Credit Card Reviews

Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(190 reviews)
Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Looking for the best Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author
Clear all

MEDIOCRE CARD AND LIMIT

by PEBS88888 on Aug 20, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

The year I got this card. I had earned $181k. They gave me a credit limit of $4500. Every last card I had was $10k-40k cards. Yet I only asked for $10k minimum. So that I can keep my utilization low. My typical spend at Costco is $550-800 for a Costco run. And online can usually be $1k items.

I have an 836 score STEADY that doesn’t go up. Or down. As my monthly spending is really steady and I pay cards all on the 18TH of every month for all bills.

Anyways. They said to have it a year and then ask. That was 2018 to now. Yep. In recent 2021 I asked again. Still NOPE.

Then Costco decided to do something amazing. They switch to CIBC. For those of you who hate CIBC. I can say this: CIBC TOOK MY COSTCO CREDIT CARD OUT OF THE CAVEMAN ERA as I don’t know how many times I’ve asked Capital One to please accept Apple Pay. Who even carries cards anymore???

The first thing I did. Was activate Apple Pay. The second thing? I asked CIBC for a limit increase of $1500 and was instantly approved. Seriously? You are begging for years. For a few k increase on a card you’ve had for years….. makes you wonder. Where capital one’s priorities are.

Every time you ask them. They will say. USE IT MORE AND WE WILL RAISE THE LIMIT…. HOW ABOUT YOU RAISE IT THEN I WILL USE IT MORE?? I’m not ruining my credit score. By impacting my utilization score. What a joke. My utilization on $141k of credit card limits. Is 1-3%! I don’t play the 30-35% game.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst credit card to have

by Alexandrine kelley on May 2, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

Thank you, Costco for changing your credit card from Capital One to CIBC. I have been trying to get my statements from January for 2 months now! I can’t get a hold of customer service for less than 2 hours waiting on the phone and no one is able to help me!
Today I decided to try again and I’m at 3 hours and 20 minutes waiting so far!!!!
I was trying to save paper by doing online banking but now we can’t access our accounts.
This is so wrong!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Credit limit is an insult!

by Gary W on Nov 27, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

I'm in the top 10% when it comes to my credit rating and my other credit cards have limits up to 10 times over the $2,000 that Citibank established. I've had the card for about 11 months now, use it for everything and the limit has remained the same. When I phoned to increase the limit I was told "they" could not do it and it was up to Citibank. It was explained that after several months they normally offer a credit limit increase. NOT! On average, I paid several times between statement dates to keep below their limit. What a pain trying to keep track. I like the card benefits so looking forward to Costco changing to another bank. Citibank's poor service and lack of attention to customer need warrants it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Gross service

by Ian on Aug 7, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

Terrible service! Froze my account without notification. Called Capital One after they declined my annual Wyze subscription, answered all their 'account authentication' questions and then I requested the purchase to be permitted. After being with them for over a decade the security team first demanded I submit a Government ID for their security team's scrutiny because the annual subscription to Wyze cameras was deemed a 'high risk' transaction???
Now my card is inaccessible, my account login is restricted. Thanks, Capital One, stellar job.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Extremely Restrictive!

by Martin M on Mar 25, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

I have hundreds of thousands of dollars in the bank and a spotless credit rating my entire life, yet they insist that I can only get a $2,000 Credit on the card for the first year! I have automated payments and the monthly balance is paid in full every month like clockwork (except when they withdrew the payment twice!!). Looks like I will have to cancel this card so that I won't be restricted or embarrassed when I reach my limit EVERY month!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service

by larry on Feb 23, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

Tried multiple times to raise a credit limit, no luck. Takes way too long to mail new cards out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worse customer service

by mina on Nov 21, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

There is a philipino lady with broken English, closed my account without telling me. She says will open for me it take 2 days, now been a month cannot use my card. Called again they says I have to go Costco again. Very unprofessional customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Only for its great cash back

by Vanessa on Aug 31, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

I got my card blocked 3 times within a couple months for supposedly fraudulent transactions. Every time I had to call wait for the agent, answer all the security questions + transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got transferred to the security centre and restart the process again security questions, transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got my card unblocked. The best waiting time was 50 mins, the worst was over 2h 30 minutes and I was at the cashier of Costco. I did an official complaint at Costco customer service about Capital One the same day. I can tell you Costco cares. This problem seems to be resolved as I receive now an email asking if I recognize the possibly fraudulent transactions and I can respond by email without anything else to do. Like many other reviewers, I also got refused for a higher credit limit despite I always pay the whole amount of my statement account every month in time. I'm using this card primarily for daily expenses because of the great cashback also for the no annual fee. I have other credit cards with much higher limit as a back up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Safety measures

by safety@nationaltrans.ca on Jun 14, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

Regardless of PIN, photo and other crazy measures to log in it will be you who pays for fraud transaction. Oh yes! Before you pay that fraud, be ready to be a ping-pong ball between Capital One "safety department" agents.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Credit limit department

by tocecil on Mar 31, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

As much of the feedback here is poor credit limit, I have the same issue. Was trying to book a vacation package. I would pay cash but due to travel insurance and a requirement to book with a credit card, I am limited. Yeah, I agree with most of the comments here, dump Capital One MC. Costco, I like your staff, product offerings and service but you should choose your partner wisely. Take this feedback at face value if you value customer feedback.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo