Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Disappointing customer service

by Tao Beckerleg on Jun 16, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

I have been a customer of Walmart rewards Mastercard since 2014. I made a purchase of a plane ticket from Ottawa to BC and then BC to Seattle from Air Canada through a third party website using my Walmart rewards Mastercard on October 15, 2023. One of the two tickets was successfully paid for, but the other was blocked by the system due to irregular payment transactions. I then called Walmart customer service to inquire and was told by an employee that multiple transactions showed up on the system in the amounts of $695, $609, $709.98, $695.10, $695.90, $709.18 and $905.98, and many more, which led to the second transaction to be blocked. I was alarmed by the multiple transactions that I did not recognize so requested that all transactions be cancelled including the initial payment that was accepted. Kelly confirmed that this was done successfully, and I had no outstanding payments from the airline.

However, on November 13, 2023, I received a statement from Walmart rewards mastercard asking for a payment of $608.34 for a flight ticket from Air Canada dated October 17, 2023. I called Walmart customer service and spent about 4 hours trying to get through to the right person. I was transferred to more than 5 employees and then ended up being redirected to the first employee I spoke with. I felt that I was being played and they did not care about trying to help resolve my problem. I was finally transferred to the dispute department and was told that a dispute form will be mailed to me. On November 17, 2023, I called customer service again to inform them that I have paid the total amount on the most recent statement minus the $608.34 since the initial transaction should have been cancelled. I mailed the dispute form soon after.

On January 31, 2024, I made my last payment to Walmart rewards Mastercard, again excluding the $608.34, while waiting for outcome from the dispute. Since then, I did not receive any additional communication from Walmart and was unable to log into my online account. on May 21, 2024, I received a letter in the mail from the collections division stating that my payment was severely overdue and immediate action was required. I had to call Walmart to finally be able to log into my online account and saw that the amount owing has now been written off and transferred to collections division. I was told by the collections division that I now owed $726.89 due to interests, and they redirected me to Walmart dispute department. I then called Walmart again on June 14, 2024, and spoke to an employee who told me that they never received my dispute form and hence the case is closed and there is nothing further they can do. I asked for another dispute form to be mailed to me, but this employee refused and disconnected the call.

I’m very frustrated with the whole process and lack of support from Walmart customer service. Having been a loyal customer since 2014 and having never missed a payment otherwise, this kind of treatment from Walmart is very disappointing. I’m posting this here to hopefully get some resolution without resorting to legal means.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Customer Service incompetent

by MVQ on May 22, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

Worst customer service ever. They cannot even explain properly how the charges incurred in my card despite paying the balance statement in FULL and before the DUE DATE. They just keep making excuse as it is a residual charge but cannot even elaborate how that happened. Walmart Mastercard team should re-train their customer service.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worse customer service -absolutely no stars!

by Frustrated on Mar 20, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Absolute worst customer service dealings I have ever had with a credit card! I will be cancelling the card … I will also advise others to NOT give your business to Walmart Rewards Master Card

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Too many fraud purchased

by Alex on Mar 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

There are numerous fraudulent purchases on this card. Upon activating your account, you'll incur unexpected insurance fees monthly, stemming from purchases you're unaware of. Even if you make calls to cancel all of them, all of them will automatically recur again in the next year. They won't rebate your account balance for these charges, leaving you to cover the bill yourself or risk damaging your credit. Instead, they routinely issue new cards with supposedly rebated balances, which often isn't the case upon account inspection after card receipt. Regarding customer service, they always fail to address customer issues, employing convoluted language to create further complications rather than offering straightforward solutions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst customer service and high interest charge

by dips on Mar 5, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Had got this credit card when i came to Canada in 2020. Used it few times. Always paid minimum amount even after not using the card. got interest charge every month. was told there is insurance on my card which i was never told about. never got an email or the statement. Called customer service to cancel the the credit card and asked how I can pay 889 dollars even after not using the card that much. Instead of giving a proper response and completing the conversation they kept on asking me is there anything else. Faked the accent of talking nicely to customer. Will never buy this card again. Worse customer service ever.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by aiden s on Feb 13, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I got scammed and charged some amount. Called them 10 times and they keep coming up with excuses not to finish the dispute and give my money back. Every time I call they keep referring me here and there and not accomplishing anything. That's it I'm switching.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Customer service

by ElyE on Jan 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

A Walmart cashier offered to set me up on a Walmart mastercard and payed for my items with the mastercard which felt nice.
11 days later, I called to follow up because I had not received my mastercard and wanted to prevent paying late fees!
I talked to 9 agents, figured out the card was sent to the wrong address. Everytime I was transferred to a new person I had to repeat my full name, number, address, email address, if I have a 2nd person on my card, credit limit of my bank account which really made the process feel crazy! By the 8th person, I decided to close my account so I wouldn't have to deal with phone calls like this anymore!
Talked to the 9th person, closed the account, payed the outstanding balance online.
This took 3 hours of my day.
So
Do not do it unless you would like a headache! :)

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst service I have ever experienced.

by Priti on Dec 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customers service does not do what they say. Security department does not function the way it is supposedly have to.
I have been waiting for my card cancelation, refund and new card for over three months. Called them 4 to 5 times, every time promise and issuance is given with no results.
Customers service reps do not have clear English as well.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

I would not recommend Walmart MasterCard to a friend or family member. OR ANYONE!

by Caitlyn on Dec 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I have been put through hell and back with the security team over the last few months. It took everything out of me to deal with a fraud charge of $500 dollars. (Charge From the USA, and I live in Canada). Originally they removed the charge and said they will investigate it. 2 months later they called me back saying they regret to inform me that I am responsible for paying the charge. Anyone I tell this story to says how fishy it is and that it’s not right. I don’t appreciate how the security dealt with it. She was not helpful at all. I spoke with the supervisor who was actually really nice but I’m still upset about the whole situation. Their investigation sounds completely made up and I do not trust them at all. I paid the remaining balance on my credit card and cancelled my account with them. They didn’t fight for me to stay or anything. I’ve been with them for a few years and have an incredible credit score. It’s so sad how they treat their loyal customers. I have so much to say. But please do not go with this company. I was able to get a new credit card with a popular company and I feel safe about it. When I checked the reviews for Walmart MasterCard I noticed people have had a similar experience so I realize this is an ongoing issue. I wish I checked the reviews before I even applied for this card. Thanks for reading my review and I hope it can help someone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

No security measures ..

by WalmartMCFraud on Dec 12, 2023
1.5 out of 5 stars

DO NOT USE THIS CARD.

My 83 year old aunt used the card 2-3x per months for the last 10 years. Only 1 pre-auth. Someone called Mastercard and got a new card with her name and a different number and bought 12k in gift cards (and 1 gas and McD's) in just over 4 weeks.

Walmart sent it to collections and would not even listen to us when we called to deal with. They told us "not our problem" Their fraud systems should have picked up dozens of gift cards which was not her pattern.

Dealing with police now. Wasted hours...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo