Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(253 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Too many fraud purchased

by Alex on Mar 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

There are numerous fraudulent purchases on this card. Upon activating your account, you'll incur unexpected insurance fees monthly, stemming from purchases you're unaware of. Even if you make calls to cancel all of them, all of them will automatically recur again in the next year. They won't rebate your account balance for these charges, leaving you to cover the bill yourself or risk damaging your credit. Instead, they routinely issue new cards with supposedly rebated balances, which often isn't the case upon account inspection after card receipt. Regarding customer service, they always fail to address customer issues, employing convoluted language to create further complications rather than offering straightforward solutions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service and high interest charge

by dips on Mar 5, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had got this credit card when i came to Canada in 2020. Used it few times. Always paid minimum amount even after not using the card. got interest charge every month. was told there is insurance on my card which i was never told about. never got an email or the statement. Called customer service to cancel the the credit card and asked how I can pay 889 dollars even after not using the card that much. Instead of giving a proper response and completing the conversation they kept on asking me is there anything else. Faked the accent of talking nicely to customer. Will never buy this card again. Worse customer service ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wal-Mart MC is a ripe off!

by Concerned consumer on Feb 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Wal-Mart MC sends out the bills to customers on the 5th of every month and charges the interest to your credit card on the 6th of every month(that is only 1 day after a customer receives their monthly bill) so that customers would have to pay more interest without given a chance to make the minimum payment to take down the interest before the interest is posted onto the credit card balance. This is dirty business on Wal-Mart's part. Any other credit gives the customers a chance to make their minimum monthly payment before the due date towards the interest before it the interest is charged onto the current credit card balance, that is what the minimum payment is, it is to pay off the interest and not the principle.

You figure at 20+ percent interest on the Wal-Mart credit card is making enough money without robbing their customers and leaving a bad impression, I don't think I will shop at Wal-Mart as much anymore and I do not recommend their MasterCard. Thanks Wal-Mart for raping your customers!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Rewards m/c is a hassle

by Ritarr on Dec 7, 2023
1.5 out of 5 stars

My spouse was having problems with his card. It was being declined for $14.00 purchases. We pay our bill on time! Eventually it was replaced.
Now my card isn’t working. I tried using it 3 different times and the card isn’t even recognized. Made a call today and I got the run around, then they ended the call. I was annoyed but not rude. So, I have to try again. It’s better to just not use the card rather than return it as it will affect your credit score.
It’s CHRISTMAS time. The time when you spend money, like it or not! Walmart is missing out on our sales.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't trust this company

by Shirin Dehghan on Sep 11, 2023
2 out of 5 stars

Four months ago I put a block on my Mastercard at my own request, today I received a bill for 625 dollars, these are unreliable.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Don’t buy or get credit card Walmart

by Mikesfeir01@hotmail.com on Jul 8, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Be aware they will give you the wrong information!
My credit was 2000.
I want to buy a voyage that cost 3000 and the agent tells me to make a payment of 1800 which will allow them to have the extra money and they will apply it to buy the ticket.
The money comes in and I have 3800.
The surprise is they will not use this 1800 they will keep it on the side and when you need to pay a payment on your credit card they apply it for payment so the money 1800 I paid I can’t use and will be only for payment so now I am financing Walmart also they will not pay back the money or return it.
Don’t use this credit card company or Walmart
I have filed a complaint with the Bureau de cunsomateur Quebec they say they can’t do that
So we are waiting...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

WORST credit card to have

by Alyssa on Jul 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Bunch of scammers!
They continue to add an over-limit fee when I'm not over and refuse to waive it.
Worst customer service representatives, they do not actually assist - it's all scripted responses.
HIGH interest rates.
Save yourself the hassle!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible credit card to have

by Cheryl B Allen on Oct 21, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Walmart Master Card is the worst credit card to have. Do not apply for it unless you like harassment while paying on your account. The constant phone calls and text messages are actual harassment. As they give your info to several different callers. You make your monthly payment every month. But if you are a day late you are harassed. I am not exaggerating! I have had up to 7 calls a day for 30 days until the next billing cycle. I have had to block them and then they call from different numbers. I have never missed a month's payment. But they tell me it's because I did not quite make the payment by the exact date.
And they are hard cards to cancel!
Don't get started!
I don't write many reviews. But I tell ya I am warning you it does not matter if you have good credit. They will kill your credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unreliable credit card

by consumer on Oct 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

3 different vendors paid monthly by Walmart credit card was declined and as a result, incurred insufficient funds charges. Called Walmart and was told all the vendors entered the expiry date as 2021, which is a lie as one of the vendors was my insurance which is computerized. Don't use Walmart to pay important bills. Insurance now takes 2 months in advance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Walmart Masterсard favours a false claim by EDreams

by Margaret on Oct 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I spent 5 months, and 6 phone calls to dispute a charge. I had provided evidence that a booking was cancelled within 5 hours of booking, on the webpage and via email. The E dreams website claimed free cancellation within 24 hours.
Often times I had to Re explain the dispute. After finally getting the charge reversed, I asked for another card #. After 2 months, I used my Walmart card again. Within a week of using the Walmart card, they put through the charge of $718.23 from e dreams again.
On speaking to their security team, they claimed e dreams said I didn’t communicate to e dreams. I provided evidence of email confirmation that I had requested the cancellation.
Customer service is very disappointing. Don’t get tempted by their rebates.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo