Credit Card Reviews

CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(35 reviews)
CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Worst customer service ever

by Meg Westley on Jan 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This credit card is a total rip-off. Booking travel takes hours of sitting on hold and to get a deal you have to take incredibly convoluted routes. I had a $500 credit after cancelling a flight due to Covid and was never able to claim it because the travel rewards centre did not call back as promised. When I spoke to customer service they said there was nothing they could do. Godawful

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unreachable during emergency situations for up to 3-4 days

by Aventuradumpsterfire on Jan 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Picture this, you buy a round trip through Aventura, you make it to your destination when it’s time to go home, you try to check-in at the airport, lo and behold, CIBC rewards has made the booking but not acquired an actual ticket, you are told that the airline can do nothing because the ticket was purchased under CIBC rewards, you attempt to call the line and are put on hold for 2 hours and then dropped, you try again and are told your calling after hours and to call the next day.
The next flight is after your covid test requirements so you purchase a rapid PCR test which is what is now the only thing available required for an additional $900 dollars at the foreign airport. You purchase your own ticket for 3x the original price. + a new 7-hour layover because CIBC rewards cannot be reached, and you need to get home...
You arrive home and continue calling CIBC rewards and are continuously being put on machine hold for over the next 3 days with nobody picking up the phone. You are very very angry
Welcome to my life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't waste you money

by Michael. on Jan 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The visa card is not worth the money. You can accumulate points, but good luck using them or even getting them back if you wish to cancel. Wait times are insanely high, I doubt they have anyone working on a help desk.
In hindsight, I would never wish to use an Aventura points card. You basically cannot get a hold of anyone to do anything, and their user interface is pathetic! Feels like you have gone back to the late '90s in terms of UI and speed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Not worth it for the fees we pay yearly

by Tony on Dec 30, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I was invited by the bank to apply for the card and was invited to transfer the Balance over from other cards with 0 interest for 10 months. When missed payment by two days only they start charging me interest and cash advanced fees from day one of the transfers that’s a steal, also their trip cancellation insurance policy is a scam you have to deal with some insurance in Montreal if your flight is cancelled and it took over a year to get my money back.
CIBC Visa cards are not good any other cards on the market offer the same for free!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Waiting time

by Kiafarivar55@icloud.com on Dec 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve almost waited 1 hour and 36 minutes in order to request the refund for the ticket I bought with them and now instead I get nothing than wait for ridicule customer service which is almost there is no excuse for such long hold time that they keep you and because of this they charge you 139$ annual and the service they give you isn’t worth it at all!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer service experience

by Ajay on Dec 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I wish I could upload the screenshot here. I was on HOLD for OVER 2 HOURS before I decided to hang up. Such a pathetic customer service experience.
CIBC spends Millions on marketing campaigns and promotions but they can't afford to hire more customer service representatives to address customer issues.
Disgusting...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Wait times are unbelievable

by CarsonSedun on Nov 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Wait times with CIBC Rewards center are absolutely embarrassing. I’ve called twice now and am currently on hold for over 2 hours. It’s a complete joke. I requested a points refund over 3 months ago. Was supposed to take 4-6 weeks and never heard anything back. Their “callback” feature, if you even want to call it that, doesn’t work and they never called me back. Emailed them 4 times in the last 2 months and never even got an automated response. TERRIBLE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Flight booking

by Pan on Nov 18, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I booked a flight with them which I had to reschedule due to Covid restrictions.

The wait time to rebook the tickets has been preposterous. Also, I was able to get to a call center associate who advised that my call will go to the ticketing department and I should expect a call back in three days. Guess what, I missed one call and I had to go through the same process again. The ticket prices became double by the time I was able to reschedule. DO NOT BOOK A FLIGHT WITH THE REWARDS CENTER.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service!

by PeterFromVancouver on Nov 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been on hold for 1 hour. I purchased a trip last night and received confirmation. Just now received an email saying payment now hasn't been processed and requires me to call in to process the payment.
Why can't this be done online? Why did I receive confirmation and issuance of the ticket if the payment was not processed? Why do I have to call in separately and wait over an hour... thus far?
If you do get Aventura prepare yourself for incredible, tremendous frustration!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst customer service ever!

by Kathy on Nov 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

The airline cancelled a flight and would like to be rebooked on another. Have been on hold: first time 1.5 hours, second time 2.5 hours and third time 2 hours. The emailed callback request went unreturned and so have sent in a second request. Tomorrow I will try for 3 hours before carrying on with my day, as that is what looks like needs to happen. I also have an appointment at the bank. These points are bogus! Stay away from CIBC Aventura!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo