Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

(226 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
245,178
consumers
(1.6 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

Always have issues

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Disapointed Mar 17, 2020
Since I got a new employer, I had to switch to Sun Life. I have had nothing but huge problems with them. After months of paying for a family plan, my fiancé had dental work done only to find out we had to pay all money out of pocket because Sun Life was saying that we were not covered. After many many calls with them, they finally saw that we were in fact covered and had been this whole time. Fast forward 5 months later and we still have not been refunded the money. They are now trying to claim that they paid us out. Incredibly rude cutting me off when I tried to explain what had happened. They do not listen, do not refund or properly cover you for multiple claims. I will be cancelling my coverage and will never deal with them again. I will go back to my previous insurance company which is wonderful, respectful and I never have issues with. Sun Life, maybe you should treat you clients with respect as we pay for the seats you sit in.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Hotel California Experience

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Retired Feb 27, 2020
My wife & I are retired and had our health private health coverage with Sun Life. As of Feb 1, we switched to another company (very similar coverage and $96/month cheaper). I found a Sun Life cancellation form on a Sun Life site online, completed it and faxed it to the number given, I also put a stop on their automatic withdrawal at my bank effective Feb 1. They tried taking money out & were rejected. Meanwhile, my pharmacy screwed up & continued billing Sun Life in Feb until I found out about it & straightened it out with them. I emailed Sun Life's customer service department that looks after private health, explained what had happened and asked again that they cancel my policy. Today I got a letter saying they would take 2 payments out on March 1 to make up for the missed one. I called the number provided in the letter (as I don't want my credit to take a hit) to straighten it out. The young lady on the other end may as well be a robot. She asked if I got the welcome package when I signed up. I said I had. She said there is a toll-free number to call to cancel. I told her that I have a speech impediment (which should have been obvious to her anyways) and I sometimes find it hard to communicate over the phone. I told her how I found their cancellation form on their site and used that. She asked what phone number I faxed it to. I read it off to her and she says "that's not our number". I told her I can't be held responsible for bad information on their site! She kept going back to the phone number in the welcome package. We did this dance for 10 minutes until I asked to speak to a manager. She took my info and said they would get back in 24-48 hours. She said if they had covered any medicines during this time (which they did because of my pharmacy's screw up) then I would be libel for that month of coverage. I told her that was insane. I would happily pay back any amounts they had paid. My premiums are $323/month and they paid out a little over $100 for my medicines. I am not expecting anything from the manager other than what the robot told me. If I had the money to fight this I would on principal but since I don't and want to keep my credit score good I will probably pay the extortion demand.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Scam rip off

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Dissatisfied Client Feb 17, 2020
Biggest scam! They got 25 years of my payments and denied my policy at the age of 56.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Customer service line

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by alex Jan 23, 2020
The customer service line is not working!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Why people hate insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Firsthand experience Jan 08, 2020
I've been with Sun Life for 5 years never having to put through a claim. Once I had to put in a claim they made it the hardest thing I have ever had to do. Because I was submitting my claim documents after my policy had ended (allow for 90 days) they refused to take the documents by fax or email. The requested that I mail it in. This happened 3 times, each time they advised me that they never received my documents. After the 90 day period was over they told me that they declined my claim. Honestly, this is why people hate insurance. The lack of compassion and understanding by the representatives was pathetic. Many people consider insurance fraud as a victimless crime and I agree. For people to take money from you every month and refuse to pay a simple claim for eyeglasses is beyond pathetic.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

NOT IMPRESSED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by BB Dec 31, 2019
I have had this life insurance for 14 years and did not realize that once I turn 65 it is now called "My life choice renewable term insurance". My payments were $20.50 and now since I turned 65 they will be $50.50. What a scam. They will not refund what you paid into it if you refuse to pay the new price. All I can say is what a waste of money I put into this. So what do they do with my Money? Where does it go, if not back to me? I asked if I could case it in as some insurance policies do, but the person I was talking to (who hardly spoke English) said no. Pretty sad.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Cheats!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Angel S Dec 30, 2019
I see so many complaints here and on other forums but clearly, they don't care. They do not want to pay their customers. Deny claims at any cost. Claimed for a pair of prescription glasses and they denied saying the seller we bought glasses from is barred and they expect us to know this. No notifications from their side considering I have an app and I received numerous notifications from them. After I complained they said it's not their fault it's the seller who is a fraud. Worst customer service. How can they blame the seller who is cheating us by not telling when they are doing the same thing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Avoid Sun Life

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by psi Dec 09, 2019
I am dealing with insurance companies daily. Some insurance are better, some are worse. However, most are reasonable. Sun Life is not. Everything about Sun Life screams that they want to avoid paying claims at all costs. There is zero (0) customer service. Extremely poor quality in claim processing (Many mistakes) and 0 willingness to rectify anything. They seem to be reasonable on the sales end of things. But once you have a policy they basically do not exist.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Website & Service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Jerry Nov 24, 2019
Created my Sun Life profile. Security flags it and suspends my account. To unsuspend it, I need a new password. I reset my password on Sun Life, they send an email and I click the link which is somehow expired, try again. 5 tries later, still locked out of my insurance and can't file any claims on my benefits yet. My employers are paying these scam artists to pretend to provide coverage that is mediocre at best. Their customer service line also doesn't work half the time (multiple redirects into hang up).
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Poor customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Anjali Nov 19, 2019
I have a very bad experience with this Sun Life. I am 7 months pregnant and had an accident. Due to this, I have severe pain on my lower back and upper back. Since I am pregnant, physio can't do much on my back. So my doctor said I should not go to work since. This pain can go really bad and has a risk to a baby's life too. Sun Life said: no, you can go to work and they won't pay me. It looks like they more than a doctor. Terrible company to deal with. Worst customer service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance ever

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by sandra Nov 19, 2019
My husband and I bought insurance with our kids as riders. Months pass, everything was ok. Years went by only to find out that we no longer had insurance. They changed our broker, we change our address still no updates. Checked our bank account only to find out they stop taking money out for about 3 months with no warnings. Not even a letter or a phone call. I am so disappointed!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Scam Insurance Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ClassAction Nov 05, 2019
This company is sneaky and does all sorts of avoidance games to not pay costs for health care, DO NOT invest with this company! Stress leave: When my short term stress leave ran out from employer's contribution, Sun Life kept putting off approving my long term stress leave for months, knowing full well I had no paycheques. They basically 'starve' you out for months, until you are forced to go back to work, even though you are not medically ready yet. Circumcision for my child: Sun Life told me they would cover the costs of circumcision for my child, so I got the procedure done for $1300.00. Then they denied the claim after I submitted the receipt. They will play the game of - "who told you that and on what date?"
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sorry excuse of a Company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Erin123 Oct 11, 2019
Where does one begin? Their customer service is completely unorganized and unprofessional. Oh, and they are total crooks. I was informed by an agent something (big) was covered and when I tried to submit it was denied and three months later they have not addressed my questions. And their technology is seriously lacking and behind other providers. I’ve used other providers and while they are all the same to an extent, none are as grimy as these guys.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

My Sun Life experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Terrible Sun Life Oct 09, 2019
So, I decided to apply for Sun Life since my employer had it before with us and since we got laid off I thought it would be a nice thing to continue... But I was wrong I wish I could give them negative stars! Not only did it take 2 months and they promised me several times I could continue it with my plan. Once all the paperwork was signed they took back almost everything they previous said over about 15-hours of phone time in 2 months just so that after I sign the last page they can tell me - "oh, no, you can't continue your previous plan and now you have to wait 4 months before we give you benefits... So, yes, you can say Sun Life doesn't care about anything besides their income!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sun Life; Pas facile!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Eric L Sep 26, 2019
Encore difficile de faire quelque chose qui devrait être super facile. La lois pour les médicaments est facile; tu est assure avec le prive ( et c est complique pour toi ) ou avec le gouvernement et la pharmacie fait tout pour toi. En ce moment je dois passer des longues heures a gérer une simple réclamation qui avant de payer 2, 200$ par année d assurance me prenait 5 minutes en pharmacie.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Access my Account

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by daash Sep 24, 2019
Sunlife access my account without my authorization. This account is only for bills and I don't have an active account with Sunlife. After literally faxing 100 times without the fax going through, I was told best to send the proof through email. Had to call and be adamant that my complaint be look into. Received this email as a response. Hello, Thank you for your email. I was sorry to learn the payment was taken from your bank account in error and returned. This should not have happened. I have refunded the bank charge you incurred for $48.00. You should see this in your account within 2-5 business days. You will not see this payment taken from your account again. Please let me know if you have any questions. I ask for an explanation of how they got access to my account and how this happens, no response.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Never Meets Service Standards

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Liz Sep 18, 2019
Sun Life never meets their service standards. If they agree to respond within 10 days, you still have to call and ask for them to put a rush on your file on the 10th day or else it could take much longer. Also, their customer service is very rude and slow. They consistently tell me that I have not submitted items that I have submitted only to realize that I have submitted it and they don’t even apologize after. Sun Life also created two profiles for me when I started my policy with them and have not been able to consolidate it months later resulting in an IT nightmare when I call every single time. AVOID THIS COMPANY. It’s not worth your time.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

SUNLIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by MMF Aug 07, 2019
I agree with the person who submitted an existing review on SUNLIFE. Everyone, be warned! Do not purchase insurance from this company, especially Critical Illness and Long-term care insurance. They will take your money and then not pay out to you when you do become sick or disabled. They will give you the run-a-round from customer service, feed you lies for an extended period of time and then deny your claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid Like Plague

