Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(254 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

WORST credit card to have

by Alyssa on Jul 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Bunch of scammers!
They continue to add an over-limit fee when I'm not over and refuse to waive it.
Worst customer service representatives, they do not actually assist - it's all scripted responses.
HIGH interest rates.
Save yourself the hassle!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Not Recommendable

by 2022 - Reviewer on Sep 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The customer service is horrible. Good luck trying to speak to a person, who has the ability to communicate in English. The wait times are outrageous. My account was hacked/manipulated - and all my rewards money was gone. Then, the account was closed - without my permission. Incompetent employees. Will not likely ever open another account with them. The interest rate is one of the worst among retail stores. Avoid at all costs. I paid off the balance owed and ask to have the account closed. Pathetic is an understatement.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

BAD MARKETING

by Customer at walmart on Sep 11, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Definitely, it's not worth it to get it cause they have very high-interest rates. Walmart makes money by not allowing the customer to check the outstanding amount at Walmart. So if you go to Walmart and ask them to check the outstanding amount, they wouldn't know. It's a no Brainerd for them to do that as some customers might miss a payment... The only good thing is the customer service, but the marketing idea is really poor. I suggest not getting one if you have a CC with a bank.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

DO NOT GET

by Ashley Elizabeth Gholampoor on Feb 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Do not get this Mastercard, if you are young and just starting out (college, university etc.) The minimum payments are way too much money per month. Every time a minimum payment is made it gets completely overridden by the interest.. the interest is 29.99%. They want you to pay the minimum payment for 9 months THEN the interest will go to 19.99%... WOW, what a difference... NOT. If you do not make a payment in time they will contact you every single day and call 6-8 times throughout the day. They called me at 8:30 pm and their customer service is AWFUL. They sound like they are telemarketing or spam... please do not get this card if you want to have a good credit score and want to save $80-$100 each month.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Stay away.

by Fed up on Apr 28, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This card has given me hell from the beginning. Poor customer service, attitude from them while demanding you pay them your owed balance. Now I’m dealing with DNA collections because of them who are also making my life a living hell. Stick to other bank's credit cards to keep your life easy. The phone calls are around 15 a day for no reason, they have such high interest and won’t raise your credit limit no matter how good your credit is. Don’t forget, they also RUIN your credit at the credit bureau!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Mastercard

by Mad Customer on Oct 2, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

ZERO OUT OF 5!!! This is the most terrible experience I've ever had with credit cards. I called their customer service number to close my Walmart Mastercard but someone convinced me not to close it instead avail of balance transfer promo which I can pay it for 6 months (installment/divided equally). I said ok I will get it to make an easy equal monthly installment payment for 6 months. They said they will send me cheques which I can fill up for 4,400. I did fill the cheques, deposit to our account then after clearing I fully paid one of my visa cards. When I received the 1st statement which includes this balance transfer thing, it says my outstanding balance is my recent expenses + total balance transfer that I borrowed. What did I divide the B transfer promo to 6 months and added my recent purchases and paid that? When I received the next statement they charged me a huge amount for both purchase interest & cash interest. I called them why and they said I did not fully pay all the balance in my account. They said including the balance transfer. OMG! I was advised to pay it for 6 equal monthly payment & now they charged me with purchase & cash interests which not supposed to be. I paid huge interest for this non-sense, not helpful company I can say greedy. Will close this card soon after I fully paid this company full of lies!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Charge 130% and CS poor

by Susan on Apr 25, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I always try to pay my card off as soon as possible, mostly before the due time. There is a time the due date is on the 23rd. I paid on 20th, I happen to have an automatic charge posted on the 19th but when I paid it did not appear. Then the next month I was charged an annual interest at 130% for this amount I happened to miss because it is visible after I have paid my balance. I then called customer service. The first time I was disconnected after 20 minutes waiting; the second time I was told the person cannot access my account thus he was transferring to me another person and got disconnected again. Now I am still on the call waiting...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unbelievably rude and nasty

by devonshireboy on Apr 27, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I got a call from Walmart security about 'suspicious activity' on my account. The activity they were referring to was that I made a payment more than my credit limit. Because I got a low interest transfer from my TD Visa card. Well, they said I had to PROVE where the payment came from and that they were FREEZING my account. When I called TD about it, the lady said she had done literally thousands of balance transfers over the years and she had never heard of such a thing. She said 'why does Walmart need to know where the money came from? Why do they care?' So when I called Walmart back and asked the woman, her already haughty attitude turned nasty. 'We don't have to return the money to you' she said. 'we can keep it as long as we want'. I said 'I made a previous large payment of $5,000 and you didn't question it' and she said 'no you didn't'. So I went home to my computer and called back. Right away she said 'are you the guy who called before about your large payment?' I said 'yes'. Again she said I had never made a previous payment, and when I said 'I'm looking at it right now on my computer screen' she said 'what's your card number?'

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Pathetic Customer Service

by Once bitten on Mar 25, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

So I have had the card for 9 months. Made the mistake of spending $20 on a lottery ticket which I didn't realize this is treated as a cash advance. Fully accept this was MY MISTAKE and I was charged $4 fee plus interest for a cash advance for that month. Okay, so I pay the full amount due each month (as billed on my statement). Three months later I am still paying interest for this cash advance??? Spoke to them (customer service) 3 times to get an explanation, they promised to call me back when I asked to speak to a supervisor - never phoned me. Last call I made lasted 40 minutes, transferred 3 times, very hard to understand what they are talking about. Never again - cut up card, got new Mastercard with another company

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics