Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Horrible customer service I have ever faced

by Bhanu on Nov 22, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

There was some promotional mail regarding earning $25 in rewards after spending $250 in a given date range (Sep to Oct). We spent this $250 as per the terms and conditions and still didn't get the rewards for it.
I called customer care on 11/22/23 at around 4 PM EST and all that she repeated throughout the conversation was "We don't have this offer now. We have different offer now in Nov, 23". She can't talk about the offers that are expired. Then I asked who was going to help in resolving the issue? She was clueless and when I asked her to transfer to manager, she said there was no manager and only she needed to handle this call.
Going to cancel this card, completely useless. Other cards give better rewards.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst credit card ever

by Larry Maydonik on Mar 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this card for just under a year and I am now giving up on it. Customer service does not exist and communicating with customer service is impossible.
Initially they promised $10 to go paperless. Their website wouldn't allow me to go paperless. When I clicked on "GO PAPERLESS"....nothing would come up.
I pay my monthly charges like clockwork before they are due. However on two purchases my card was rejected due to slow approval by mastercard.
I finally was able to go paperless....but now my $10 incentive has never been provided.
My last grip is that every new card holder is confined to a $1000 credit limit, within the first 12 months. It meant I had to make two monthly payments in order to not be locked out. My other cards all provide limits for over $10,000. Good bye Walmart Mastercard !!!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Nice Store Shopping Card

by Chucky on Mar 5, 2021
4 out of 5 stars

I’ve had my account since 2018. Never a problem. I use it at Walmart stores only and self-pay the transaction right away at the terminal after the sale. Just using it for the points. I do agree with other comments in here, though, that their hold times are bit much! Other than that, not bad.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

You get what you pay for

by Jimi on Sep 9, 2020
2.5 out of 5 stars

Walmart credit card is just OK. Sure, you have no fee, rewards are pretty much the same as any other but the customer service - terrible!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Walmart rewards Mastercard

by Bhavesh on Mar 31, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

They lie about all rewards. It is a scam by the Walmart company. First by giving customers false information that if you spend this much you will get 15 dollars rewards within 5 business cycle, which no one receives. When you call them they do not give any information because they also do not know how it works. Trying to call them the past 5 days no one is picking up the phone. Very very poor customer service of Walmart and rude too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Good In-store Shopping Card!

by Sobeit80 on Mar 21, 2020
4 out of 5 stars

I’ve had the card for just over a year. Never a problem. It’s good for a basic card with some rewards at Walmart. $1000 limit, use it to shop only at Walmart, pay it off for the exact amount I use - right at the point of sale register. So far, in 15 months I’ve accumulated about $300 in rewards to use. Again, good for a store card - but stick to the major banks if you want high limits and better service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Terrible customer service

by Miss5377422 on Feb 4, 2020
1.5 out of 5 stars

Their customer service barely speaks English. The rewards are basic in comparison to other companies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

STAY AWAY!

by Unhappy Client on Aug 25, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

The WORSE credit card ever! Incompetent staff, hidden charges, archaic online user page. Stay away from this card. There are many 100x better credit cards in Canada that offer better rewards and competent customer service.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst credit card to apply for

by Mommyof3 on Jul 27, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I applied for this card because I often shop at Walmart as a mother of 3. When I applied, I was approved for 2k. Shortly afterwards, towards Christmas, they offered an increase to $9500. I accepted because of upcoming expenses. The moment you reach your limit, they drop your limit without notice so they can charge you over-limit fee, etc. Their customer service is horrible. A missed monthly payment for whatever reason will result in non-stop calls probably 8 times a day and without leaving a voice message. The monthly payments are absolutely ridiculous. They will never work with a customer to keep their relationship. They also closed my card without notice. Anyways, a huge lesson learned. Stick with major or known bank credit cards. These retail creditors clearly do not have sufficient funds to keep their business afloat which is why they will harass and ruin any peace of mind. I have several credit cards and maintain a great relationship with them credit-wise. However, with Walmart, it was very difficult. Their customer service and customer communication are poor. This card ruined my credit score. I highly recommend all consumers to apply elsewhere. They are not worth the rewards (very minimal) nor a continuous headache.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Very unprofessional/Cheaters

by sydzr on Jul 23, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Their employee (Walmart Canada) lied about bonus dollars for signing up for credit card. They used my address where I never lived. Probably kept sending statements at the wrong address, and later reported to the credit bureau. Their customer service never accepts their mistake. I will stay away from Walmart credit card in future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics