Credit Card Reviews

RBC VISA Infinite Avion Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(44 reviews)
RBC VISA Infinite Avion
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

RBC Avion is the SCAM

by RBC Avion Sucker on Sep 9, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Avion has turned to scam its clients even though they hold to the letter of the law they are still sly about their tactics. I scratched and saved enough points over 12 years to book two tickets for a once in a lifetime trip to Italy. Total points 130,000 PLUS a $1300 fee??? WTH I exclaimed! Well here is how their scam works. They tell you right off the bat, that taxes and SURCHARGES are not covered, but they keep saying that the 65000 points cover a ticket price up to $1300. They don't say base fair, they say ticket price. So client services, who are well versed in the tactic, explain that if you go to the detailed breakdown of the airlines ticket price you see base fare is only $392 (per ticket) and there is an AIRLINE CARRIER SURCHARGE of $530. So even though they've promised to cover up to $1300 they get away with only having to pay out $392 based solely on how they interpret ticket price and of coarse how the airline now breaks down there prices. In good conscience, they could've equated the surcharge as part of the ticket price but they've opted to be devious and stick it to us all. So after spending $130,000 to get 130000 points all, I end up with is being covered for a rather messily $784. Does that sound fair, no I don't believe it does? I'm considering weighing other possible actions or at least trying my best to bringing this out into the open.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No Customer Service fromMexico

by Frequent Traveler on Aug 15, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

BEWARE. Multiple frustrating issues. No customer service. This Avion card is not worth it. I have reset my pin twice at RBC after my last trip to Mexico and I still have issues. I called RBC twice, to sort out my pin and also spoke to the staff at the local branch. Every time I’m abroad, it blocks my card. I notified them that I am going to Mexico. I am in Mexico now, and I cannot reach customer service. Called both numbers on the back of the card. I googled alternative numbers and to all of them I get a message in Spanish saying the number is not supported. You can’t rely on this card when traveling. But that was the point of getting it. Because of the points.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Beware of the fine print

by No more RBC on Jul 17, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Rbc sells the most restrictive fares but does not tell you this. Go with another bank. Customer service is terrible.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Beware - not worth it

by Jen on Jun 27, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

They will only cover the base fare amount. I booked a flight that's worth $1,350 (pre-tax) by redeeming 65,000 points thinking that they will cover the face value of ticket of up to $1,300. I had taxes and stuff so ticket ended up being $1,450. Anyway, even after using 65,000 points, RBC rewards only refunded me $650 (not even half of my ticket) because more than half of it was tax and surcharge. This is a rip-off. It's cheaper for me to collect points with another credit card company and get cash back and pay for this then collect points and I only got half my ticket paid for? This is after I pay $120/year in member dues. I am going to cancel this card because it's not saving me anything but instead just costs me more.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Can they really do that?

by lynniep on Jun 1, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

Frustrations are mounting! Not only am I paying $150/year to have this card that a growing number of merchants/businesses will NOT accept due to high user fees PLUS when redeeming points (only reason I have this card) for travel and finding that after the published amount of points are used for your destination, that the extra fees often exceed the regular airfare to the same destination, I was stunned to learn that....if you have automatic debits at the time your card expires that VISA will "automatically renew" your info with those merchants!!! When I called to inquire re debits that I expected would end with my card expiration they said that I "was enrolled in automatic renewal". UH NO!!! "Enrolled" suggests to me that I was advised of this "program" and chose to participate. None of that happened. BEWARE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No fraud protection! Beware!

by randy k on May 28, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I was defrauded for 4500+ dollars due to fraudulent charges and RBC won't cover it, this card and RBC fraud security system failed to prevent suspicious transactions. They won't refund nor help, in any way and their customer service is very bad. They are a disgrace for the Canadian banking industry. Future applicants please be aware of this and look into other Canadian banks!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Lies from Avion phone reps

by Sera on Sep 18, 2018
2 out of 5 stars

I thought booking flights with RBC Avion would be easy for customers?! As a first-timer, I don't think so. I booked a flight using RBC Avion points from Winnipeg to Toronto with Westjet. I started the check-in process 24 hours before departure and got this error message every time I got to step 3 of 6 of the check-in: "We're sorry, your transaction could not be completed. Please see a WestJet agent at Guest assistance to complete check-in when you arrive at the airport." I called Avion and the issue was Westjet changed a letter code for the flight, so they have to reissue my ticket which could take until the next morning. Codes need to match for check-in to be successful. Great. Now I cannot check in. You know what's very strange? I booked the EXACT SAME FLIGHT within the hour that I booked the Avion flight with Airmiles for my husband since we are travelling together. HE CHECKED IN SUCCESSFULLY. What was the difference? The rep at Avion lied. She told me every ticket on this flight had their letter code changed and every passenger has this issue. What a big fat lie! Never booking with Avion again. I still haven't checked in to my flight. Ugh.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

TERRIBLE POINTS REDEMPTION

by NO RBC AVION for me on Jan 29, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

The first experience for points redemption was terrible. First hard time trying to find the proper site to log in. My wife had to re-submit user name and password a time consuming process.
Wife tried to book on line and it came up with a ridiculous amount of fees and taxes. She opted out of the transaction at that point to discuss. When we tried to log in a few days later it took forever to get in... even using my card number and postal code, (kept telling me something was not accurate to log in. Somehow i finally broke into the redemption screen to try and book a flight and took so long to download available flights to point i kept thinking my computer was locked up. No contact available on Sunday. Waited to call on Monday and speak to an rewards agent. The whole process still took the better part of an hour and the screen was taking forever to download for her as well. To book a flight for two in Canada still took over an hour and all i have is a reference number
but no flight confirmation.
Also not insured under the card for flight cancellation by my understanding which is surprising as i thought this card came with trip interruption insurance built in.
Probably going to cancel my card and save the 120 annual fee.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Love this card

by saltykov.alexe21i@gmail.com on Feb 14, 2017
4.5 out of 5 stars

Both my wife and I have this credit card. We appreciate how quickly we accumulate rewards. We typically spend reward points for hotels and not for flights - it is the better use of our points. If we spend around $3,000 monthly, it gives us enough points at least once a year to stay for a few days in a good hotel in New York or in Europe. This credit card is not cheap but it comes with a good travel insurance protection so we typically do not buy a travel medical coverage. The RBC customer service is always top - very friendly and helpful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo