Credit Card Reviews

RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(28 reviews)
RBC WestJet World Elite MASTERCARD
2.2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

BE AWARE!

by Laura on Feb 20, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I have had so many negative experiences with my short use of this card. First, the card I received the tap didn't work on it, and the customer service was brutal - they suggested to reset my pin and then try to purchase 3 times and it will activate. Complete garbage - I ended up waiting over a month to get a working card. I still have issues with the swipe on it for purchases, and now the most important issue: Trip Interruption or Delay - if you purchase this an expect to have any answers when you need it most - you have the wrong card and coverage! We got stuck mid-flight back from our destination due to weather, our coverage with this card was not easily found online and when we called the number on the back of the card the agent we spoke to was unable to give any information about coverage. So if you are ever in this situation please know you can call 1-800-222-9978 for the claims department and not the number on the back of your card! Customer service and so far caused more issues and stress then solving the issues that they promised!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer Service

by KMM on Dec 15, 2019
1.5 out of 5 stars

When my card was skimmed with this credit card, it took numerous phone calls to be issued a new one. Once I was issued a new one, it takes 5-10 business days for the new one to arrive. With the BMO World Elite MasterCard, a new one was issued without my need to call and arrived within 1-2 business days.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

DO NOT USE THEIR CARD

by duke on Aug 22, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

They will regularly block your payments and then have an excuse for it. If you are planning to spend more than $100, beware. Completely useless customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Customer service

by Dumbfounded on Apr 29, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I was approached in an airport, so out of boredom applied. I live in a small town with no RBC. I received a letter saying the card was now at a branch (160kms away) and I would have to go pick it up! I phoned and said “you want me to lose a days wages, drive nearly 400km over a mountain pass to pick up a card YOU offered me? Yep..they sure do. I was in a town with an RBC brand asked if the other branch could send it there for me to pick up..NOPE..you have to go get it. SO they aren’t open Sat, you work Mon-Fri, how is this ever going to happen???

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

DANGER - invasion of Privacy

by TC on Apr 26, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Upon requesting an account balance I was, on 2 occasions, expected to reveal private information repeatedly. When I refused to repeat and acceptable rational I was denied service which is in direct conflict to the Office of the privacy commission. My repeated request for them to clarify my rights and the Commissions authority was denied. The operator /representative(s) refused to identify themselves on repeated requests. I instructed that the $130.06 they claimed as owing was in error based on previous recorded conversations. Then asked what they were prepared to do to rectify. They hung up. Do not tolerate this INVASION of f privacy ... file a complaint with Commission. And if you talk to them record the conversation, Under Canadian law you have the right without their consent or knowledge. If you want a copy of my conversation contact me .... ridiculously fraudulent deniles and self serving.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

CANCELLING MY CARD!

by MattKolb on Apr 6, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

Recently, had to cancel a flight 2 weeks before departure due to a dear friend passing away suddenly after a long-standing battle with cancer. The woman I spoke to on the phone had no compassion and was of little help. I asked for only our WestJet dollars back or even a credit on my account, which I would put towards another flight - this request was denied. I've had a WestJet MasterCard for over 5 years and use it as my primary card every day. I have nothing good to say about it or the staff. I am full of regret spending thousands of dollars with this card as it goes straight into the pockets of heartless capitalists. I can't believe in a time of true hardship and loss, they couldn't bend the rules and give me a credit which in turn, I would be spending with on their airlines. I am truly disappointed and will be cancelling my card immediately and spreading word about this horrible event.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

a complete rip off

by Monique on Feb 14, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I have tried to use my west jet miles and my companion voucher and the policies do not allow it. I spoke to someone who put me on hold forever to tell me that. There is absolutely no point to paying for this card. It's completely useless. Do not fall into the trap I did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Awful

by Wished for WestJet Travel on Jan 29, 2018
2 out of 5 stars

Applying/receiving was easy.
Perks (WestJet) okay; a bit of a challenge to find available flights.
Customer service was awful. While individual people are nice if you ever get through they lie. I would repeatedly ask for confirmation if there were any other charges and they'd assure me there weren't but there always was.
There was also some glitch between my bank and this card and payments didn't connect. It's the only bill I've ever had trouble with; never did figure out the cause.
Net value was negative. Not worth the frustration and expense so I cancelled card.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

RBC- Poor Credit Card Services

by Paysinfull on Oct 23, 2017
3 out of 5 stars

To activate this card attempted 6 times. They do not deliver this card you have to go to the bank to pick it up ( waste of valuable time). At the bank they set it up wrong, so I returned to the bank to get it rectified. Was told they couldn't help me, I needed to call. I called telephone banking twice- was on hold for 20 minutes each time. Couldn't wait so I hung up. Received a call from RBC .... "Hi we were wondering why you haven't activated your card?" In the end, no one helped, I finally got my card activated on my own through the website. Now I am trying to get the app working, app matches the activation process... FRUSTRATING! I will see if this card serves me this year, only because I want the Westjet rewards, if this is how the activity on this card is going to be I will not be renewing. Cardholder less than 30 days and already painful!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Be very careful with this card

by heathert on Aug 29, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I have had several shocking moments with the credit card. You have to read the small print. And you have to pay it off to the dime every month. I had a balance of $17,000ish in a high spending month (I use it for work), and cash flow was low but I made sure that I paid $15,000 (worked hard at this) by the due date, so interest would be minimal.

Silly me.

Interest was charged on the full $17,000ish, this is how this card works. If you pay even $1 short, you might as well have paid nothing, interest will be charged on the full amount.

I usually pay my cards in full, but sometimes you just can't. So this card is... risky. More importantly, it's unethical.

BOOO Westjet Mastercard.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo