Credit Card Reviews

RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(22 reviews)
RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD
2.4 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Looking for the best Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author

Small fee, for great cover

by edbell222 on Jun 20, 2020
5 out of 5 stars

I see lots of negative reviews here, but some are really not telling the whole story or their version of events. I can only relay my experience which is why I use their card and pay the $119 each year. I was returning from the funeral of my father on a long-haul flight. A plane delay of 6 hrs meant I missed my Vancouver connection to get home. Instead, I found myself in YVR on Friday night in July. I had to rebook my ongoing flight $530 for the next day, plus the cheapest hotel was $300, plus a meal, $32. I phoned RBC Mastercard and they were excellent, they immediately said I was covered. I had a cheque from them within a week for $900.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Card Insurance

by Tariq Halasa on Apr 1, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I had a vacation booked with West Jet, due to COVID-19 I had to cancel it. They refused to reimburse my trip. They said the card is covered only for trip interruption, but not a cancellation. I told that this is an unforeseen act and should be considered interruption because I was forced to cancel my trip, but they refused. For a card with a $119 annual fee should cover everything like other cards. Disappointed with their services and consider cancelling my card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

BE AWARE!

by Laura on Feb 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have had so many negative experiences with my short use of this card. First, the card I received the tap didn't work on it, and the customer service was brutal - they suggested to reset my pin and then try to purchase 3 times and it will activate. Complete garbage - I ended up waiting over a month to get a working card. I still have issues with the swipe on it for purchases, and now the most important issue: Trip Interruption or Delay - if you purchase this an expect to have any answers when you need it most - you have the wrong card and coverage! We got stuck mid-flight back from our destination due to weather, our coverage with this card was not easily found online and when we called the number on the back of the card the agent we spoke to was unable to give any information about coverage. So if you are ever in this situation please know you can call 1-800-222-9978 for the claims department and not the number on the back of your card! Customer service and so far caused more issues and stress then solving the issues that they promised!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Not what it seems

by Jaymie M on Jan 29, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

If you decide to get this card make sure you read all the fine print. They do not actually fly to many locations outside Canada. So you will have to fly with another airline to get to the final destination. Meaning you cannot use your vouchers for many of the flights outside Canada. Free checked bags are only good when flying with them. So if you do book a flight without vouchers and have to fly with another company on your way back you will have to pay for your checked bags. So basically unless you know that they fly to your final destination this card is not actually worth what you pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer Service

by KMM on Dec 15, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

When my card was skimmed with this credit card, it took numerous phone calls to be issued a new one. Once I was issued a new one, it takes 5-10 business days for the new one to arrive. With the BMO World Elite MasterCard, a new one was issued without my need to call and arrived within 1-2 business days.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

DO NOT USE THEIR CARD

by duke on Aug 22, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

They will regularly block your payments and then have an excuse for it. If you are planning to spend more than $100, beware. Completely useless customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Customer service

by Dumbfounded on Apr 29, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I was approached in an airport, so out of boredom applied. I live in a small town with no RBC. I received a letter saying the card was now at a branch (160kms away) and I would have to go pick it up! I phoned and said “you want me to lose a days wages, drive nearly 400km over a mountain pass to pick up a card YOU offered me? Yep..they sure do. I was in a town with an RBC brand asked if the other branch could send it there for me to pick up..NOPE..you have to go get it. SO they aren’t open Sat, you work Mon-Fri, how is this ever going to happen???

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

DANGER - invasion of Privacy

by TC on Apr 26, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Upon requesting an account balance I was, on 2 occasions, expected to reveal private information repeatedly. When I refused to repeat and acceptable rational I was denied service which is in direct conflict to the Office of the privacy commission. My repeated request for them to clarify my rights and the Commissions authority was denied. The operator /representative(s) refused to identify themselves on repeated requests. I instructed that the $130.06 they claimed as owing was in error based on previous recorded conversations. Then asked what they were prepared to do to rectify. They hung up. Do not tolerate this INVASION of f privacy ... file a complaint with Commission. And if you talk to them record the conversation, Under Canadian law you have the right without their consent or knowledge. If you want a copy of my conversation contact me .... ridiculously fraudulent deniles and self serving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

CANCELLING MY CARD!

by MattKolb on Apr 6, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, had to cancel a flight 2 weeks before departure due to a dear friend passing away suddenly after a long-standing battle with cancer. The woman I spoke to on the phone had no compassion and was of little help. I asked for only our WestJet dollars back or even a credit on my account, which I would put towards another flight - this request was denied. I've had a WestJet MasterCard for over 5 years and use it as my primary card every day. I have nothing good to say about it or the staff. I am full of regret spending thousands of dollars with this card as it goes straight into the pockets of heartless capitalists. I can't believe in a time of true hardship and loss, they couldn't bend the rules and give me a credit which in turn, I would be spending with on their airlines. I am truly disappointed and will be cancelling my card immediately and spreading word about this horrible event.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

No such extended coverage

by Swim on Apr 6, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

I made a large purchase and when it was delivered, Westjet world elite MasterCard didn’t stand behind me the consumer it protected the merchant after the expensive product was delivered damaged, I no longer have any MasterCard and moving all segments out of RBC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo