Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Canada Life Life Insurance Reviews

(15 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
26,872
consumers
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Negative Stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Cindy O Jul 12, 2018
I paid disability insurance on my mortgage for 15 years and then was diagnosed with cancer last year. I have been fighting with Canada Life but I have been denied! I spent 4 months in chemo and 15 sessions of radiation and did not receive a penny from Canada Life. They were sure happy to take my $150 a month for the last 15 years. Do not take out any type of insurance with this company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

#RIP OFF/SCAM

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ripped off/scam Dec 28, 2017
My mother recently passed away and we filed a claim for a small life insurance policy. The company has been very difficult to deal with and I've received many different versions of what needs to be done. Even after I finally got a packet from them in order for the 4 children to file individual beneficiary affidavits, I was advised by another agent that couldn't be done. Please note it was very difficult to get the original agent to provide the packet anyway. It is interesting to note that even the packet I received with a checklist enclosed was incomplete. We have dealt with 2 other life insurance companies and were pleasantly surprised by their responsiveness and customer service. I have absolutely NO faith that Canada Life will pay the benefits of a life insurance policy that my parents paid on for years. I firmly believe that if they do eventually pay benefits, they will do everything they can to make the process difficult enough that claimants eventually just give up.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unfair

 
(3.0 out of 5 stars)
by A.I.S Dec 08, 2017
I was recently diagnosed with a critical illness and through my work I was covered by Canada Life. I was able to submit my claim which took 2 and half months to complete and to be told it's been declined. This was due to the type of illness I had and I wasn't given any other explanation as to why they don't cover this particular one. When I started to pay this every month, I wasn't sent any documentation at all and didn't know what they covered me for. It seemed like they only wanted to take my money. I will be going to FOS.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

SCAM stay away!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by angry1234 Apr 03, 2017
Total scam! They will sign you up for insurance protection on your Walmart MasterCard without letting the customer know and charge you ridiculous amount every month. When you call them to cancel the plan and ask for a refund, they won't give you a refund! Instead, they threaten you to be careful of the way you talk to them because everything is recorded!!! They don't value their customers and they only want to run away with your money!!! Stay away! This is a SCAM!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disability

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Gigi Mar 18, 2017
This is the worst company I have dealt with. Sent in my claim and they keep on asking me for more details from my doctor. Really don't know why insurance companies keep on given people a hard time when it come time to make a claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Don't care, won't pay.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Upset Feb 19, 2017
Before signing up they will promise you they world, but when time comes to pay they won't part with your money. You will have to wait forever, and they don't want to hear from you at all. If your agent is not going to help you, Canada Life won't either. Once they have your money, nobody cares , you are on your own.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

God helps you!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted Feb 18, 2017
...If you take on a Canada Life policy, you'd make sure you have a good insurance agent, if not Canada Life is not going to help you at all. I have come to realize that my agent is not better than an used car salesperson, promised me the world before taking my money, ensuring me if I cancel within 30 days she would personally refund me the money if Canada Life does not. When I got pressured into signing up for the products with Canada Life, the agent back dated the cheques (totally over $4500), for reason unknown to me, and cheques cashed immediately. When I contacted the agent to cancel the policies the agent delayed on submitting the cancellation request number of times till I demanded confirmation of the cancellation of all policies I took on. I sat quietly for over a month, there was no sign of any refund, I then contacted the agent for the first time inquiring about the refunds. The agent told me she would check with Canada Life, I never heard from after. I texted twice, called and left message once, she ignored me. One morning I found her on the phone unexpectedly, she then told me she had traced the refund, not to worry and it might take a few months but I would 'eventually' get it. The casual careless attitude of the agent upset me. The same day she forwarded me a stream of emails asking her whether I have received my cheques without the agent’s reply. I waited few more days with no feedback after asking to confirm the address where the refund cheques would have been sent to. I then decided to write Canada Life New directly. All I got back was the email from the New Business Associate of the Individual Insurance New Business department telling the financial institute to which my agent belongs to to advise her not to allow the client to contact Canada Life directly. It seems that Canada Life does not care what the agents and financial institutions out there representing them doing to their clients and policy holders. When something goes wrong clients of Canada Life would have nowhere to turn to. They don't care, don't want to be contacted. When they take your money, they want it 2 days ago, when they have to pay or return your money, they don't want to hear from you. If you have anything to do Canada Life, God Helps You!!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

life insurance

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Lorna Jan 26, 2017
Th yet we're very nice and helped me throughout and they paid the life insurance within a month...I would recommend this company
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

I'd rate 0

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by injured Dec 02, 2016
I've held 3 policies over the 12 years I've been with my bank and since I experienced nerve pain and been place off work and waiting for a lengthy drawn out night mare of a discussion I've been told I'm to high risk they are shredding my contract and sending all my premiums back to me. these guys are crooks. I called my branch manager expressed the disgusting product that they are endorsing and that is a bad reflection on their business. We'll see where this goes but this bank has been warned I will pull pin on them after 12 years and working where i work and the elbows i rub this experience will cost both business dearly as because everyone will hear the "peace of mind" that are all lies sold to un-expecting clients.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Canada Life is SCAM!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Alexandre Jun 20, 2016
About 7 years I payed life and health insurance for me and my wife. Canada Life did not pay me any red penny when my wife died, did not pay me when I lost vision on my right eye, did not pay me protection for credit line. This is extremely bad company. I do not advise to anybody pay them any money. Can somebody help me with good lawyer to start claim this company in court?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Canada Life will not pay

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disappointed Jun 28, 2015
I purchased life and disability insurance through RBC home protector and their provider is Canada Life. Last November I had a back injury and I have been of work for almost 7 months now. I applied for the disability insurance I was paying for and thought I had. Once I sent all my medical info regarding my injury to Canada Life, they wanted more info from my family doctor going back 2years from date I purchased the insurance. They found a medication prescribed to me in that 2year period . The medication was for something other than anything they indicated on the application form questions I answered when I applied for the insurance. They declined me coverage for my back injury and cancelled my coverage for disability. I appealed there decision with a letter from my doctor explaining the medication treatment and they still declined me a second time. I took it to a lawyer last week. He said Canada Life is treating me unfairly and that I stand a great chance of settling this in my favor. Problem is he said I could end up paying him more than the coverage I would get back from Canada Life. At least he was honest. More than I can say for this insurance company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Canada Life does not pay

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by anomoysis Feb 11, 2015
Scotia bank sold coverage to us on our mortgage and Credit lines. When my spouse passed away and I submitted my claim Canada Life decided they were only going to pay a portion of the claim. They "averaged" our line 12 months prior to my spouses diagnosis and that's all they would pay. When we spoke to our bank rep who sold this insurance to us they had no idea of this averaging by Canada Life. If the reps at the bank are not updated on the rules and they are the ones pushing this product down their customers throats is the bank not liable for our lose?Canada Life will not return phone calls and have left me with a large loan to pay. I will be forced to hire a lawyer to hopefully get my claim paid. DO NOT ever let the bank talk you into mortgage insurance--go get term from a LICENSED insurance Broker.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

it's ok I guess...

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by alex Nov 13, 2013
My insurance broker offered me both Sun Life and Canada Life's term life policies which were the cheapest for my age and health condition - they would cost nearly the same. I decided to go with Sun Life since I already have my critical illness with them. But I think Canada Life was quite ok as well and the price was good.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

N/A

 
(4.5 out of 5 stars)
by nappo Jun 04, 2012
I am happy with the coverage and protection it offers.No hassels with premiums.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

N/A

 
(2.5 out of 5 stars)
by mollyd Apr 25, 2012
In doing more research I feel our premiums are high.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.