Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Worst Credit card ever

by FIONA LIU on Oct 2, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I had Walmart reward card for years. It was Ok at the beginning as you can use the cash-back money to shop at Walmart. Then it was hacked few times. The company increase the month limit to let the card being used continually.

Last year, I used the card in US then the card was blocked for no reason. I paid off the owed money (deducted the rewards amount), but the rewards money didn't count. They kept charging me the interest and phoned me many times. There was never smooth communication with the staff over the phone.

The online service function is terrible. No paperless statement, no text reminders when you make any purchase by the card, and not a safe card to use.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

New Walmart MC Website is Lacking Info and No one Cares to Listen!

by Erica Kim on Feb 12, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

When Walmart Mastercard updated its website, some changes made were good, and some NOT.

The previous Walmart MC website always had on the left column the following info:
Current Balance, Min Due, Credit Limit etc. If you were trying to balance by viewing past transactions, seeing your current balance helped. No matter what you were viewing, that info could always be seen.
With the New Walmart MC website, this info is only available on the main page and once you leave that page, you better have memorized it all. If you were trying to balance and forgot what your Current Balance was, you would have to leave the page you are on, go back to the main page, and start all over.
I have emailed Walmart Customer Service about this issue, and they told me they have nothing to do with the Walmart MC website and to contact the Credit Card Customer Support. So I messaged them, and they also said they do not take care of this and referred me back to Walmart. No one wants to take the initiative to help or refer me to the right place.
Why could they not have your Current Balance available when viewing transactions, up on top in the shaded blue part? There is plenty of space. So frustrating when you are trying to balance.
Why will no one LISTEN!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Don't Opt! Extremely Bad Customer Service

by Sid on Jan 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am trying to register my Walmart Mastercard online on their website. Unable to complete it every after trying 4 different times on different dates. Their customer call center is a joke. They don't solve any of your problems and keep transferring to the next department ultimately cutting the call. DON'T OPT.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

I hate the new website

by MW on Aug 10, 2021
3 out of 5 stars

I used to like Walmart credit card as I shop often there and collect points. Then use the points for more groceries there. But after the new website is launched, I started to hate it.
The new website is designed for people with vision problems only - big words with very few lines on one page. You have to do many clicks in order to access those features that was only 1 click in the previous version.
I started to wane off from this credit card now.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

SERVICE & SYSTEM PART 1

by Upset Customer on Jun 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

1. Got this card for my teenage kid, tried 3 times to activate text alert/notification, NEVER works.
2. Only received a paper statement a couple of times, NEVER received any paper/email again since then.
3. Tried 3 nights to check balance/statement online (Jun 21 - 23) in order to pay, NEVER works.
4. Tried to call customer service (Jun 23) after 10 hours of work but customer care closed, hope to talk to someone as payment is due, pressed lost/stolen dept but then card was blocked automatically without even anyone talked to me (I had and have cards of other banks, never had that happened!). The automated message said someone will call within 24 hours but NOTHING happened ..... To Be Cont'd

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Website is a pain!

by Need a new webmaster on May 22, 2021
3 out of 5 stars

Upon viewing previous statements on the internet, my most recent statement showed 'No statement available'!
What does that mean?
Called customer service and they clarified indicating has not yet been generated. Wait another day.
Fine, but it would have avoided a phone call had the message said this instead of what it actually did. For a while, I thought my card was cancelled!
Many confusing items on this website, why is it necessary to show both pending and approved transactions for the same transaction? Very confusing.
Difficult to navigate the site, almost found it impossible to find 'Previous statements'. The webmaster needs to improve navigation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Stay Away

by ARS on May 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Stay Away - Long Story, short!
1) This card will charge you fees for services that you never asked or requested for like $3 or $4 every month for something or the other. It's not huge but once you are being charged every month it is difficult to get hold of them to ask what is it for.

2) Poor customer service - They will keep you on hold for long, then hill transfers to supervisor then another supervisor and then another.

3) Difficult in understanding transactions - Once you review your account, the transactions mentioned should be easy to understand, so that you know where you have to spend money. But nope, they use short forms which makes it so difficult for you to understand that where you have spent the money.

Very bad experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Nightmare

by kmeeboer on Mar 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

This site is the worst. Can't visit the site to check my balance. I'm done with this card!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst credit card ever

by Larry Maydonik on Mar 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this card for just under a year and I am now giving up on it. Customer service does not exist and communicating with customer service is impossible.
Initially they promised $10 to go paperless. Their website wouldn't allow me to go paperless. When I clicked on "GO PAPERLESS"....nothing would come up.
I pay my monthly charges like clockwork before they are due. However on two purchases my card was rejected due to slow approval by mastercard.
I finally was able to go paperless....but now my $10 incentive has never been provided.
My last grip is that every new card holder is confined to a $1000 credit limit, within the first 12 months. It meant I had to make two monthly payments in order to not be locked out. My other cards all provide limits for over $10,000. Good bye Walmart Mastercard !!!!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

A fax machine in 2021?

by Wallyworld on Mar 12, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I set up an online account so I could check the balance on my new card like every other card out there. Unlike any other card out there, Walmart then cuts off access to your online account until you FAX (yes, I said fax - if you were born after 1987 you can google what a FAX is) them 2 more pieces of ID - because I REALLY want to FAX copies of my ID to a machine that has been obsolete since 1983 AND makes copies of my ID for anyone passing by to see/take home. Of course, Walmart does not advise you of any of this and when you try to log in the error message on the website states, "we are unable to access your account please try again later" when the reality is you could try a zillion times and it would never work because they want more ID... Anyways - I paid off my balance, cashed in the $50 in incentives I got for signing up and then reported the card stolen and never activated the new one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo