Credit Card Reviews

Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(190 reviews)
Capital One Platinum Costco MASTERCARD
1.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Capital One help the scammer

by Guang-zhe Xu on Aug 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I got a scam and reported it in 5 minutes, but a Capital One customer said I have to pay even they know it is a scam as long as scammers had my information.
So, be careful using your Capital One credit card, they are really helping the scammers, not you.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Gross service

by Ian on Aug 7, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

Terrible service! Froze my account without notification. Called Capital One after they declined my annual Wyze subscription, answered all their 'account authentication' questions and then I requested the purchase to be permitted. After being with them for over a decade the security team first demanded I submit a Government ID for their security team's scrutiny because the annual subscription to Wyze cameras was deemed a 'high risk' transaction???
Now my card is inaccessible, my account login is restricted. Thanks, Capital One, stellar job.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst credit card ever!

by Worst credit card! on Jan 21, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Worst credit card ever! Informed them we were going on holiday on a “shopping trip” in the USA. They ended up blocking our cards due to “suspicious” charges in the USA. We had to call them 6 x within 2 days to confirm all the security questions and ask them to unblock our cards as we are on a “shopping trip”. Every time we called, we had to confirm who we were and pass all the security questions. They would unblock it for one purchase at a time. Told them again and again, that we are on holiday for four days. The next day thinking everything was ok, we went shopping and guess what happened? They blocked us again! What's wrong with Costco Master Card? So, of course, we were furious, who wants to spend hours on the phone while on your holiday, having to call them before each purchase! They kept on saying these outlets have a lot of fraudulent credit cards... And they flag these specific outlets. I get it, but we have confirmed who we are and can't call them every single time we want to buy something... We are cancelling our horrible Costco Master Cards. I have never had such a horrible experience with a credit card company. The employees were not helpful at all. Obviously not trained properly either.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

lack of Customer Service

by MitchD on Nov 13, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Every time I call for an issue it never gets resolved. The customer service department is not trained or knowledgeable about the business, they only read off a script and say sorry. Last time I called asking to cancel a transaction (fraudulent) I was told I have to wait 15 days while the company I wanted to purchase from has my Credit Card info. With another card, all I have to do is text them and it's done! Horrible service. This Credit Card gets cancelled.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Only for its great cash back

by Vanessa on Aug 31, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

I got my card blocked 3 times within a couple months for supposedly fraudulent transactions. Every time I had to call wait for the agent, answer all the security questions + transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got transferred to the security centre and restart the process again security questions, transactions one by one for the last 7 days, then got my card unblocked. The best waiting time was 50 mins, the worst was over 2h 30 minutes and I was at the cashier of Costco. I did an official complaint at Costco customer service about Capital One the same day. I can tell you Costco cares. This problem seems to be resolved as I receive now an email asking if I recognize the possibly fraudulent transactions and I can respond by email without anything else to do. Like many other reviewers, I also got refused for a higher credit limit despite I always pay the whole amount of my statement account every month in time. I'm using this card primarily for daily expenses because of the great cashback also for the no annual fee. I have other credit cards with much higher limit as a back up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Safety measures

by safety@nationaltrans.ca on Jun 14, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

Regardless of PIN, photo and other crazy measures to log in it will be you who pays for fraud transaction. Oh yes! Before you pay that fraud, be ready to be a ping-pong ball between Capital One "safety department" agents.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Poor customer & online service

by Bates on Feb 9, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Hi there, my experience with Costco capital one card is not good. This started when they upgraded the online banking and I lost all my online login info. Attempting to log in several times using my old acct info w/o any prompts or notification that the online upgrade is happening. Finally, when I figured it out, lots of info was not available to config or setup. I called customer service but they weren't able to give me any good concrete solution (I was trying to update user name). They asked me to try again later that the system is perhaps not working. I find the poor customer communication that the online upgrade is happening is my first poor experience. Talking to the call center, the agent wasn't trained up or given the right info was the other thing. Finally, when I was trying to use it to skip the dish, the card payment failed. Tried several times w/o luck. Finally, had to call the restaurant to make the order. Next day I find out can't use the card and so had to call the call center. The customer service was rude and was not helpful. She asked verification questions many times. CS seemed like didn't want to help me. Again they gave me a bunch of scripted vague answers that leave me feeling they didn't want my business. If it was not the Costco aspect (ID on the back of the card), I will cancel this card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service...

by Vaughanica on Jan 15, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

After reading the reviews on the page, I can see I am not the only one this has happened to. Same deal re: vacation. They blocked me due to ‘fraudulent’ speculation. Told me that it is unblocked. Tried again ‘denied’ - called back and the guy that answered the phone said his system was slow that he will forward me to another rep. I said I hope you not going to put me on hold again. He assured me I would get to speak to another rep after getting forwarded. As you can assume I was redirected back into the queue. Great! So waiting again and got another rep who said that she will update my info i.e.: phone number so this would help - I tried and again denied. Then she said that it isn’t her side, it must be the website or airline that's blocking me. I said that why would they block me, it is Capital ONE that is saying something is wrong, not the website. Tried the next day and same deal: can't make a purchase, tried another Credit Card and bam - it had no issues whatsoever. Don’t bother with the cash back rewards - better not wasting your energy and time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor+inconvenient card/service

by Poorcompetitor on Nov 7, 2018
2 out of 5 stars

Every week the card would stop working for security issues. Customer service was quick to connect to. But useless help. They would tell me to call back because their system is not working. They told me if I cancel, I'm banned for life...great, done deal. I only used the card for 2 months and realized the other cards I've been using for 10 years rarely had issues. If issues occurred, I would be provided good customer service and resolution. Don't waste your time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

replacement card

by nocreditcard on Oct 3, 2018
3 out of 5 stars

My Costco Capital One credit card was compromised and it was thus cancelled. I was told my replacement would take 7 - 10 days. It didn't arrive. Now I am told that it is 7 - 10 BUSINESS days AFTER the replacement is processed and in the mail. I might end up waiting for over 2 -21/2 weeks for the new card. A number of monthly bills are paid through this card and I am now getting emails re: cancellation of services etc. due to non-payment. My previous credit cards were rushed to me by mail or could be picked up quickly at the local bank or store. I never have had this problem before. I talked to Costco Customer Service about this and was amazed at the response I got. I was advised to have other backup credit cards, even to pay bills that automatically come out of my card with such cards. Sure, change all your card information for one payment!!! I was also told I could pay through my bank. I had to remind my Costco official that I did not have a new credit card number. AND, if I paid through my bank, the money would come out of my bank account, not my credit card. Bottom line was that I was told not to rely on a Costco credit card, but to use others too. Well, I might as well convert to one that I can manage locally. Thanks, Costco, for the advice!!! Looking at all these complaints makes me wonder if Costco doesn't stand behind their card, why should their customers???

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo