Credit Card Reviews

CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(35 reviews)
CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Unreachable during emergency situations for up to 3-4 days

by Aventuradumpsterfire on Jan 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Picture this, you buy a round trip through Aventura, you make it to your destination when it’s time to go home, you try to check-in at the airport, lo and behold, CIBC rewards has made the booking but not acquired an actual ticket, you are told that the airline can do nothing because the ticket was purchased under CIBC rewards, you attempt to call the line and are put on hold for 2 hours and then dropped, you try again and are told your calling after hours and to call the next day.
The next flight is after your covid test requirements so you purchase a rapid PCR test which is what is now the only thing available required for an additional $900 dollars at the foreign airport. You purchase your own ticket for 3x the original price. + a new 7-hour layover because CIBC rewards cannot be reached, and you need to get home...
You arrive home and continue calling CIBC rewards and are continuously being put on machine hold for over the next 3 days with nobody picking up the phone. You are very very angry
Welcome to my life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't waste you money

by Michael. on Jan 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The visa card is not worth the money. You can accumulate points, but good luck using them or even getting them back if you wish to cancel. Wait times are insanely high, I doubt they have anyone working on a help desk.
In hindsight, I would never wish to use an Aventura points card. You basically cannot get a hold of anyone to do anything, and their user interface is pathetic! Feels like you have gone back to the late '90s in terms of UI and speed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Waiting time

by Kiafarivar55@icloud.com on Dec 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve almost waited 1 hour and 36 minutes in order to request the refund for the ticket I bought with them and now instead I get nothing than wait for ridicule customer service which is almost there is no excuse for such long hold time that they keep you and because of this they charge you 139$ annual and the service they give you isn’t worth it at all!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible customer service experience

by Ajay on Dec 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I wish I could upload the screenshot here. I was on HOLD for OVER 2 HOURS before I decided to hang up. Such a pathetic customer service experience.
CIBC spends Millions on marketing campaigns and promotions but they can't afford to hire more customer service representatives to address customer issues.
Disgusting...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Wait times are unbelievable

by CarsonSedun on Nov 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Wait times with CIBC Rewards center are absolutely embarrassing. I’ve called twice now and am currently on hold for over 2 hours. It’s a complete joke. I requested a points refund over 3 months ago. Was supposed to take 4-6 weeks and never heard anything back. Their “callback” feature, if you even want to call it that, doesn’t work and they never called me back. Emailed them 4 times in the last 2 months and never even got an automated response. TERRIBLE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor customer service!

by PeterFromVancouver on Nov 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been on hold for 1 hour. I purchased a trip last night and received confirmation. Just now received an email saying payment now hasn't been processed and requires me to call in to process the payment.
Why can't this be done online? Why did I receive confirmation and issuance of the ticket if the payment was not processed? Why do I have to call in separately and wait over an hour... thus far?
If you do get Aventura prepare yourself for incredible, tremendous frustration!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Worst customer service ever!

by Kathy on Nov 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

The airline cancelled a flight and would like to be rebooked on another. Have been on hold: first time 1.5 hours, second time 2.5 hours and third time 2 hours. The emailed callback request went unreturned and so have sent in a second request. Tomorrow I will try for 3 hours before carrying on with my day, as that is what looks like needs to happen. I also have an appointment at the bank. These points are bogus! Stay away from CIBC Aventura!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

HORRIBLE Customer Service

by Unhappy Customer on Oct 18, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

If you book a flight through CIBC rewards and it gets cancelled, be prepared to spend 3 hours on hold for them to tell you that they will not refund your points and that you are stuck with an airline credit that expires in 6 months time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Talk about a waste of time

by Don’t get this card is all I can say. on Oct 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been with CIBC since 11 years old. Most of the time I’m ok with their service however the Visa Infinite card for travel points is ridiculous. As I write this review this is the third call and literally at this time as I write this I have been on hold for 2:10 min and 53 seconds. I’m sure that they make enough money off of us to ensure at least reasonable customer service. And every 30 seconds they say “thank you for holding. We sincerely appreciate your patience and will return to your call shortly.” Do they define wasting more than two hours of my life as reasonable? And not being the first time? I wish I could give them a beyond zero negative review. This is ridiculous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Service Level

by Piz on Oct 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Travel rewards services are non-existent to make contact on hold for two hours.
Value for money, Aventura points bring no advantage!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo