Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(105 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author
Clear all

Awful customer service for term life insurance

by Derrek on Mar 31, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

SunLife Canada's customer service was painfully slow, made no use of the Internet for communications and was frustratingly bureaucratic and impersonal.

To begin with, when I applied for term life, they started withdrawing a premium before the policy was even approved and before the date I requested to start the coverage. Whenever they notified me about my application, they sent it by Canada Post (regular mail) which always took a week or more to arrive and more than once they gave me incorrect information when I called their customer service line. I couldn't even look up the status of my policy online.

An abysmal experience for me. It just wasted my time and money, so I cancelled the policy. Then, after I cancelled it by registered mail with plenty of advance notice, they still withdrew a premium for the next month and literally took a month to refund it to me -- via a cheque in the mail, of course.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Deceitful Corrupt manipulative company Sun Life

by Sun Life Deceitfulness on Nov 20, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

My wife’s parents started a life insurance policy in 1976 for her. In 2012 a Sun Life representative informed us that we could withdrawal mature dividends in the amount of 3200 and that it would not affect our policy in any way no documents were signed and we used the money to pay off a one year interest free furniture loan. To our disbelief we were informed years later that Sun Life classified it as a loan which had accumulated extensive interest and depleted our policy. We contacted many representatives from Sun Life who agreed we had been misled and lied to yet the company would not do anything other than force us to close the policy. My wife has Lupus stage 4 kidney disease and other health issues. Sun Life is absolutely despicable ruthless and if nothing else I hope this review will inform other honest people trying to help loved ones to never deal with Sun Life Respectfully Submitted David and Heather

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Overpayment refund

by Disappointed costomer on Oct 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It's very difficult to claim refund from overpayment even after complying all the pertinent docs they need the waiting period should only 10 working days of processing as they said but it takes days and even weeks and worse is months from them to give refunds....

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Retirement

by Drago on Jul 11, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

My retirement payment due date was April 1st, Now is July 11 and I still I didn’t get my first pension. What a shame! I’m behind with payments for my bills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible, buyer be aware!

by Johan on Aug 31, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took me 6 months of back and forth to finally be approved on a disability mortgage... A week after I was told I was approved they had told me more information required! They don’t have the public as their best interest but they are very good at collecting your money!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

NOT IMPRESSED

by bbbbbbb on Dec 31, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this life insurance for 14 years and did not realize that once I turn 65 it is now called "My life choice renewable term insurance". My payments were $20.50 and now since I turned 65 they will be $50.50. What a scam. They will not refund what you paid into it if you refuse to pay the new price. All I can say is what a waste of money I put into this. So what do they do with my Money? Where does it go, if not back to me? I asked if I could case it in as some insurance policies do, but the person I was talking to (who hardly spoke English) said no. Pretty sad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Don't touch this company

by Un happy customer on Aug 5, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

CROOKED FRAUD COMPANY

by cassey16 on Mar 21, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I have a life insurance policy with this company for over 25 years. Four years ago I took out a loan against the policy. I made monthly payments to pay off the loan. It was paid off a year ago. One year later they sent me a statement saying that I was still owing over $800 in loan on the policy.
Disgusting, lying, stealing company. Don't trust this company. I am fearful that this company will steal money from my insurance when I die and my family will not know.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

DO NOT USE SUN LIFE.

by Steve on Mar 20, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

#1 SUN LIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sun Life has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sun Life. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUN LIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sun Life a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sun Life with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sun Life because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sun Life actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sun Life is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sun Life because they are so terrible to deal with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Pick the right advisor

by mwong on Feb 21, 2018
5 out of 5 stars

I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo