Life Insurance Reviews

Canada Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(70 reviews)
Canada Life
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Awful

by Joseph on Aug 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I had a large medical expense upcoming. It took hours to figure out whether my plan even covered it. It took nearly a month to complete a pre-assessment because they wanted extra documentation and didn't let me know they wanted it; I had to call (and wait 2 hours on the line) and ask why it was taking so long. The pre-assessment was approved. The claim took 3 weeks to process and was denied for reasons I wasn't, at any point, told would be an issue, even when I asked an agent over the phone if it would be an issue. I appealed and it was still denied. I'm considering talking to a lawyer.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

'Customer Service' Wait Times

by Leslie C Layton on Jul 25, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Non-existent.
Waited at least 35 min for a customer service representative then the call was dropped.
A disgraceful way to run a company.
The next general board meeting should be interesting!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst Provider Around

by MichaelThomas85 on Jul 25, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I would rate them less if I could.

Their site experience is garbage. Their pay clarity is not transparent. The site very rarely functions the way it should. They take forever to pay claims. You often have to submit multiple times with the backing of your company's representative just for them to accurately accept the claim.

Trash company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Disability Payments

by newbyone on Jul 4, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

My wife is on long-term disability with Canada Life. She gets her payment on or after the 4th of the month. If, for example, the 3rd is a Friday, she will not get paid until Monday. These guys are the only provider we deal with that does this. I myself am on two private pensions and, if the beginning of the month is on a weekend, I will have my payments by Friday. A couple of times my wife has waited until the 6th or 8th of the month to get paid. When contacted, Canada Life more or less says that we’ll pay you when we want, no matter any bills or other payments one has to deal with in regular life. On another note, my wife has gone through at least 9 or 10 “case managers” in the past two years. Her employer opted to contract this company for benefits, etc. Before retiring I was with another insurer from my employer and they never, ever refused or questioned a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Incompetent agents

by CloudSky on Jun 28, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have never seen such incompetent agents in my life. After we or, the service provider submit a claim, they will ask for documents, which we send and then nothing happens. We call and after a few calls, they will say that they need the documents which we sent already. After a long hold, they will suddenly find that some documents have arrived, but will not be able to see what those are. Then they will process only one claim for a month, but will not process another one and next month they will again ask for the same initial documents that were sent a few times and used for processing. When asked about how the previous month's claim was processed if they do not have the documents in the first place, they will again not answer but process the claim. This goes on every month. I have never dealt with such incompetent agents and inefficient work processes in my life. Compared to Canada Life, dealing with another company is a breeze. We just submit required documents online and it is processed within 2 to 3 business days. If we had the option to leave Canada Life (my wife's insurance) and switch to my insurance, we would do it without hesitation.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Telephone wait times…

by MarH on Jun 28, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Today alone I have called Canada Life a total of six (6) times. Twice after waiting on hold for an hour and a half (1.5 hours) I was disconnected without ever speaking to someone. Their wait times and customer service are absolutely ridiculous. I have never experienced anything quite like it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Worst Company customer service I have ever had.

by Wil Wakileh on Jun 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Had a claim from my dentist. It took 4 months just to answer. My dentist had sent 5 different letters as per request for Canada Life to get more information. Until I had reached out to a Canada Life manager nothing was done
After 3 days the manager calls back. Told me that there is a clause in the policy that prior dentist work with another company does not qualify to use there's. My work company had changed insurance companies.
So really all this is out of my control. And when you call you need to set aside 40 to 1 hour for waiting on hold. Then make sure you ask for a manager. The call center is 3rd party so you're talking to India. Have fun!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unbelievably horrible

by Annoyed customer on Jun 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Everything I have endured with this company has been horrible. I'm a customer with a group benefits plan with my employer, and I would never select this company or recommend them.

They only take phone calls, and no emails, their claims system is old and glitchy. Once you finally speak to someone after waiting up to 1+ hours, they are poorly trained. Processing time takes weeks, they lose your information. Find somewhere else!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Wait times

by Nina Palazzo on May 17, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

Although claiming to process refunds in 2-5 business days, I'm still awaiting one from 2 weeks ago. I also have tried to follow up with no return information to me. This is a common complaint.
If they did at least say process times are 5-14 days, I believe people would be less upset about the wait, as it would have been specified from the beginning.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Calling in while sick

by Jack on May 11, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I called Canada Life after waiting on hold for 25 mins, the agent could not find me in the system and she tried by my name asking me if it’s a new policy I said no. I said this is taking me a lot of effort to call in as I have Covid. She put a recording through saying there is a system error and it hung up on me, making me back call in again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo