Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Disappointing customer service

by Tao Beckerleg on Jun 16, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I have been a customer of Walmart rewards Mastercard since 2014. I made a purchase of a plane ticket from Ottawa to BC and then BC to Seattle from Air Canada through a third party website using my Walmart rewards Mastercard on October 15, 2023. One of the two tickets was successfully paid for, but the other was blocked by the system due to irregular payment transactions. I then called Walmart customer service to inquire and was told by an employee that multiple transactions showed up on the system in the amounts of $695, $609, $709.98, $695.10, $695.90, $709.18 and $905.98, and many more, which led to the second transaction to be blocked. I was alarmed by the multiple transactions that I did not recognize so requested that all transactions be cancelled including the initial payment that was accepted. Kelly confirmed that this was done successfully, and I had no outstanding payments from the airline.

However, on November 13, 2023, I received a statement from Walmart rewards mastercard asking for a payment of $608.34 for a flight ticket from Air Canada dated October 17, 2023. I called Walmart customer service and spent about 4 hours trying to get through to the right person. I was transferred to more than 5 employees and then ended up being redirected to the first employee I spoke with. I felt that I was being played and they did not care about trying to help resolve my problem. I was finally transferred to the dispute department and was told that a dispute form will be mailed to me. On November 17, 2023, I called customer service again to inform them that I have paid the total amount on the most recent statement minus the $608.34 since the initial transaction should have been cancelled. I mailed the dispute form soon after.

On January 31, 2024, I made my last payment to Walmart rewards Mastercard, again excluding the $608.34, while waiting for outcome from the dispute. Since then, I did not receive any additional communication from Walmart and was unable to log into my online account. on May 21, 2024, I received a letter in the mail from the collections division stating that my payment was severely overdue and immediate action was required. I had to call Walmart to finally be able to log into my online account and saw that the amount owing has now been written off and transferred to collections division. I was told by the collections division that I now owed $726.89 due to interests, and they redirected me to Walmart dispute department. I then called Walmart again on June 14, 2024, and spoke to an employee who told me that they never received my dispute form and hence the case is closed and there is nothing further they can do. I asked for another dispute form to be mailed to me, but this employee refused and disconnected the call.

I’m very frustrated with the whole process and lack of support from Walmart customer service. Having been a loyal customer since 2014 and having never missed a payment otherwise, this kind of treatment from Walmart is very disappointing. I’m posting this here to hopefully get some resolution without resorting to legal means.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer Service incompetent

by MVQ on May 22, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

Worst customer service ever. They cannot even explain properly how the charges incurred in my card despite paying the balance statement in FULL and before the DUE DATE. They just keep making excuse as it is a residual charge but cannot even elaborate how that happened. Walmart Mastercard team should re-train their customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Worse customer service -absolutely no stars!

by Frustrated on Mar 20, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Absolute worst customer service dealings I have ever had with a credit card! I will be cancelling the card … I will also advise others to NOT give your business to Walmart Rewards Master Card

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst and poorest

by Don2022 on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

No one should apply it anyway. It has the worst security system and the worst customer service. Two years ago I discovered 3 fraudulent transactions. I contacted customer service six times and they kept asking me to contact the store directly or I had to pay. I wrote a letter to complain, and they canceled the bill. One year after canceling the account, I kept receiving email alerts that someone changed my phone number. After the complaint, the matter was processed. Yesterday, someone changed it again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by aiden s on Feb 13, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I got scammed and charged some amount. Called them 10 times and they keep coming up with excuses not to finish the dispute and give my money back. Every time I call they keep referring me here and there and not accomplishing anything. That's it I'm switching.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Wal-Mart MC is a ripe off!

by Concerned consumer on Feb 7, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Wal-Mart MC sends out the bills to customers on the 5th of every month and charges the interest to your credit card on the 6th of every month(that is only 1 day after a customer receives their monthly bill) so that customers would have to pay more interest without given a chance to make the minimum payment to take down the interest before the interest is posted onto the credit card balance. This is dirty business on Wal-Mart's part. Any other credit gives the customers a chance to make their minimum monthly payment before the due date towards the interest before it the interest is charged onto the current credit card balance, that is what the minimum payment is, it is to pay off the interest and not the principle.

You figure at 20+ percent interest on the Wal-Mart credit card is making enough money without robbing their customers and leaving a bad impression, I don't think I will shop at Wal-Mart as much anymore and I do not recommend their MasterCard. Thanks Wal-Mart for raping your customers!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer service

by ElyE on Jan 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

A Walmart cashier offered to set me up on a Walmart mastercard and payed for my items with the mastercard which felt nice.
11 days later, I called to follow up because I had not received my mastercard and wanted to prevent paying late fees!
I talked to 9 agents, figured out the card was sent to the wrong address. Everytime I was transferred to a new person I had to repeat my full name, number, address, email address, if I have a 2nd person on my card, credit limit of my bank account which really made the process feel crazy! By the 8th person, I decided to close my account so I wouldn't have to deal with phone calls like this anymore!
Talked to the 9th person, closed the account, payed the outstanding balance online.
This took 3 hours of my day.
So
Do not do it unless you would like a headache! :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible credit card

by Javad Abdi on Nov 26, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It is really amazing in 2023 you have such a bad credit card. Very awful webpage, completely unprofessional customer service and bad service.
they do not understand your issue. Every passing phone you to explain and i passed to six people. sometimes you feel you talk with people sitting in other countries like AISA
PLEASE NEVER APPLY FOR THIS MASTERCARD-Walmart is not bad but credit card is 10000 percent bad.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible customer service I have ever faced

by Bhanu on Nov 22, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

There was some promotional mail regarding earning $25 in rewards after spending $250 in a given date range (Sep to Oct). We spent this $250 as per the terms and conditions and still didn't get the rewards for it.
I called customer care on 11/22/23 at around 4 PM EST and all that she repeated throughout the conversation was "We don't have this offer now. We have different offer now in Nov, 23". She can't talk about the offers that are expired. Then I asked who was going to help in resolving the issue? She was clueless and when I asked her to transfer to manager, she said there was no manager and only she needed to handle this call.
Going to cancel this card, completely useless. Other cards give better rewards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo