Credit Card Reviews

CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(38 reviews)
CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

CIBC Travel Rewards Impossible to Redeem

by Russell Weir on Mar 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My family and I purchased flights to Italy from Ottawa in 2020, just before Covid hit, using points earned on our visa card plus the difference in cash.
When our flights were cancelled, CIBC offered us a 2 year Credit or our money back. When they said "money back" they meant cash money. We were told that if we took the money back it would only apply to the cash we paid and our points would be lost. We opted for the 2-year travel credit.
When Air Canada announced that they were offering to turn travel credits into Vouchers with no expiry date, we called CIBC. We were told it did not apply and the two-year credit still applied. ( This is probably incorrect as people that had booked through 3rd parties such as Expedia were able to convert easily)
Now we are trying to book a flight somewhere as the 2 years are up. CIBC is telling us that depending on our desired destination, our credit will likely not apply due to base fares and tax rates for the destination. My wife and I have spent a combined wait time of 9 hours on the phone this week trying to book something and each time we finally connect to someone, they tell us the same thing which is that our original file needed to be purged new one created. They say they have just done it but it will take several days to reach ticketing. They also say that they will call us back the moment it reaches ticketing and they don't call back!. I've also tried their automated "Call back" email program and guess what! No one calls back
CIBC is essentially trying to steal our money! I do not recommend this card or its rewards!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Good luck reaching their customer service

by Anna Logacheva on Mar 7, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I will definitely go to a different bank after my recent experience with CIBC for the following reasons:
1. Horrible wait times for the reward center. You spend 2 hours waiting for someone to pick up the phone. After that, they start transferring you and at some point, the office closes. So, they just hung up.
2. If you want to complain, they transfer you to customer service, but you can just leave a message. They will never call you back.
3. If you get very angry, and insist, you might get to the manager who will refuse to discuss any issues with you. Got a response "I am not going to talk about it" when I told him that his staff was hanging up on me at 7 pm.
4. They will never call you back to finalize the booking and your ticket ends up being 2 times more expensive by the time you finally get someone to book it for you.
Go with another bank, your lifetime is more valuable than this...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service ever

by Meg Westley on Jan 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This credit card is a total rip-off. Booking travel takes hours of sitting on hold and to get a deal you have to take incredibly convoluted routes. I had a $500 credit after cancelling a flight due to Covid and was never able to claim it because the travel rewards centre did not call back as promised. When I spoke to customer service they said there was nothing they could do. Godawful

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Unreachable during emergency situations for up to 3-4 days

by Aventuradumpsterfire on Jan 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Picture this, you buy a round trip through Aventura, you make it to your destination when it’s time to go home, you try to check-in at the airport, lo and behold, CIBC rewards has made the booking but not acquired an actual ticket, you are told that the airline can do nothing because the ticket was purchased under CIBC rewards, you attempt to call the line and are put on hold for 2 hours and then dropped, you try again and are told your calling after hours and to call the next day.
The next flight is after your covid test requirements so you purchase a rapid PCR test which is what is now the only thing available required for an additional $900 dollars at the foreign airport. You purchase your own ticket for 3x the original price. + a new 7-hour layover because CIBC rewards cannot be reached, and you need to get home...
You arrive home and continue calling CIBC rewards and are continuously being put on machine hold for over the next 3 days with nobody picking up the phone. You are very very angry
Welcome to my life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Flight booking

by Pan on Nov 18, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I booked a flight with them which I had to reschedule due to Covid restrictions.

The wait time to rebook the tickets has been preposterous. Also, I was able to get to a call center associate who advised that my call will go to the ticketing department and I should expect a call back in three days. Guess what, I missed one call and I had to go through the same process again. The ticket prices became double by the time I was able to reschedule. DO NOT BOOK A FLIGHT WITH THE REWARDS CENTER.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service!

by PeterFromVancouver on Nov 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been on hold for 1 hour. I purchased a trip last night and received confirmation. Just now received an email saying payment now hasn't been processed and requires me to call in to process the payment.
Why can't this be done online? Why did I receive confirmation and issuance of the ticket if the payment was not processed? Why do I have to call in separately and wait over an hour... thus far?
If you do get Aventura prepare yourself for incredible, tremendous frustration!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible customer experience

by Maria P. on Sep 3, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

My experience with CIBC Rewards Centre has been horrible. To book a trip on the phone, the waiting time is 1,5h or more and you still don't get on hold of anyone to help you.
Another problem I had is when I exchanged my points for some Save on Food gift cards. I realized this chain of supermarkets is not available in Toronto, so I called the Rewards Centre the right way to cancel the order. They said they would try to help, but it wasn't guaranteed. How come? I called only 1 hour later after my purchase. It doesn't make sense the operator can't do anything. I don't know why, but I do believe the system should be more flexible when it comes to orders and cancellations. My overall experience with the CIBC Rewards Centre has been terrible. Don't recommend it to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer service non-existent!

by Tove Redeby on Jul 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have booked a flight with CIBC rewards, and I am abroad and I need to book my ticket, and I have currently been waiting for 3,5 hours on the phone (paying for minutes, as I am calling Canada from a foreign country).
I thought being a CIBC Visa customer would come with some perks, but instead, it comes with nothing but uncertainty and pain.
As soon as I am home from this trip, I will change to another VISA card!
DO NOT CHOOSE CIBC VISA for travel point and service - the service you'll get is nothing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Too much stress

by Virginia on Jul 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Travel on an airline at the best of times is stressful. Trying to negotiate a vacation in today's climate makes you wonder if it is worth the effort. We had a flight booked, arranged our accommodations accordingly, the flight was cancelled, were given an option of another flight 2 days later, which was not going to work for us. Found another flight that would work for us but, for some reason, the Aventura representative was not able to get us on the flight that was available. Consequently, we are missing 2 days of our vacation and paying for accommodations that we are not able to use.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst experience ever

by Super frustrated user on Jun 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been waiting online for more than 3 hours and still no luck. I am trying to book a one-way ticket from Paris to Vancouver and was unable to do it online.

I thought the Aeroplane was bad - Aventura is even worse.

I will be switching credit cards immediately... It is unacceptable that CIBC is allowed to provide such poor service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo