Life Insurance Reviews

SSQ Insurance Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(12 reviews)
SSQ Insurance
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Incompetence. Do not care.

by Helens on Feb 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible company. Have caused me nothing but stress! I had a massage on 10 January with an RMT who has his own clinic. They say they do not recognize him. I have supplied a receipt from him, proof of transfer and he has emailed them twice with his credentials. Each time I speak with them I have to go back to the beginning because they don’t know what I’m talking about. I’m going to report them to the insurance ombudsman for their total lack of competence.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Trust me

by Unhappy on May 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Here is my story: I contacted the company a few days after my father’s passing to inquire whether his insurance policy would allow me to temporarily drive his car within another province. After being on hold for 30 minutes, the representative advises that she enacted “avenant 28”, an insurance clause in Quebec which essentially means that I will no longer be covered under my father’s insurance policy regardless of the province in which the vehicle is being driven. Where my intent was simply to confirm that I was being compliant, by asking those very questions I was deemed to be too “high risk”. As a result, I am now unable to even drive to the store to run errands for my newly widowed mother.
One thing is for sure: Do not believe for one second that SSQ cares about its clients.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Disconnections are the norm

by Brenda Quinlan on Mar 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

4 weeks for a quote for the existing policyholder. The antiquated misogynistic practice of forcing women to identify as married or not ( Mrs only option) in a complaint form!!!
Disconnected so many times and no callback. Service is reprehensible when they are looking for new business, can't even imagine the horror if you need to make a claim.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Are negative stars an option?

by Kirsten on Aug 18, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I saw another review that stated that it seems like customer service is instructed to stall for as long as possible - in my experiences with SSQ I would not credit malice where incompetence is clearly a factor. Complaints staff are poorly trained, give overwhelmingly conflicting information regarding documents that are needed (to the point that they directly speak against the wording of official documentation given out by the company), and there's no accountability. They are loath to follow up with actual written instruction, and I've only been able to catch them in lies by consulting my own notes that I've started writing after every horrible interaction with them. Avoid! I am lucky that I've got enough time, energy and spite (mostly) to call them out on their bull and get my due, but for those who are poorer health and don't have the luxury of time or desperate need for vengeance, I suggest you stay away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Avoid SSQ

by DEM on Sep 10, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

The company was very nice in the beginning, but I never actually received a copy of my insurance policy! I continued paying them for close to three years (as life got busy-my bad), but when I finally did call them to try to figure out why I had not received a policy and what my policy covered exactly- they told me they had no record of me! After arguing with them back and forth for over 24 hours (speaking to at least 5 different people), and eventually showing them proof that they had been taking money from my account for three years, then suddenly were able to find me in their system.
When I asked for a copy of my policy, they said I had to pay $50.00. The customer service was awful, and no one could ever give me a straight forward answer. After looking into other policy's I now know their costs are much much higher, and for much less coverage.
Do not trust them, I am just thankful I smartened up and looked into this when I did!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

very bad experience!

by shulonghe@gmail.com on Feb 1, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I wanted to cancel my life insurance with them in 2017. They tried to force me to renew my insurance policy with them! After I refused, the got a collecting company to send premium money collecting letter to me. Then I found they put bed personal credit record on me. I am going to take legal action on them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

Fake scamming

by Steven Green on Nov 28, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Good luck finding them and jumping through the hoops. This company has written a request to review your policy. After 10 min of personal questions, they need a written request to send you information. I'm sure if you needed to collect, you'd be dead before they paid out. The only reason I gave a star was because there was no place to put a - symbol in front of it

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Can't get my investment back

by radubc on Mar 9, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

I have a life insurance with capitalization with SSQ and now I want to cancel it. More than a month ago I called them and requested to close my life insurance and have my investment portion refunded. They said that they will email me a form to fill out, but it takes 10 business days. Ok. After 2-3 weeks I called them to ask about the form. They emailed it to me while I was still on the phone. Why took them so long it's anyone's guess. I filled out the form and faxed it to a number they provided. I was told that it takes minimum 10 business days to get my money back. Yes, that's right, minimum, there is no maximum. It could be 11 days or 10 billion years. Anyway, after two more weeks, I called them again. They said that they have not received my fax. I sent them the forms again by fax and email, including the fax reports showing that the fax went through twice. Again, they have not received them. I have an emailed confirmation from them, but they still haven't received my email. It takes 48 hours for them to receive an email. This is not it, anyway. They are still saying that they need minimum 10 business days. They count from today, or maybe 48 hours from today, who knows, whatever they please.

Do yourself a favor and don't deal with them. There must be other alternatives on the market.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo