Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Disappointing customer service

by Tao Beckerleg on Jun 16, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I have been a customer of Walmart rewards Mastercard since 2014. I made a purchase of a plane ticket from Ottawa to BC and then BC to Seattle from Air Canada through a third party website using my Walmart rewards Mastercard on October 15, 2023. One of the two tickets was successfully paid for, but the other was blocked by the system due to irregular payment transactions. I then called Walmart customer service to inquire and was told by an employee that multiple transactions showed up on the system in the amounts of $695, $609, $709.98, $695.10, $695.90, $709.18 and $905.98, and many more, which led to the second transaction to be blocked. I was alarmed by the multiple transactions that I did not recognize so requested that all transactions be cancelled including the initial payment that was accepted. Kelly confirmed that this was done successfully, and I had no outstanding payments from the airline.

However, on November 13, 2023, I received a statement from Walmart rewards mastercard asking for a payment of $608.34 for a flight ticket from Air Canada dated October 17, 2023. I called Walmart customer service and spent about 4 hours trying to get through to the right person. I was transferred to more than 5 employees and then ended up being redirected to the first employee I spoke with. I felt that I was being played and they did not care about trying to help resolve my problem. I was finally transferred to the dispute department and was told that a dispute form will be mailed to me. On November 17, 2023, I called customer service again to inform them that I have paid the total amount on the most recent statement minus the $608.34 since the initial transaction should have been cancelled. I mailed the dispute form soon after.

On January 31, 2024, I made my last payment to Walmart rewards Mastercard, again excluding the $608.34, while waiting for outcome from the dispute. Since then, I did not receive any additional communication from Walmart and was unable to log into my online account. on May 21, 2024, I received a letter in the mail from the collections division stating that my payment was severely overdue and immediate action was required. I had to call Walmart to finally be able to log into my online account and saw that the amount owing has now been written off and transferred to collections division. I was told by the collections division that I now owed $726.89 due to interests, and they redirected me to Walmart dispute department. I then called Walmart again on June 14, 2024, and spoke to an employee who told me that they never received my dispute form and hence the case is closed and there is nothing further they can do. I asked for another dispute form to be mailed to me, but this employee refused and disconnected the call.

I’m very frustrated with the whole process and lack of support from Walmart customer service. Having been a loyal customer since 2014 and having never missed a payment otherwise, this kind of treatment from Walmart is very disappointing. I’m posting this here to hopefully get some resolution without resorting to legal means.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Please don't get this card if you want to sleep without nightmares.

by javbergen on May 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Card was pushed on me when I entered the store. Received the card and activating it was no problem. But then the problems started:
I could not find a method on-line to institute per-authorized payment, which i have on all my credit cards.
So I received a bill in the mail and I mailed a check (#006) in the pre-addressed envelope for the full amount. Check was not cashed. Next month I received a statement which included the balance for the previous month plus an outrageous interest on that balance. I mailed another check (#007) for the full amount and called them. Could not understand the person I was talking to (probably some off-shore service) and finally gave up.
Received a new statement with threatening letter demanding payment, or else.
Again, tried to talk to them over the phone without result. I was on the phone for more than one and a half hour, being transferred back and forth. They claimed that they had not received either check. I had no choice but to give up.
In order to cut the crap I went to Walmart Customer Service and paid the total balance by debit card. Meanwhile I had already cancelled the Walmart credit card.
Now It seems that suddenly they found one of my checks (#008) because I noticed that it was cashed on my bank statement. So now Walmart owes me $435.12
Still no sign of the previous check but I am sure that they will try to cash that one too if they finally find it.
Please stay away from this corporate credit card scam, and if you already have one, I suggest you cancel it and cut it up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer Service incompetent

by MVQ on May 22, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

Worst customer service ever. They cannot even explain properly how the charges incurred in my card despite paying the balance statement in FULL and before the DUE DATE. They just keep making excuse as it is a residual charge but cannot even elaborate how that happened. Walmart Mastercard team should re-train their customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Worse customer service -absolutely no stars!

by Frustrated on Mar 20, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Absolute worst customer service dealings I have ever had with a credit card! I will be cancelling the card … I will also advise others to NOT give your business to Walmart Rewards Master Card

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Too many fraud purchased

by Alex on Mar 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

There are numerous fraudulent purchases on this card. Upon activating your account, you'll incur unexpected insurance fees monthly, stemming from purchases you're unaware of. Even if you make calls to cancel all of them, all of them will automatically recur again in the next year. They won't rebate your account balance for these charges, leaving you to cover the bill yourself or risk damaging your credit. Instead, they routinely issue new cards with supposedly rebated balances, which often isn't the case upon account inspection after card receipt. Regarding customer service, they always fail to address customer issues, employing convoluted language to create further complications rather than offering straightforward solutions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Worst customer service and high interest charge

by dips on Mar 5, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had got this credit card when i came to Canada in 2020. Used it few times. Always paid minimum amount even after not using the card. got interest charge every month. was told there is insurance on my card which i was never told about. never got an email or the statement. Called customer service to cancel the the credit card and asked how I can pay 889 dollars even after not using the card that much. Instead of giving a proper response and completing the conversation they kept on asking me is there anything else. Faked the accent of talking nicely to customer. Will never buy this card again. Worse customer service ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scam on my Master card not resolved

by Ann Gomes on Feb 29, 2024
1.7 out of 5 stars

It was part of my own principle to pay back immediately the amout used on my rewards card. However, there was a proven scam that someone had used my card to buy a subcription for a video game and that also in US dollars. this occurred last year in 2023 around the month of November and yet the matter is not fully resolved. I am still getting letters to pay off the amount I have been scammed!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst and poorest

by Don2022 on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

No one should apply it anyway. It has the worst security system and the worst customer service. Two years ago I discovered 3 fraudulent transactions. I contacted customer service six times and they kept asking me to contact the store directly or I had to pay. I wrote a letter to complain, and they canceled the bill. One year after canceling the account, I kept receiving email alerts that someone changed my phone number. After the complaint, the matter was processed. Yesterday, someone changed it again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible customer service

by aiden s on Feb 13, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I got scammed and charged some amount. Called them 10 times and they keep coming up with excuses not to finish the dispute and give my money back. Every time I call they keep referring me here and there and not accomplishing anything. That's it I'm switching.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo