Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(253 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Too many fraud purchased

by Alex on Mar 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

There are numerous fraudulent purchases on this card. Upon activating your account, you'll incur unexpected insurance fees monthly, stemming from purchases you're unaware of. Even if you make calls to cancel all of them, all of them will automatically recur again in the next year. They won't rebate your account balance for these charges, leaving you to cover the bill yourself or risk damaging your credit. Instead, they routinely issue new cards with supposedly rebated balances, which often isn't the case upon account inspection after card receipt. Regarding customer service, they always fail to address customer issues, employing convoluted language to create further complications rather than offering straightforward solutions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scam on my Master card not resolved

by Ann Gomes on Feb 29, 2024
1.7 out of 5 stars

It was part of my own principle to pay back immediately the amout used on my rewards card. However, there was a proven scam that someone had used my card to buy a subcription for a video game and that also in US dollars. this occurred last year in 2023 around the month of November and yet the matter is not fully resolved. I am still getting letters to pay off the amount I have been scammed!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst and poorest

by Don2022 on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

No one should apply it anyway. It has the worst security system and the worst customer service. Two years ago I discovered 3 fraudulent transactions. I contacted customer service six times and they kept asking me to contact the store directly or I had to pay. I wrote a letter to complain, and they canceled the bill. One year after canceling the account, I kept receiving email alerts that someone changed my phone number. After the complaint, the matter was processed. Yesterday, someone changed it again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst service I have ever experienced.

by Priti on Dec 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customers service does not do what they say. Security department does not function the way it is supposedly have to.
I have been waiting for my card cancelation, refund and new card for over three months. Called them 4 to 5 times, every time promise and issuance is given with no results.
Customers service reps do not have clear English as well.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I would not recommend Walmart MasterCard to a friend or family member. OR ANYONE!

by Caitlyn on Dec 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I have been put through hell and back with the security team over the last few months. It took everything out of me to deal with a fraud charge of $500 dollars. (Charge From the USA, and I live in Canada). Originally they removed the charge and said they will investigate it. 2 months later they called me back saying they regret to inform me that I am responsible for paying the charge. Anyone I tell this story to says how fishy it is and that it’s not right. I don’t appreciate how the security dealt with it. She was not helpful at all. I spoke with the supervisor who was actually really nice but I’m still upset about the whole situation. Their investigation sounds completely made up and I do not trust them at all. I paid the remaining balance on my credit card and cancelled my account with them. They didn’t fight for me to stay or anything. I’ve been with them for a few years and have an incredible credit score. It’s so sad how they treat their loyal customers. I have so much to say. But please do not go with this company. I was able to get a new credit card with a popular company and I feel safe about it. When I checked the reviews for Walmart MasterCard I noticed people have had a similar experience so I realize this is an ongoing issue. I wish I checked the reviews before I even applied for this card. Thanks for reading my review and I hope it can help someone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No security measures ..

by WalmartMCFraud on Dec 12, 2023
1.5 out of 5 stars

DO NOT USE THIS CARD.

My 83 year old aunt used the card 2-3x per months for the last 10 years. Only 1 pre-auth. Someone called Mastercard and got a new card with her name and a different number and bought 12k in gift cards (and 1 gas and McD's) in just over 4 weeks.

Walmart sent it to collections and would not even listen to us when we called to deal with. They told us "not our problem" Their fraud systems should have picked up dozens of gift cards which was not her pattern.

Dealing with police now. Wasted hours...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Worst, worst, worst credit card ever

by Lynn D Blouin on Nov 10, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I've had this credit card for 6 weeks & the system has automatically blocked it twice. It seems that anytime you try to use this outside of an actual Walmart store, it blocks it. And OMG, getting it unblocked is a friggin nightmare with customer service. Be prepared to have to make multiple phone calls & speak to several agents before they are able to figure this out. And then of course, it will block again. I'm done with this ridiculous company. My card is cut up & in the trash can where it belongs.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

no support

by No support on Nov 4, 2023
2 out of 5 stars

I'm using the third credit card from Walmart rewards Mastercard
No support when there are discrepancies. I reported fraudulent charges being deducted from my credit card without my consent. Customer service put the onus on me and did not go after the crooks that stole my money.
I was forced put a stop order on my credit card. I have to reapply for a new card. Because they would not block the fraud from happening.
Walmart rewards Mastercard has no intention of getting my money back.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst Credit card ever

by FIONA LIU on Oct 2, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I had Walmart reward card for years. It was Ok at the beginning as you can use the cash-back money to shop at Walmart. Then it was hacked few times. The company increase the month limit to let the card being used continually.

Last year, I used the card in US then the card was blocked for no reason. I paid off the owed money (deducted the rewards amount), but the rewards money didn't count. They kept charging me the interest and phoned me many times. There was never smooth communication with the staff over the phone.

The online service function is terrible. No paperless statement, no text reminders when you make any purchase by the card, and not a safe card to use.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Compromised Walmart Credit Card

by Shri on Sep 5, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

So I got 5 transactions that were not authorized by me. Four different Walmart people came on line and asked me the same questions over and over and put me on hold and no resolution... customer service needs to understand that the more they scare customers the more people will close the Walmart card and they will be out of job! Customer service should be very careful on how they behave with customers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo