Credit Card Reviews

Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(186 reviews)
Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Worst credit card to have

by Alexandrine kelley on May 2, 2022
2.5 out of 5 stars

Thank you, Costco for changing your credit card from Capital One to CIBC. I have been trying to get my statements from January for 2 months now! I can’t get a hold of customer service for less than 2 hours waiting on the phone and no one is able to help me!
Today I decided to try again and I’m at 3 hours and 20 minutes waiting so far!!!!
I was trying to save paper by doing online banking but now we can’t access our accounts.
This is so wrong!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

So glad CIBC took over, great call Costco

by Gary on Mar 26, 2022
1.3 out of 5 stars

After one invoice and without prompting, CIBC increased my credit level by 50%. They must have noted a payment was made before a statement was even issued. I've had to do this so I would not go over the ridiculously low level set by Citibank. It's still not at the higher level that I want it to be, but what a relief after a year of Citibank doing nothing on this...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Card paused?

by Ken on Mar 4, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I unknowingly had my Capital One credit card "paused". My card is always up to date, and have never made a late payment. However since my address is a PO Box, they decided after years of mailing my bill, to pause my credit card. Everyone knows how I found out! Apparently, they require a physical address. After spending 45 minutes on the phone they were unable to rectify the issue and told me that someone would contact me soon to have this resolved... Still waiting.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Credit limit is an insult!

by Gary W on Nov 27, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

I'm in the top 10% when it comes to my credit rating and my other credit cards have limits up to 10 times over the $2,000 that Citibank established. I've had the card for about 11 months now, use it for everything and the limit has remained the same. When I phoned to increase the limit I was told "they" could not do it and it was up to Citibank. It was explained that after several months they normally offer a credit limit increase. NOT! On average, I paid several times between statement dates to keep below their limit. What a pain trying to keep track. I like the card benefits so looking forward to Costco changing to another bank. Citibank's poor service and lack of attention to customer need warrants it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Cash back reward

by Kadiatu Conteh on Nov 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I am so disappointed with the Costco Capital One credit card. They claim to send me my cashback money but I didn’t receive it and they refused to reimburse me because they said it was EXPIRED. This is the biggest scam I have ever seen from a huge company like them and I will NEVER again use their card or do business with anything that carried their name.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible Customer Service

by Caleb on Nov 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I called to request a credit increase as I intended to make a large purchase (book a vacation). Got an automated system that said there were no offers at this time and calling a live person would not help. Anyway, I called a live representative to request how I could request an increase or what the process was. I was told I had to wait for an automated offer. I asked if there was any way for me to make this purchase and was told maybe I should use my visa. For your information, I have zero credit issues, my limit request would not be a concern.
I guess now we know what Capital One will no longer be the credit card company for Costco in Canada.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

CREDIT LIMIT IS SET LOW

by Mike K on Nov 14, 2021
3 out of 5 stars

The Card does offer Costco cashback, which is the only reason I applied for this Card. However, the Credit Limit is set ridiculously low. I had several previous Cards with Credit Limits set at $20,000. The credit limit was set at $2000. I have an EXCELLENT Credit score, and have had this Card for over a year, and have never defaulted or been late with a payment. I have inquired several times about having the Limit raised, only to be told by their Customer Service (which is horrible by the way), that I will be given a Credit increase "when I am eligible". I asked what the eligibility requirements were, and was told that was up to Capital One??? So, I have never received a reason why. It's unfortunate, as I easily exceed $2000 per month.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer service

by Shadow fyr on Nov 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever experienced in my life.
I accidentally overpaid by$1050.00 dollars. Trying to get a refund led to a pack of lies from each different person I spoke to from customer service. My bank sent 3 requests for a refund but they never got a response to their request for a refund of the overpayment.
This card has high interest with low credit limits
They treat their cardholders like Garbage when they need assistance.
My warning is to stay far far away from all Capital One credit cards. They are absolutely the worst all-around credit card company. I'm happy to hear Costco is cutting their ties to this horrible company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Rip off! Be careful!

by Sparkle on Oct 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I was not an executive Costco member so I just signed up for a Capital One Costco card to get the cashback on the Capital One Mastercard. 1.5 years down the line I cancelled my Costco membership and hence had to close CapitalOne Mastercard and I was read a disclosure that says that I have to give up all my cashback reward money and close the account. Meaning all that cashback I earned overtime was for nothing! I got zero money through 1.5 years of accumulated cashback. I feel cheated. Pls, be aware of this.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Seems unethical

by Very disturbed by this company on Sep 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I think Capital One may be an unethical company. If you try to cancel your credit card you will have to forfeit any of the benefits you have earned. They also say that they will continue to let any pre-authorized payments continue to be charged to your card. If you have forgotten any annual pre-authorized payments these expenses along with interest may continue to grow on your card without your awareness because you don't get a paper bill and why would you check the balance of a credit card you believe is cancelled. Some authorities should look into this credit card company's practices. I insisted that they no longer had my permission to make any payments on my behalf. I almost want to test whether they will honour the fact that I withdrew my consent.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo