Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(254 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Stay away.

by Fed up on Apr 28, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This card has given me hell from the beginning. Poor customer service, attitude from them while demanding you pay them your owed balance. Now I’m dealing with DNA collections because of them who are also making my life a living hell. Stick to other bank's credit cards to keep your life easy. The phone calls are around 15 a day for no reason, they have such high interest and won’t raise your credit limit no matter how good your credit is. Don’t forget, they also RUIN your credit at the credit bureau!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible

by Carrie Maguire on Mar 31, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They let the card go over the limit... then sent me a bill for almost $500 !!! They called my house, my cell phone AND my husband's cell phone about 7 times a day. I paid $300... could barely afford that.... they still keep calling... OMG... absolutely horrible. I can't wait to get rid of this card. Unbelievable

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Waste of time.

by Disgruntled Consumer. on Mar 29, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Twice I have given Walmart M/C a chance and twice they have shown me they do not deserve my business.
First card they cut my $12.000 limit down to $8.000 and said because I wasn't using it I didn't need it. Who are they to decide what I need???
I closed the account about 3 years ago and there was a balance owed to me of about $1.59.
The second card I just got. (Let me say I do not need their card) I called and asked them to put the balance owed to me on the need card. They couldn't do it and said "balance on the first card was zero. I ket that slide. Well done I get a bill pertaining to the first card "cancelled and cut up" that I owe $4.85 for an inactivity fee.
That's it with this store and their cards. These guys are nothing but a "SCAM".
Don't trust them and stick to your cards with respectable Canadian Banks.
Walmart really sucks the bag. Including their stores. Don't waste your money on anything Walmart-related stores or cards.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Worst credit card ever

by Larry Maydonik on Mar 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this card for just under a year and I am now giving up on it. Customer service does not exist and communicating with customer service is impossible.
Initially they promised $10 to go paperless. Their website wouldn't allow me to go paperless. When I clicked on "GO PAPERLESS"....nothing would come up.
I pay my monthly charges like clockwork before they are due. However on two purchases my card was rejected due to slow approval by mastercard.
I finally was able to go paperless....but now my $10 incentive has never been provided.
My last grip is that every new card holder is confined to a $1000 credit limit, within the first 12 months. It meant I had to make two monthly payments in order to not be locked out. My other cards all provide limits for over $10,000. Good bye Walmart Mastercard !!!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst credit card service ever

by coffeewithcream on Jan 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

No attention to detail. I had a change of name and had to submit it twice because of the errors that they made by not following the request or reading the change of name certificate fully or properly.
This resulted in getting two cards that were useless because they didn't have my real name on them.
The second time I called to get it corrected because they added an extra "h" to my name, they ran another credit check. I saw it on my credit report the next day and it dropped my credit score. There had been no discussion about increasing my credit limit and the limit wasn't increased, nor had a request been entered in their system regarding a credit change. They didn't ask or inform me that a credit check would be run. It wasn't run with the first request for my name change. Why would it be run when they misspelled? I'm very disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Reservations challenge

by A.B. on Oct 13, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst credit card company no should ever deal with. I have a credit limit of $6100, but they blocked me from buying an airline ticket for $4000 when I have a balance of 5000+ in my credit. Now, I missed several deals because they keep declining reservations. What's the point of having this ridiculous credit company. The point of having a credit card is for people to make purchases when they don't have money at hand and to make travel tickets purchases that can't be made through debits. I put my own money on this credit card and I still blocked.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Ruined my Credit

by Amrita Jhuman on Aug 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have had a Mastercard with Walmart for more than 7 years. I always did my best to pay the balances. During the last 2 years (the Covid-19 lockdown period), I did my best to make my minimum payments given all the loss of work and income I have had to endure. In June 2022 I was able to reduce my balance to 80% and was happy because at least now I thought this would help my credit. Last week I received an email informing me that Walmart reduced my credit limit to what has now become my maximum balance owing. As a result, my monthly interest payments have increased and my credit looks worse than ever. I still do not understand their reasoning for doing this, because this has further destroyed my credit by making me have a ratio of 90% use of my Mastercard.
Thanks, Walmart for ruining my credit! You don't help people but destroy them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Horrible

by Mahmoud Ghadban on Jun 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst credit cards

They have this nasty habit of making your limit exceed (they call it a common curiosity advancement) but then hit you up with a nasty over-limit penalty.
Watch out for this credit card its a scam.
Again horrible service I called and I asked for a supervisor and they disconnected twice. And keep giving me the run around to resolve my problems.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible will mess credit

by Sony on Aug 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

They are a fraudulent company preying on newcomers. The card is free, but the cost and risk are too high if there are any issues with automatic payment, unidentified transactions. They reported incorrect info to the credit bureau and then said sorry, it's already reported, so they can do anything. My score fell from 817 to 647 after working for years to build my credit as a newcomer! Stay away from this credit card. It is the worst ever!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Do not!

by Mazi Charles on Jun 23, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Horrible customer service. Very long wait times when you call in. They don't want to give credit increases years later. They need to just discontinue their Mastercard.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo