Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

I made a large purchase and they blocked my account and wouldn't remove the block

by Tracy on Jul 30, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I tried to pay for my son's college tuition with my credit card and they blocked the card for security purposes. Fine, annoying, but I called and they stated they'd remove the block and I'd be able to use it in 5-10 minutes. 30 min later I try again, still blocked. Call again, was placed on hold for 20 min, then come on the line stating they will have it unblocked in 5 min. 2 hours later, still not unblocked, call a third time... placed on hold multiple times telling me they can't remove the block, they will need someone to call me tomorrow. Then they said, again, they can't do anything for me. What???? I am a good customer, paying off my balance every single month. I have an excellent credit rating. Why would they treat their good customers like that? All I'm asking for is to use my card. so I can pay for my child's schooling. Let's just say I'll be cancelling this card immediately and going somewhere that wants my business.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Worst customer service in Canada.

by Phil 1 on Jul 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I have never had or heard about a lousier credit card. The lousiness ranges across all the spectrum, from customer service to blocking systematically large purchases in the 1-5k range on a fully paid card having a 15k limit. You don't have such a limit in order to buy all the candies and gum lining the entrances to the cashiers at any Walmart store!!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer care

by AJITH HIRIMUTHUGODA on Sep 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I got the Walmart master card recently and had no problem for several months, but today my card was declined at a Mississauga Walmart outlet. My payments were up to date. The customer care people at the location were not able to help me so I called the number 1883316133 several times and contacted a gentleman who was very rude and incomprehensive. After some stupid questions, he was suggesting ultimately closing my account and hung up this incident happened around 5.00 pm on 17 September. Around 6.00 pm another girl called me and she was asking for my driver's license number to unblock my card which is ridiculous!
They were interrogating me as a common criminal! The worst ever experience in my life with a credit card.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Zero assistance

by John on Aug 29, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Phoned them on a Thursday and said I’m going out of province and was told zero issues will happen.
Left Friday. Saturday morning my card was blocked. Told them I had to fax them documents. Currently, Monday 3 days 12 times faxing documents and all I’m told is they are sorry for the inconvenience. I wish I had never applied for this card. Avoid at all costs

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Bad Customer service

by Hewa barzani on Jul 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve been lied to for the past three weeks by customer service agents in Walmart Mastercard. My account has been locked for a while and all I have been trying to do is unlock it. The agents pick up and tell me that they’ll give me a call later after they identify the issue but they never end up calling me. So dissatisfied and I wish I didn’t sign up for this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Not worth the hassle

by BlueSky on Jun 26, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

About two or three times a year my card gets frozen with no notice. I have to call to security centre to confirm recent purchases and payments. It is absolutely ridiculous as it isn’t even triggered by large purchases. It was triggered by me travelling to a city 2 hours from home which is a regular trip I’ve made every 6-8 weeks for the last 8 years! They don’t call you, you just find out when you are trying to make a purchase and find your card is declined. It’s very embarrassing considering I’m never over my limit and I pay it off in full every month. The phone call to get everything straightened around takes a minimum of 15 minutes plus an extra 10 to get it ‘through the system’. The last time this happened I had only taken the one card in with me, not my entire purse so I couldn’t just whip out another card or cash to pay.

They froze it at Christmas time when I was ordering gifts during the Black Friday sales. Had email confirmations of all the orders. The next time I shopped in the store I found out my card had been frozen. Made the call, and got everything fixed. The following week when I realized I hadn’t gotten any notices that any online purchases were shipped I went back to all the websites only to find all the orders were cancelled because the Walmart Credit Card wouldn’t authorize the purchases. I ended up having to reorder everything at a regular price (what I could find still in stock).

I have also a Visa card as well and they’ve never frozen my card. I’ve had a couple of calls from them over the years verifying purchases but they’ve never frozen my card.

I’ve finally reached my breaking point and am now in the process of applying for a replacement Master Card from another financial institution.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Unnecessary Holds and difficulty with customer service

by Elaine Aldridge-Low on Jun 5, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

If you are considering the Walmart World MC be prepared for long wait times and substandard customer service. I have now called 3 times regarding a hold they put on my card. The first call they told me nothing was wrong, second call I spoke to someone in the Philippines who was obviously reading from a script and did not listen to my specific concerns. Told me they had tried to SOS and I did not respond. I did not receive anything from them. I was transferred to their Security department and told they had removed the hold and I could try using the card again in 10 minutes. When I did so it was declined. I called back a third time and asked that my call be escalated and I again spoke to someone in the Philippines who just regurgitated what I had already been told. I don't feel like a valued customer event when I pay my credit card in full every month. I will be switching cards! The only thing this card is good for is the points.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Could be better

by Purplejkats on May 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Have had this card for years and have not had a problem until recently. Had the option to lock and unlock the card as needed for security reasons, but suddenly that option was taken away and my card is locked I can not unlock it. When I called the first time I got someone who spoke English so poorly I could not understand what they said. I speak English not Hindi. The second time I called the person said she would fix it. The third time I called the person I spoke to said it could take up to 48 hours to fix...hope I don't have to call a 4th time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't even try to get this MasterCard 0 customer service

by Mason on May 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Don't even get this MasterCard! Nobody will help you! Not even customer service... It is a bad company doing fraud! No customer service! The card is blocked from transactions and they will keep it blocked... They will say we will call you back but nobody will and nobody helps...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Entirely bad experience

by Helen Sterling on Apr 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My Walmart MasterCard was closed due to inactivity for 6 months, without being even told if this! I have never had a credit card closed in this manner. I went to a Walmart store and attempted to use my card and it was declined 3 times, with a negative balance. This led to a series of calls that informed me of the closure of my account. Each and every customer service representative was very unapologetic for what I was experiencing and, actually quite rude! I ended up, due to sheer frustration, telling them to cancel my card... No apologies were offered. Disgusting customer service!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo