Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Security Department = Brain Dead

by Toledo on Aug 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Went to Walmart and they convinced me to apply for the Walmart Mastercard. Gave the cashier my ID she punched it in and approved it right away. I called customer service a few days later and they verified my details and told me the card was already sent out. After 10 days no card. Called in today to check on the card. They tell me it was never sent out because of an address problem. They transfer me to the security department where "Penny" in the Philippines answers. He tells me the address is wrong. I give them the same address on my ID. They said my address is wrong and I said okay do you want me to send you my ID? The response from Penny "Sir I'm trying to do a check". He kept talking to me like I was a 5-year-old child. So this so-called "Penny" goes on and on, "sir I'm working". I asked what was wrong with the address. "Sir I'm working". He said I cannot tell you what's wrong even after confirming my details were correct. He then ends the call by telling me I have to go sir and I will call you back in one hour. As many have mentioned here the security department never calls back. Waited 3 hours and called back again. Same song and dance. Customer service tells me the card is approved and will be sent out. I told them I want to speak to the security department. They again confirmed to address the problem and I have to call you back today. No call. Completely brain dead. The cashier entered in all my details and they make it sound like I am a criminal. I wish the bank behind this Walmart Mastercard would ask me to call them. I would love to speak to these people.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

WALMART World Financial MC is a SCAM!!!

by JMac on Jun 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

1. It takes 30 days to get your card
2. They don't tell you that if you don't use it for 6 months they cancel your card & charge your $10
3. If you make an overpayment it takes over 3 months to get your $$ credit & if you don't use it within the 6 months they then deduct the overpayment $10... Not about 10 bucks but principle!!!
4. If your balance is $5 & not paid for whatever reason they harass you daily with phone calls yet they take months to refund an overpayment
5. Avoid this credit card & go through a reputable bank for credit - Walmart is a complete SCAM & UNREPUTABLE

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't Opt! Extremely Bad Customer Service

by Sid on Jan 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am trying to register my Walmart Mastercard online on their website. Unable to complete it every after trying 4 different times on different dates. Their customer call center is a joke. They don't solve any of your problems and keep transferring to the next department ultimately cutting the call. DON'T OPT.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Bad customer care, click bait, application process on Transunion website

by SS767 on Dec 31, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Posting a review of the application process and what is on the landing page.
I applied online with a credit score of about 770+, annual income 120k did not get any approval /denial but the message - would be contacted in 10 days, no email no application records or email no nothing.
Called care number and they said cannot find your application, was told maybe you did not apply properly and asked to apply again. Guess what I did have to apply again. Two days later pulled my free consumer disclosure report from http://ocs.transunion.ca/ to see enquiries. It says: "Apply in minutes and start shopping right away! You’ll receive a temporary shopping pass with instant approval". The truth is only if you are instantly approved you get a decision immediately. If it's pending or denied you get an email the next day at 4 AM.
The only way to connect is via phone to an Asian call centre that speaks with a problem of hypersalivation carrying an enormous amount of spit, difficult to understand.
I place 3 orders each month. The customer experience was poor, tall claims, customer care not based in Canada, advised to apply again without knowing it would dent the credit scores again.
Since I did not get an immediate response, I contacted Walmart on Twitter and they said someone would get back to me. Got a call 2 days later and the guy said: "we don't ask for additional documentation and we hit bureaus overnight for decisions with pending or denied status."
Like no way to reach out without spending tons of time. Walmart is a brick-and-mortar store not seriously good online.
Pretty backwards doing away with email contact methods and the only method of contact left is phony customer care. Honestly, Walmart customer care is terrible, it does whether you buy groceries or anything else or apply for a credit card...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Please NERVER sign up for Walmart Mastercard

by Mel on Dec 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

These people have absolutely no respect for their customers.
First of all, I was pressured on signing up because the lady at the cashier wouldn’t shut up and let me leave.
Then I never received the card.
Only for them to call me 3 months later to tell me I have an outstanding balance on a card I never received.
I told them I would pay for the fee and cancel the card they answered they cannot do that because I don’t have a card number to provide them….
I don’t even have the patience to go through this story anymore… Anyway, I spoke to 5 different people none of them had the decency to even apologize for what happened.
I ended up sending them a check which was sent back to me. And now they’re on my back again.
I never had an issue with Walmart cause I was just shopping in and out. But if you’re dealing with them just know none of them care about you, all they want is to figure out a way of making more money out of you. They have ZERO solution to help out clients
One thing is sure for me I am NEVER shopping there again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service ever

by Bostonfan98 on Sep 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Keep saying someone will help me then drop my calls and give me a different number to call over it... I haven’t received my card in three months don’t go with them! The worst Mastercard company! I’m calling to cancel and speak to a manager!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Waste of time and energy

by E.A on Jul 15, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I got the Walmart credit card when I shopped for $50 and they gave me a $15 discount for it. Then I called to activate my card but they tried to upsell like there is no tomorrow, trying to sell life insurance and lots more, I kept saying I don’t want anything else but there was no stop so I lost my trust and cancelled the credit card. Then I got a bill asking me for that $15 back. So much time and stress over this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Gong Show

by Angie from Alberta on Nov 29, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Applied for the Walmart Mastercard to get the $25 discount on our purchases and was told the application didn't go through. 2 weeks later, got the card in the mail. Spent 1.5 hours getting thrown from department to department just getting the card activated (barely able to understand the people on the phone). Went to the store to make a Christmas purchase for $560 and the card was declined. Didn't even prompt me for a PIN. Went home and spent another hour getting thrown from one department to the next and was finally transferred to the Security department. Was told that due to the high purchase amount and first purchase, the card was blocked. They requested that I fax pictures of my ID and utility bill to prove my identity. Firstly, who uses Fax anymore, secondly, why wasn't the PIN prompted to prove my identity, and finally, why would I fax my personal details somewhere that can be used for purposes of fraud. After reading reviews with similar experiences, I decided to cancel my card

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

No show card, 5 calls to CS

by Disappointed on Sep 24, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

43 days after applying for a card, none has shown up. 3 customer service contact attempts. Still do not have an account number to access payment options. Received a call from WM collections for payment, received balance owing, but not an account number to make payment to. To assist me I was transferred to Customer service 4th time, on hold again, no pickup after 17 minutes, I disconnected. Called back 90 minutes later on hold for a lengthy time but finally answered by a helpful customer service representative, 'Dispatch', review pertaining info, could not provide me with an account number, have to talk with security, transferred, after 61 minutes from initial call I was returned to another customer service agent, reviewed pertaining info again and said the account now has a security block on it. She transferred me back to security I am still on hold 102 minutes still waiting. I will not hang up I will see how this goes... for call #5, 112 minutes security answered, pertaining info again, took the block off, sending a new card. She just wanted to get rid of my call. Asked her how to close the account, said I have to pay the balance, I replied I would like to but you need your account number from your statement or from your credit card and customer service can help you, ended the call, I was sent to a push the button customer service survey. While waiting I have gone online and printed the Walmart Canada Bank Mastercard Complaint Handling Process, 2 pages. This is not a card you would ever want!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Never even got to use card

by Joetheman on Aug 8, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

If I could give zero stars I would. Card arrived. Took FOREVER to get thru to activate. Finally got it activated after waiting on hold for almost 2 hours. Guy tells my husband it is activated and to have a good weekend. Never said there was anything wrong. Next, we try to use the card - it wouldn't work. So again we call in and are on hold. A woman answers saying "Walmart security". My husband talks to her and she says the card is blocked?! And that he needs to send in proof of address and proof of ID. Umm, he JUST got the card at the address. They mailed it to,- our address!!! And why approve someone for a card then ask for proof of ID? Horrible customer service. I sent an email to The Ombudsman to file a complaint. They are likely located in the Philippines too. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo