Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(254 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

STAY AWAY!

by lcwm on Oct 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Every time when I use it for online shopping by choosing this card being asked way too many questions to verify and still got blocked or failed for the purchase. After called finally have it done purchased 2 smartphones with all my expenses in the bill around 4000+ THE NIGHTMARE! After the first month starts they send my balance to the report card center before the due day of my bill and caused my credit score dropped 14 points!!! I will never use this card again! I also STAY AWAY WALMART STORE due to the self-checkout doesn't support pay pass or google pay in the year of 2020! I mean come on, Walmart!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

STAY AWAY

by SK on Oct 16, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I went for the scam to save $25 on my purchase worst mistake in a long long time. I had no intention of activating this card thought not a bad idea to have it in case I ever need it. I have over an 800 credit rating and currently have a Visa and Mastercard from other banks. I bought a bbq at Walmart and scammed into the $25 off on the purchase. As soon as I got the statement I mailed a cheque for the full amount. My phone started ringing 1888 numbers 4-5 times every day the people phoning me were from somewhere in the world but could not be understood so I started ignoring these calls thinking they just wanted me to activate the card. 2 days ago I received another statement saying I was in arrears and they started adding interest. I phoned their customer service line about taking 1 hour and explained all and they said they never received the cheque and they would be sending it to collections soon then he told me that they don't accept cheques on the invoice it says make your cheque payable to... I told him this and he said he had to transfer me to a higher level of customer service back on hold for 45 minutes the next person I could only describe as possibly a french east Indian who was impossible to understand. I gave up all together about 2.5 hours later. I phoned the Walmart store and talked to the manager she said this is all a common story I cancelled my cheque costing me $13 and with another $6 interest charge I have no choice but to go to the store and pay it to save my plus 800 credit rating. The cheque has not been cashed. For your own peace of mind STAY AWAY DO NOY BITE NOTHING BUT A HUGE SCAM shame on Walmart and shame on Mastercard I learned a valuable lesson STAY AWAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN! It would only let me give 1 star I would rate them at least a MINUS 10

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Mastercard

by Mad Customer on Oct 2, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

ZERO OUT OF 5!!! This is the most terrible experience I've ever had with credit cards. I called their customer service number to close my Walmart Mastercard but someone convinced me not to close it instead avail of balance transfer promo which I can pay it for 6 months (installment/divided equally). I said ok I will get it to make an easy equal monthly installment payment for 6 months. They said they will send me cheques which I can fill up for 4,400. I did fill the cheques, deposit to our account then after clearing I fully paid one of my visa cards. When I received the 1st statement which includes this balance transfer thing, it says my outstanding balance is my recent expenses + total balance transfer that I borrowed. What did I divide the B transfer promo to 6 months and added my recent purchases and paid that? When I received the next statement they charged me a huge amount for both purchase interest & cash interest. I called them why and they said I did not fully pay all the balance in my account. They said including the balance transfer. OMG! I was advised to pay it for 6 equal monthly payment & now they charged me with purchase & cash interests which not supposed to be. I paid huge interest for this non-sense, not helpful company I can say greedy. Will close this card soon after I fully paid this company full of lies!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Don’t buy or get credit card Walmart

by Mikesfeir01@hotmail.com on Jul 8, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Be aware they will give you the wrong information!
My credit was 2000.
I want to buy a voyage that cost 3000 and the agent tells me to make a payment of 1800 which will allow them to have the extra money and they will apply it to buy the ticket.
The money comes in and I have 3800.
The surprise is they will not use this 1800 they will keep it on the side and when you need to pay a payment on your credit card they apply it for payment so the money 1800 I paid I can’t use and will be only for payment so now I am financing Walmart also they will not pay back the money or return it.
Don’t use this credit card company or Walmart
I have filed a complaint with the Bureau de cunsomateur Quebec they say they can’t do that
So we are waiting...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

WORST credit card to have

by Alyssa on Jul 7, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Bunch of scammers!
They continue to add an over-limit fee when I'm not over and refuse to waive it.
Worst customer service representatives, they do not actually assist - it's all scripted responses.
HIGH interest rates.
Save yourself the hassle!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible credit card to have

by Cheryl B Allen on Oct 21, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Walmart Master Card is the worst credit card to have. Do not apply for it unless you like harassment while paying on your account. The constant phone calls and text messages are actual harassment. As they give your info to several different callers. You make your monthly payment every month. But if you are a day late you are harassed. I am not exaggerating! I have had up to 7 calls a day for 30 days until the next billing cycle. I have had to block them and then they call from different numbers. I have never missed a month's payment. But they tell me it's because I did not quite make the payment by the exact date.
And they are hard cards to cancel!
Don't get started!
I don't write many reviews. But I tell ya I am warning you it does not matter if you have good credit. They will kill your credit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Unreliable credit card

by consumer on Oct 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

3 different vendors paid monthly by Walmart credit card was declined and as a result, incurred insufficient funds charges. Called Walmart and was told all the vendors entered the expiry date as 2021, which is a lie as one of the vendors was my insurance which is computerized. Don't use Walmart to pay important bills. Insurance now takes 2 months in advance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Walmart Masterсard favours a false claim by EDreams

by Margaret on Oct 2, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I spent 5 months, and 6 phone calls to dispute a charge. I had provided evidence that a booking was cancelled within 5 hours of booking, on the webpage and via email. The E dreams website claimed free cancellation within 24 hours.
Often times I had to Re explain the dispute. After finally getting the charge reversed, I asked for another card #. After 2 months, I used my Walmart card again. Within a week of using the Walmart card, they put through the charge of $718.23 from e dreams again.
On speaking to their security team, they claimed e dreams said I didn’t communicate to e dreams. I provided evidence of email confirmation that I had requested the cancellation.
Customer service is very disappointing. Don’t get tempted by their rebates.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Paid product not received, no refund, interest charged. Shoppers Beware...

by Belinda1960 on Sep 19, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Customer service reps were friendly... but not helpful. I ordered a couple of items online, one of which was not delivered. I received an email saying that the item was delivered. The next day, I received another notice saying the item was cancelled. I contacted customer service four times and was finally told the item had been refunded to my Walmart Mastercard, but when I received the CC statement, there was no refund. However, the original charge was on the statement. So I paid the bill, minus the $26.22 that was supposed to have been refunded. I've just received the next month's bill - still no refund, and they charged me to purchase the interest of $16.20. If you don't pay the entire amount due, they will charge you interest on the entire balance, not just what was unpaid. The end result is 1) no product 2) no refund 3) interest charged on amounts paid 4) a lot of time wasted waiting to tell the same story to customer service I used to love shopping at Walmart but now would never recommend buying anything online or applying for a Walmart Rewards Mastercard to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Several times not been successful to reach someone who can understand my problem.

by Joyco on Sep 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I can not locate a master card service person to resolve this issue.
I called too many times and was so annoying. I’ve had it. I Can't even reach one to cancel.
I recently billed in the mail today it was anger all over again.
They actually tell me I didn’t pay. Ending up paying twice with all the text messages and emails they interrupted my day with.
The bill says I didn’t pay on time and only recorded 25$ which was the second payment.
However, the first payment for the same month was 200$.
No note to represent my payment. Went online and checked my bank and all went through.
The thing is I do not have the time or the patients to deal with overseas contact.
It doesn’t work.
Unable to contact an agent in Canada.
I will not be doing any service that doesn’t provide proper service.
I would rather pay for service.
Very very done. I don’t need it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics