Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(66 reviews)
Sun Life
2.5 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Unprofessional

by Average consumer on Oct 27, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Awful customer service. They had a lot of attitudes and provided inconsistent information. Incredibly unprofessional.
I had spoken with a supervisor and they came to the call ill-prepared, without looking into the chat I had with support.
Always call into their support to clarify before using a benefit. They are not clear and some benefits actually require additional reasons other than the ones provided in the insurance booklet.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Life insurance

by Ruby Au Yee on Oct 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Would never deal with Sun Life - a crooked company. I had a broker for many years and stole thousands of dollars from my premium policy and yet he only got a slap on the hand for stealing. Still working as a financial advisor!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unacceptable customer service

by Asim Shrivastava on Sep 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Impossible to get through to their helpline. Tried calling through the mobile app. It doesn't work - there is no such option that comes up. Every year, despite adding my beneficiaries, they remove my daughters from coverage without any intimation to me. Unfortunately, I don't have a choice as they are appointed by my employers. I would NEVER use them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.

LIAR, FRAUD and SCAM

by Ana G on Aug 18, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I subscribed to Medical + Dental 6 weeks ago, started being covered 4 weeks as soon as it got approved. Received my SUNLIFE Insurance card last week. However today, I went to the dentist and to my surprise had to pay $600 because I found out SUNLIFE doesn't cover me. I called and asked for some explanations. They replied over the phone they only start covering Dental in 3 months from now (will be active in November 2021). We're in August 2021! I asked "why" since I pay, got approved and know I'm currently covered for medical for 4 weeks. They say that's how they proceed. But when I subscribed, they never clearly stated I'll have to wait 3 additional months, never said Medical and Dental won't start the same date even though I subscribed AT THE SAME TIME, WITH THE SAME FORM. This is NONSENSE and without a doubt a fraud, in order to take advantage of vulnerable clients. Shady practices with a questionable ethic.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Circus of a provider

by Fitzpatrick on Aug 5, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Had low expectations for this company and was still let down. Customer service is a joke and refuses to resolve even basic issues without consistent complaints. Mobile and web platforms also repeatedly don't function as intended, making constant calls the only way to get anything done with them.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Denied claim on a technicality

by Sad Disappointed Sunlife Customer on Aug 5, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Out of all the group benefits providers I have used Sun Life has been the worst customer experience. The gist of my complaint is they refused to pay the full claim for my contact lenses/eyeglasses because they said I filed the claim 2 days early from the exact 2-year anniversary date. Called 2 times and no resolution was provided. Escalated issue to a manager but was denied access to a manager or the claims adjuster. They could not reimburse me for the full amount or allow me to cancel the claims and resubmit it. CSRs were from another country and it was difficult at times to understand them (English was not their first language).
If anyone has a small business looking for group benefits, please avoid this company at all costs!!!! No point to have unhappy employees. My experience with the other insurers was excellent. A call centre was in Canada or North America. The employees were empowered to fix issues.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Representative disappeared

by Cocol168 on Jul 29, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

Salesperson completely disappeared after we said we wanted a lower premium and coverage. Luckily for us, that meant we went with another broker and got even lower rates.
She was knowledgeable but this kind of work ethic makes me question Sun Life as a company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Phone service is terrible

by Reception101 on Jun 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I work in a dental office and call insurance companies all the time. Never bothered to leave a review until today. Sun Life always keeps me on hold way longer than any other insurance company. And when I have another call come in, I can't put them on hold for 30 seconds without them hanging up. Even though they tell me I have a minute, they don't care. Worst customer service of any company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Not Reliable at all

by Veryunhappycustomer on May 30, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I am one of the employees
They are ok when you are paying them
When you get really sick...
They send you to their “assigned” doctor or psychiatrist and his opinion even if it is wrong is taken into consideration and they don’t respect your own family doctor or your own psychologist, psychiatrist or any type of doctor you deal with because they really don't pay you when you need them, I was extremely sick and they did their best to prove me otherwise, so I needed to deal with my sickness and extreme stress from my insurance paying me!!!

Plus when you appeal they take many months
To reply that it was refused!

I would give them less than one star!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Poor Service and Web Portal

by Daniel Wong on Mar 16, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Sun Life is very archaic. Being in the 22nd century where internet access is very basic and common, Sun Life can not provide the simplest customer information on their web portal. No life insurance policy access, no current cash surrender value of life insurance. Once you buy their product, don't expect any post-product service. You would think Sun Life is a large enough company to provide such post-purchase information and service. Beware and look elsewhere to compare.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics