Group Benefits Reviews

Sun Life Group Benefits Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(73 reviews)
Sun Life
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Should be an option for ZERO

by JCrann on Jun 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Where to start, we've had so many issues with Sun Life is unreal. Back in December, I needed a stretching device for after my wrist surgery, it is very costly at 1500 a month but with my benefits, it covered up to 5000 for life. We did a pre-estimate and were approved for 3 months. We did the application and got approved there as well. When I got the device, the first month was no problem, they paid in full, but the second month they paid 56, third month, they paid nothing. They made a bunch of excuses, said that they should of paid the first month, it is not covered blah blah, wouldn't even re-read their own estimates and pre-approvals that they sent me! I eventually gave up. Just recently our benefits from 1500 to 1800 lifetime for Ortho so after maxing out 1500 for one child, I tried to process this months braces payment, denied. That claim was ongoing before the raise in amounts so it is not covered. It was covered by another company no questions asked.

AVOID Sun Life

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Quick dental claim payment

by alex on Mar 22, 2021
5 out of 5 stars

Last week I finally went to a dentist to do a full check-up and to fix one filling as I tried to stay away from going to a doctor throughout the pandemic. Everything worked out very well - I had enough coverage for all services and did not have to pay anything - my dentist billed Sun Life directly. In a couple days I saw my claim online as paid - I found it to be quite smooth and convenient. I also liked the fact that I can see online not only my benefits with my employer but also my Life Insurance and Critical Illness insurance policies.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worthless service

by Rav on Mar 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Not a good service for investment funds, their actively managed product have returned in negative. Think twice before putting your hard-earned money in their hands. Also, on top of this, the customer service agents will give different answers every time you contact them.

Not satisfied at all.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor Business

by Currency Is Not Money on Mar 1, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This company clearly does not value their customers. I had to jump through hoops to find out my options for benefits, RRSP, etc after being laid off. After getting through to representatives and being assured that my problems were solved, I followed up days or weeks later to find out they weren't. I've resorted to only contacting Sun Life through their online chat so I can document our conversations at this point. Their wait times are reflective of poor customer service. This company doesn't care about your time. They will sacrifice poor service hoping that you get complacent and leave your funds where they are so they can keep making money off of you. Take the responsibility to manage your own currency and investments to save yourself a piece of mind. I'm closing my accounts with Sun Life and truly hope they improve. Their true colours will shine when the depression catches up to the economy in the near future. I feel for those relying on retirement funds from Sun Life - get out now.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Disability is a scam

by sunscam on May 14, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

After having a disability with my company the Sun Life agent told me I could carry it on after employment but never explained to me that the coverage changed to something different. I was expected to know their insurance naming scheme and I ended up with critical illness insurance at triple the cost it should have been. Once I was ill and could not work I found out that my 9 years of insurance premiums amounted to nothing and it was just a scam. Do not do business with them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Getting SCREWED by SUN LIFE

by termanilly angry on May 8, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Getting screwed by Sun Life! I have diagnosed with stage 2-3 Cirrhosis of the liver, I decided to use my coverage through my bank which is 100% coverage for illness and death. Now I am being told (after I renewed my mortgage a month ago) that I now have 63% coverage for death and 80% for my monthly mortgage. How the hell is that legal?! When I went in and got the insurance I was never told - "So, would you like full 63% coverage?" No, it for 100%! Now they are trying to reduce my coverage, I might as well be on EI! Do they do this during the Quarantine? I am being forced back to work when it is extremely bad for me and a weakened immune system to be anywhere especially to have to go back to work. Has anyone had ANY success fighting these crooks???

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Always have issues

by Manulifelover on Mar 17, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Since I got a new employer, I had to switch to Sun Life. I have had nothing but huge problems with them. After months of paying for a family plan, my fiancé had dental work done only to find out we had to pay all money out of pocket because Sun Life was saying that we were not covered. After many many calls with them, they finally saw that we were in fact covered and had been this whole time. Fast forward 5 months later and we still have not been refunded the money. They are now trying to claim that they paid us out. Incredibly rude cutting me off when I tried to explain what had happened. They do not listen, do not refund or properly cover you for multiple claims. I will be cancelling my coverage and will never deal with them again. I will go back to my previous insurance company which is wonderful, respectful and I never have issues with. Sun Life, maybe you should treat you clients with respect as we pay for the seats you sit in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

stressful (Disability)

by jordan.b on Mar 13, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Okay. Let's get things straight here, I would give a 0/5 for Sun Life in the disability sector. 3/5 to the group benefits. I have been off work due to what I have found out is bad ADHD and a myriad of anxiety disorders that I have been dealing with my whole life, and things have started to go extremely bad aka, almost suicide... I have been doing my due diligence with going to my appointments etc. waiting. Going to more appointments. Until I have finally gotten to see my psychiatrist today. When I first applied and got accepted for my disability claim. It took 3 weeks to get anything done. It took two weeks for my case manager to get a hold of me and confirm. Then after that. It took a week for my claim amount and dates to process. Then somehow a whole week to mail me a check... second time I applied for an extension. It took another 3 weeks to get any money. It is extremely difficult to get a hold of any case manager. As for some reason they aren't actually ever in their office. Why? I do not know. This is a benefits company. You are supposed to be helping people who are disabled or in need of help. These people need quick service. Not a lot of people have a whole months worth of savings to back themselves on to these days. May I mention, we also pay into this. So it is basically our money, to begin with, okay? So I have been diagnosed with bad ADHD and three other anxiety disorders along with a stress disorder. So my fiance and I were not able to pay rent due to 3-week delays, which happened twice now. I have been evaluated and strictly told to take 3 months off work for new medication and a strict plan ordered by the psychiatrist. I have left 4 messages in the last 3 days trying to get a hold of a case manager, to avoid the previous almost month-long delays. It is absolutely ridiculous, unprofessional and stressful. Sun Life financial should be stripped of their licenses and removed from the insurance business. People need money when they are not working. Unbelievably horrible service from this company and I am appalled my company uses them for their insurance and benefits. I could go on all day about the bad experiences I've had with Sun Life. But this will have to do. If someone high up in Sun Life reads this on some off chance. There needs to be some changes

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Medical insurance

by cloudbase on Feb 27, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

The company I was working for closed the business and all employees made redundant. This was in August 2018. Despite the claim being made in July 2018, the first contact to advise that no payment would be made was the end of February 2019! Denial of claim, then numerous calls and it took three calls to the call centre (offshore of course), and 10 days to get a call to advise no payment. Awful service! I was advised that as of mid-July 2018, due to administrative issues, all claims had been suspended. Why so long and so many calls/faxes/online claims to get the answer? 7 months is astoundingly poor service!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

WORST. EVER!!!

by Kevin on Dec 28, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I had Sun Life insurance provided through my employer. I was off work due to an ongoing and debilitating degenerative back. After being on long-term disability for a term, I was still deemed disabled by my doctors. Sun Life disagreed and said I was capable of doing SOMETHING. I had only ever been an equipment operator, so I had no other marketable skills. Sun Life in their infinite wisdom put me through a Microsoft office crash course and said I now had skills to be employed elsewhere. Despite my arguments that I was typing at 15wpm and had the most basic of understanding of computers, they stuck to their guns and discontinued my benefits. I hope they all have to go through bankruptcy like I did because of this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics