Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(254 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Please don't get this card if you want to sleep without nightmares.

by javbergen on May 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Card was pushed on me when I entered the store. Received the card and activating it was no problem. But then the problems started:
I could not find a method on-line to institute per-authorized payment, which i have on all my credit cards.
So I received a bill in the mail and I mailed a check (#006) in the pre-addressed envelope for the full amount. Check was not cashed. Next month I received a statement which included the balance for the previous month plus an outrageous interest on that balance. I mailed another check (#007) for the full amount and called them. Could not understand the person I was talking to (probably some off-shore service) and finally gave up.
Received a new statement with threatening letter demanding payment, or else.
Again, tried to talk to them over the phone without result. I was on the phone for more than one and a half hour, being transferred back and forth. They claimed that they had not received either check. I had no choice but to give up.
In order to cut the crap I went to Walmart Customer Service and paid the total balance by debit card. Meanwhile I had already cancelled the Walmart credit card.
Now It seems that suddenly they found one of my checks (#008) because I noticed that it was cashed on my bank statement. So now Walmart owes me $435.12
Still no sign of the previous check but I am sure that they will try to cash that one too if they finally find it.
Please stay away from this corporate credit card scam, and if you already have one, I suggest you cancel it and cut it up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service and high interest charge

by dips on Mar 5, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had got this credit card when i came to Canada in 2020. Used it few times. Always paid minimum amount even after not using the card. got interest charge every month. was told there is insurance on my card which i was never told about. never got an email or the statement. Called customer service to cancel the the credit card and asked how I can pay 889 dollars even after not using the card that much. Instead of giving a proper response and completing the conversation they kept on asking me is there anything else. Faked the accent of talking nicely to customer. Will never buy this card again. Worse customer service ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst and poorest

by Don2022 on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

No one should apply it anyway. It has the worst security system and the worst customer service. Two years ago I discovered 3 fraudulent transactions. I contacted customer service six times and they kept asking me to contact the store directly or I had to pay. I wrote a letter to complain, and they canceled the bill. One year after canceling the account, I kept receiving email alerts that someone changed my phone number. After the complaint, the matter was processed. Yesterday, someone changed it again.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Customer service

by ElyE on Jan 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

A Walmart cashier offered to set me up on a Walmart mastercard and payed for my items with the mastercard which felt nice.
11 days later, I called to follow up because I had not received my mastercard and wanted to prevent paying late fees!
I talked to 9 agents, figured out the card was sent to the wrong address. Everytime I was transferred to a new person I had to repeat my full name, number, address, email address, if I have a 2nd person on my card, credit limit of my bank account which really made the process feel crazy! By the 8th person, I decided to close my account so I wouldn't have to deal with phone calls like this anymore!
Talked to the 9th person, closed the account, payed the outstanding balance online.
This took 3 hours of my day.
So
Do not do it unless you would like a headache! :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst service I have ever experienced.

by Priti on Dec 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customers service does not do what they say. Security department does not function the way it is supposedly have to.
I have been waiting for my card cancelation, refund and new card for over three months. Called them 4 to 5 times, every time promise and issuance is given with no results.
Customers service reps do not have clear English as well.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Called 3 times to close my card and it’s still not closed

by Shitty Walmart on Oct 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

As the title says, I called Walmart to close my account three times and it’s still not closed. There are fraud charges on the card and they said they can reimburse me for those charges but they can give me a Walmart credit to spend at Walmart. Still to this day, I don’t know if my account is closed and I have no reassurance that no charge will go thru the card. I got two letters in the mail stating that my account is closed but that doesn’t mean anything since every time I call them they keep saying my account is still open even tho there are multiple notes stating that they closed my card.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Fraudulant billing practices

by Kim Irwin on Aug 18, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I tried to cancel my card unsuccessfully for 4 months. I called customer service each month and was told it was my final bill, only to get another one. My last bill included new transactions even though I no longer had the card. I called to inquire and was told I had asked for installments on purchase months previous but I had not. I asked again for the final bill and if they could at least credit me the interest. I was told no and when I asked for a supervisor was told there was none Then the representative hung up on me!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service

by Phoenix22 on Apr 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I called in March to close my account and the representative didn't tell me my balance owing. Now it is April and I get a text saying I have a balance owing. I am mad today at the service. What part of cut-off my serviced do you not get?! Obviously, you cut off a service they give you a final bill...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Please NERVER sign up for Walmart Mastercard

by Mel on Dec 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

These people have absolutely no respect for their customers.
First of all, I was pressured on signing up because the lady at the cashier wouldn’t shut up and let me leave.
Then I never received the card.
Only for them to call me 3 months later to tell me I have an outstanding balance on a card I never received.
I told them I would pay for the fee and cancel the card they answered they cannot do that because I don’t have a card number to provide them….
I don’t even have the patience to go through this story anymore… Anyway, I spoke to 5 different people none of them had the decency to even apologize for what happened.
I ended up sending them a check which was sent back to me. And now they’re on my back again.
I never had an issue with Walmart cause I was just shopping in and out. But if you’re dealing with them just know none of them care about you, all they want is to figure out a way of making more money out of you. They have ZERO solution to help out clients
One thing is sure for me I am NEVER shopping there again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Wallmart Mastercard... ripoff

by Wallmart ripoff on Nov 14, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Do not use this card... Walmart does nothing to protect you from fraud and doesn't really care... In fact, they make it almost impossible to cancel your card when you report fraud. They pass you to customer service representatives and try to talk you out of it and are not helpful at all... It is the worst company we have ever dealt with and we recommend not getting a Wallmart master card... So glad to rid this company of our money. Worst company ever!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo