact I lost my job from COVID 19 and needed that money for priorities. I explained that and got a refund only to find that the retook the money out of my account only 5 days later. Not very happy with this place and I will never go back or ever recommend to anyone.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Taking advantage

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Elaine A. Mar 11, 2020
I have been with a Cooperators for 4 years. Their lack in attention to detail is terrible, I was repeatedly charged for items that I had asked to be removed from my policy (e.g. windshield protection). My recent renewal really put me over the edge. The customer service representative indicated that I had to pay an addition $1000/year for the next three years on my husbands auto insurance because my husband had received a distracted driving ticket. A ticket where he was sitting a stationary vehicle that was off!! The representative indicated that the increase to premiums as a resulting of tickets/convictions was 5 - 10% depending on what it was for. The representative couldn't provide any concrete answers or information why my premium was going up by 35%, said it was too bad for me. Too bad for the Cooperators, I will be taking my business elsewhere.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Dishonest don't go there.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mom Mar 05, 2020
I purchased insurance last year from this company. In April I was robbed and my credit cards with everything else in my purse were stolen. While I awaited replacements for my stolen cards, the time passed for payment and the payment was missed. I had trouble getting to everyone in time. However, when my new cards came I called them and gave them the new number. They got the payment two weeks late. In May, they closed my policy the day before the payment was due, instead of withdrawing the funds as per the automatic withdrawal agreement I had signed with them. They didn't let me know they cancelled my policy until I called them in the fall. They told me my insurance had been cancelled. I was at the hospital in another city with my disabled son. But we got it going again and again, in September they cancelled the policy the day it was due instead of withdrawing the funds from my credit card again. Each time the amount was increased. Now I know of at least two other people they have done this to also. Now my record is stained as a non-payer. But their negligence in not auto withdrawing the funds isn't me not paying. And they do not tell you they have cancelled the policy. I called in January and found this out. Also, I have a GIC with them, that they have no trouble withdrawing money every month. And the receptionist refuses to let me speak to the broker. I called to make changes, and now I just want my money out and have no way to access it. Also, be careful with your personal info. They contacted my estranged husband for some information.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusting adjuster Feb 13, 2020
I was involved in an accident back in August 2019. Where there insured openly admitted he was distracted and he had no valid insurance card on him filed an injury claim and was forced to deal with an adjuster with a bad attitude. He wanted medical records from the previous Doctor I had for 30 years, plus my new doctor and from Physio. I didn't authorize him to contact my old Dr. And only authorized information of the accident. My previous medical history has no bearing on this accident. I was offered a minimal amount. It was insulting. Stating to me that this is what the max. Would be for me based on the records they had. This accident has changed the way I drive. I have major anxiety in certain driving situations and I limit my driving to go where I need to then home. The adjuster was not sympathetic, he showed no empathy. Almost like he didn't believe and because anxiety isn't a medical condition in his mind and his managers, I'm not worth more. If the police had been called, their driver would have had two major tickets, distracted driving and driving without a valid insurance card. My car was sent for salvage and had to be towed back to the city from a small town where the accident happened. I have and still am being treated very poorly by this adjuster and this Company. I have never filed an injure before. This adjuster sat in my home and recorded my conversations with him. Where I stated I could still see the truck coming right for my vehicle and if I hadn't honked he would have driven his truck right over the top of me. Even with the honking, he took out my whole driver's side. I wish I would have called the police. I tried to be nice. It is horrible that in this day and age, anxiety etc. caused by this accident isn't considered to be a medical issue.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrated Feb 07, 2020
Biggest waste of your hard-earned dollars. Horrible service and you have to fight for what you paid for! Been with them for 15 years and treated horribly! Will take my business elsewhere
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Frustrating Feb 07, 2020
Worst customer relations I’ve ever seen! Won’t return calls regarding quotes. An office visit doesn’t help with the owner, manager never in. When left message at the office no call back either. Just my opinion but a very irresponsible and incompetent way of doing business.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unbelievable ignorant company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Searching Man Feb 05, 2020
When I was looking for auto insurance I found cooperators online offering a quick quote. Since the quote was looking OK, I called them. After an unbelievable sermon of legal BS I was put into a waiting line. After 30 minutes wait there was still no answer. So I requested to be called up at a certain time and date. They never called! So then I looked up a number for in St. John (NB) The lady I got on the phone was rude and wanted me to call a number for another agency closer to my home address. When I finally got through there I was told that there would be nobody in the office to help me and I was asked to call a number in a branch (4hrs. away from home) I got an obviously older lady on the phone and she asked me to call a number closer to my home address. (I am NOT kidding!!!) The "service" this company offers is the absolutely worst I have ever experienced. STAY AWAY from them. Never call them, they don't want your business anyway.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

I will give in negative

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by User Jan 28, 2020
The service is slow and poor, it is been more than 50 days and I am still waiting for my claim to be released. The adjuster never picks up your call, and will not even give you a call back even if you ask via email or via co-operators customer support. I would suggest to never go for co-operators in your entire life, I was new here in Canada so I got stuck with them. The customer service has no control and they are the only one who is there and listen to your frustration.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Customer Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by John Jan 03, 2020
Not only they are not aware of Western Etiquette on the phone and in person but also they are not English proficient (incomprehensible pronunciation due to a heavy Chinese accent). They are trained to talk to you over and be rude. Very slow service that will require you to call many times or wait on the phone forever to get them to provide information. They play dumb all the time to waste your time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

poor service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Driver Oct 28, 2019
Very expensive, poor service, when I changed my address from Windsor, Ontario to Montreal, Quebec they almost doubled my auto insurance like $450. Even Montreal has the lowest auto insurance (in fact whole Quebec region).
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Bad Customer Service at Kanata

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Insurer Oct 12, 2019
I have been a loyal Co-Operators client for the last eight to ten years. I had my 3 homes, 4 Automobiles and a pleasure craft insured with Co-Operators over these periods. Very sub-standard customer service and customer care. They never promptly reply to any insurance queries or insurance change requests. Always have to fire a follow-up email or branch visit to get the job done. Whenever you visit this branch in person, this location has the worst reception area ethics with associates with poker faces. I have doubts some associates there even know full Ontario auto license and insurance rules. They mentioned " A new G1 license holder has to be listed in the policy since he lives in the same address " while Ontario law says since a G1 license holder can' drive all by themselves, the companion driver's insurance covers them. Needless to say, time to move now since these people are taking business as granted: ( May it is just the location I was dealing with in Kanata, ON but they have to get their act together in this highly competitive service industry.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

My claim Experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Matt C Oct 09, 2019
I get in an accident, my fault. Very small for an accident maybe $10.000 total and most importantly no one was hurt, also no tickets we went to the collision centre. We both fill out all our information shake hands and leave. I was with another insurance company for 10 years before I always have insurance and I switched to the Co-operators a year ago to join my laws policy(cheaper) I call the Co-operators claims who say my account is frozen and to call my branch and they can unfreeze it. I call my branch and explain she says - "oh let me see why it's frozen", then says - "oh your account was suspended 2 months ago. Your girlfriend started a new account with the new car she bought with a new policy." Which made the old policy expired because she was the primary account name which puts me out of insurance. I give my ex as much as I possibly can for our daughter which car insurance has always been a part of. The Co-operators won't do anything they sent a registered letter which is all they say. No phone call or email. Trust me my ex could got me in touch with them if she wanted.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Extremely Rude Representative

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rose Oct 08, 2019
I called to get an auto & home insurance quote and spoke with a representative there. First, he had trouble hearing me, that we managed to figure out. Then he started to ask questions and I gave him trust answers base on my current family situation but he accused me of not answering truthfully. I asked what he meant by that and he said I didn't give him a true answer. What? I was calling after 1 year to check their prices and my family situation isn't the same as it was a year ago. Why he told me I lied... I asked if I could talk to someone else because he was very rude. I asked for his name too but he hung up on me. I called back and requested to speak with a supervisor or manager to complain about it but switchboard said that's no possible and I only need to speak with the next available representative. I didn't want to end up speaking with the same person again so I choose to write my complaint here. Extremely rude people. I will never call them again. I am a person with an excellent credit history and driving record so I have many other options to choose from. It is not my lost! But it was my insult indeed!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

COOPERATOR INSURANCE THE BEST

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Kunal Sep 20, 2019
Very professional and settled claim very fast and efficiently. Reported claim and got response immediate and settled also very fast. Best insurance company! Thanks
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

one of the worst!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anish J Aug 30, 2019
One of the worst insurance providers in the Canadian market right now doesn't update you about your policy changes, doesn't tell you when your contract expires and when confronted does not give you a right answer. Oh wait, the most important pointer in this list of deranged services is that they say they will call back with a solution to your problem but they never do!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
If you have a good driving record in AB, you should pay around $110/month (women - $105/month and men - $113/month). Do you overpay? Get an Alberta car insurance quote to start saving.
 

Dont use the Co-operators

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by iam Aug 26, 2019
Do not use the Co-Operators! My company is in contract with the Co-Operators for a couple of years. They kept changing the policy without letting us aware of it. The coverage for all the Paramedical services such as Chiropractor, Physio, Registered Massage Therapy, Acupuncture etc suppose to be 100% with a maximum of $500/year. But they changed it into 90% without informing us. They are not even making us aware there are maximum $/visit. Our employees are not happy with them and we are not going to use them anymore once our contract is expired!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Amazingly good experience

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by Victorialll Aug 21, 2019
I was in a car accident and expected a long struggle to finalize claim related matters. Was totally surprised at helpful and professional handling of the entire matter by the adjustor who explained the entitlements l was not aware of and took it upon herself to clarify any grey areas. I don't know yet how long it will take to finalize the claim but so far so good.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Bad driving record? Your insurance rates can be double the standard insurance rate. Let us help you get the better auto insurance rate without breaking the bank.
 

Money grabber in cooperator

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy Aug 08, 2019
All they do is collecting money. When I called for a flooded basement they said I am not covered. Called to rent a van from the discount they claimed I am not insured to drive a van. If I die they will say you are not covered.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

They abuse the elderly ...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Stephen Jul 31, 2019
My stepfather had his new car ownership taken from him by the agent when he was transferring his insurance policy. They made it very difficult to get it back (we still do not have it). They keep promising to send it. The kicker is that they threatened to tow his new vehicle away as they had the ownership. A very sad company with nobody that has people skills. Messages to Ombudsman rarely returnedю. I would never use this company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not happy with car insurance reviews for your insurance company? Get a quote across up to 20 Canadian car insurers and make sure that you do not pay too much.
 

DISRESPECTFUL RUN AWAY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Notmyfault Jul 23, 2019
I was the last car in a 3 chain rear end. The horrible adjuster didn't investigate. I had no claim but they raised my rates 100 percent. They claim there is nothing they can do about no-fault determination rules and they stuff you into a scenario from the 1990 policy that doesn't take into account modern technology, fraud, distracted driving by the first or second drivers that had already collided suddenly with no opportunity for me to react to an unforeseen event. They lie. Stay away.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Nto Jul 22, 2019
Such a bad company! Not recommended for anyone, they don’t do their job properly and people fool them and get money. I had an accident and it wasn’t my fault but they are unprofessional enough and so cheap to investigate and do their job.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that on average Ontario drivers with good driving records pay $1,805/year in auto insurance? Is your insurance rate higher? Get a free car insurance quote and start saving today.
 

Terrible COOPERATORS

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tina Jul 16, 2019
I had auto insurance for two of my cars with this company, and the individual I dealt in the past was a really nice lady. Who offered me the best customer service. But my file was transferred over to someone other individuals in this company, and I have spoken to them about insurance for my new car. Which they agreed and quoted me on and I also provided them with the date of receiving the vehicle. On the date of signing my vehicle, they called me an hour before that and told me my insurance was cancelled and I have 15 days. And gave me all invalid and unrelated reasons. My record was clear, no tickets, no claims, no accidents. I have been with them for so long. Had a good record and relationship, yet they provided me with the worst customer service. Especially the individual whom I spoke to. Disgusting manners. Never AGAIN with this insurance company. They don't know what professionalism is and sounds like they don't even like working there.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?