Independent Life Insurance Reviews

SSQ Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

(13 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
13,857
consumers
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Zero stars

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by One desperate customer Nov 04, 2019
Terrible company. My young family and I have been uprooted from our home twice now because SSQ has terminated with sufficient medical evidence. We have a 5,4, and 1 year old and we’ve had to now move twice and my doctors are shocked that they will not reinstate ASAP. They’re starving my kids and myself. I choose to have a couple of bites of the price of bread and drink water. I try to make money while physically and mentally disabled.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Avoid SSQ

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DEM Sep 10, 2019
The company was very nice in the beginning, but I never actually received a copy of my insurance policy! I continued paying them for close to three years (as life got busy-my bad), but when I finally did call them to try to figure out why I had not received a policy and what my policy covered exactly- they told me they had no record of me! After arguing with them back and forth for over 24 hours (speaking to at least 5 different people), and eventually showing them proof that they had been taking money from my account for three years, then suddenly were able to find me in their system. When I asked for a copy of my policy, they said I had to pay $50.00. The customer service was awful, and no one could ever give me a straight forward answer. After looking into other policy's I now know their costs are much much higher, and for much less coverage. Do not trust them, I am just thankful I smartened up and looked into this when I did!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Do NOT use this company!!!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by JT1011 Aug 20, 2019
If you want money taken from you - go ahead and use SSQ life insurance. On top of the horrible service from them, I was debited quadruple my monthly amount. They said they sent a letter (via Canada Post) that I never received. After paying on time every month for 10 years, giving them over $10 000.... they refused to give me the $325 back they took from my bank for the renewal. They said I was told 10 years ago that it would be renewed automatically. I feel violated by a company that was supposed to protect me. Please look elsewhere. This company is all about greed.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Ripoff

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Saminbc May 10, 2019
I changed my address and called them, they didn't change the address apparently, and all of a sudden they just take 5 times my monthly premium saying that it is a new plan and that they sent me documents. So without any confirmation, they just take money out of your account. They're thieves, plain and simple. I'm good luck getting any customer service out of them. They are so unhelpful.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Unethical Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disgusted client Feb 19, 2019
I made a $10,000 Critical Illness claim with SSQ over 3 years ago & still have not been paid out! I get the distinct feeling their customer service reps are instructed to stall as long as possible, hoping claimants will pass away before they are paid out. I've contacted them several times, got weak apologies and was made to fill out the same claim forms I did originally to start the process all over. Then I don't hear from them again and have to keep trying to contact my case manager. I'm sure $10,000 is mere pennies to this large company. Shameful! Only used them because I had no choice as it was part of a package provided by my employer. Gave SSQ a one-star rating because that's the minimum - otherwise, I'd give them no stars at all.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

very bad experience!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by shulong Feb 01, 2019
I wanted to cancel my life insurance with them in 2017. They tried to force me to renew my insurance policy with them! After I refused, the got a collecting company to send premium money collecting letter to me. Then I found they put bed personal credit record on me. I am going to take legal action on them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Fake scamming

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steven G Nov 28, 2018
Good luck finding them and jumping through the hoops. This company has written a request to review your policy. After 10 min of personal questions, they need a written request to send you information. I'm sure if you needed to collect, you'd be dead before they paid out. The only reason I gave a star was because there was no place to put a - symbol in front of it
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by adnan Apr 13, 2018
This company is the worst insurance company. The documents you submit take weeks to process and you have to submit all the documentation otherwise they won't approve it. Claim gets denied for no reason and they don't let the insured know. The company will do everything in their power to make sure the insured doesn't get the claim money. No mobile app available. Nobody does direct billing with SSQ.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Premium Increase

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by 500% Nov 22, 2017
I just cancelled my policy with SSQ as I turned 59 years old 2 months ago and saw my premium jump from 41.00 dollars to 210.00 PER MONTH. I phoned them thinking it must be a typo, but was told by a pleasant operator/customer service person, that no, that wasn't an error. Talk about age discrimination, that's a 500% increase, with no other changes in my personal status. Stay away from these people. The one-star rating is entirely due to the pleasant female customer service person I was dealing with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Very unprofessional

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Eb87 Sep 07, 2017
They shared medical information with my employer. They had no reason to call my employer but they did. I'm so mad with both parties but don't have much of a choice unless I quit my job. And to make things worse no one will do direct billing with ssq. No one has even heard of them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not Customer Friendly

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dave Feb 07, 2017
Through our municipal ( county ) government, SSQ is the provider of Accident & Sickness insurance for the rural firefighters. They are very difficult to deal with. Submitted documents take weeks to be processed,and if there is an error or a missing paper, they neglect to inform the claimant. Instead they wait for that person to inquire the reason for delay. Phone contact is usually met with rude, abusive comments. When the claim is finally approved,benefit payments are very erratic in their delivery, (often 2 or 3 months apart) causing great stress for the claimant. Their service is extremely poor, and they are not customer friendly.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

Can't get my investment back

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by radubc Mar 09, 2016
I have a life insurance with capitalization with SSQ and now I want to cancel it. More than a month ago I called them and requested to close my life insurance and have my investment portion refunded. They said that they will email me a form to fill out, but it takes 10 business days. Ok. After 2-3 weeks I called them to ask about the form. They emailed it to me while I was still on the phone. Why took them so long it's anyone's guess. I filled out the form and faxed it to a number they provided. I was told that it takes minimum 10 business days to get my money back. Yes, that's right, minimum, there is no maximum. It could be 11 days or 10 billion years. Anyway, after two more weeks, I called them again. They said that they have not received my fax. I sent them the forms again by fax and email, including the fax reports showing that the fax went through twice. Again, they have not received them. I have an emailed confirmation from them, but they still haven't received my email. It takes 48 hours for them to receive an email. This is not it, anyway. They are still saying that they need minimum 10 business days. They count from today, or maybe 48 hours from today, who knows, whatever they please. Do yourself a favor and don't deal with them. There must be other alternatives on the market.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Total scam attempt

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Not a Fool for this Scam Feb 20, 2016
Suspected faulty equipment with "abnormal" results according to their in-house examiners yet Family Physician saw NOTHING abnormal in results and certified the same and SSQ in house refused to pay for new tests and then rated at 250% because no new tests completed .... refused to answer emails - complete gong show - would never ever ever sign on to a company so incompetent with something as crucial as life insurance. Beware the "abnormal" results line .... it's a clear scam to charge you 250% more per year.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.