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Tony Jul 20, 2019
They refused flat out to reimburse my claim without any reason. So I contacted their service department, who claimed that they needed "extra supporting documents", which was never mentioned during the claim process. Then when I pressed further she said that, oh we've had issues with this therapist in the past. For the record, I've had friends who went to the same therapist a few days prior and they never had issue with their insurance providers (one was using Blue Cross, another was with Great-West Life). And even after I submitted the documents they asked for, they still refused to reimburse me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Very sneaky

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shawn Jul 15, 2019
Got stuck with 300 dollar bills because of a hidden and vague disclaimer which apparently did not cover the procedure. Very sneaky.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Poor Service!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by SUN LIFE Jul 03, 2019
They don't even read emails. Very poor disorganized company! They have no problem taking the money out every month but when you fall on hard times you get "we will look at it next week"! SUN Life is late with the mortgage payments when they were given all the information they asked for. Don't depend on Sun Life because they will let you down when you need them most!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

Screw up

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by YouWillPayUP Jun 28, 2019
In 2016, I applied and was approved for Disability Insurance through my Scotia Bank Mortgage account. In 2018, the doctor put me on Disability Leave. When I went to access my Disability Insurance for my mortgage, I was notified that they made an error and ticked off Chronic Insurance instead of Disability Insurance. They assured me that the correction would be made. Months later, instead of correcting the error, they paid me out what I had paid towards the Chronic Insurance and basically refused to help me! I contacted the Office of the President of Nova-Scotia Bank to complain. They investigated the matter but it took months. Finally, I told the Office of the President that I would go see a lawyer and within a week, SunLife acknowledged their mistake and paid me out a portion. Now my Mortgage is in foreclosure due to receiving their payment too little too late, and they didn't even pay the hardship or the financial burden that they caused. Two thumbs down to them!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Awful communication

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by mr Jun 14, 2019
Email or by phone they really don't help. On the phone, they're in a rush to get rid of you and email they don't respond to any of the questions you ask. Ended up having to ultimately take my own time off, I hope I never have to deal with them again.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by steven May 28, 2019
Had an agent who came online and she started speaking to me as if to say I did not speak English. I asked to speak to her supervisor to which she said sure and then put me on hold for 15 minutes, and then hung up on me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst insurance company ever

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by Francesca May 23, 2019
It is the worst insurance company ever. I had to send them twice the copy of the receipt because they lost it. And still, I did not get the money I claimed back. Stay away from them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

Worst Benefits Coverage Ever!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rlnelson May 08, 2019
They don't cover ANYTHING that is actually REQUIRED to survive (literally!) The worst benefits coverage ever! I am unfortunately on LTD, and pay my OWN premium every month, and still they deny most of everything that I require to LIVE. I have to pay it out of pocket. My income has already been cut in half, then I pay out of pocket for my premium, then I pay for SO MUCH of what is needed to survive, out of pocket, while trying to raise a young family! Their benefits are absolute garbage, and would never recommend them to ANYONE needing insurance. Their customer service is terrible too.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

registration frustration

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by JG Apr 19, 2019
Why does it have to be complicated just to complete your registration?I have provided all my information and still have to wait a week for that registration code, what is the point? Sunlife should find a way to make things easier and faster.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

stressful (Disability)

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jordan.b Mar 13, 2019
Okay. Let's get things straight here, I would give a 0/5 for Sun Life in the disability sector. 3/5 to the group benefits. I have been off work due to what I have found out is bad ADHD and a myriad of anxiety disorders that I have been dealing with my whole life, and things have started to go extremely bad aka, almost suicide... I have been doing my due diligence with going to my appointments etc. waiting. Going to more appointments. Until I have finally gotten to see my psychiatrist today. When I first applied and got accepted for my disability claim. It took 3 weeks to get anything done. It took two weeks for my case manager to get a hold of me and confirm. Then after that. It took a week for my claim amount and dates to process. Then somehow a whole week to mail me a check... second time I applied for an extension. It took another 3 weeks to get any money. It is extremely difficult to get a hold of any case manager. As for some reason they aren't actually ever in their office. Why? I do not know. This is a benefits company. You are supposed to be helping people who are disabled or in need of help. These people need quick service. Not a lot of people have a whole months worth of savings to back themselves on to these days. May I mention, we also pay into this. So it is basically our money, to begin with, okay? So I have been diagnosed with bad ADHD and three other anxiety disorders along with a stress disorder. So my fiance and I were not able to pay rent due to 3-week delays, which happened twice now. I have been evaluated and strictly told to take 3 months off work for new medication and a strict plan ordered by the psychiatrist. I have left 4 messages in the last 3 days trying to get a hold of a case manager, to avoid the previous almost month-long delays. It is absolutely ridiculous, unprofessional and stressful. Sun Life financial should be stripped of their licenses and removed from the insurance business. People need money when they are not working. Unbelievably horrible service from this company and I am appalled my company uses them for their insurance and benefits. I could go on all day about the bad experiences I've had with Sun Life. But this will have to do. If someone high up in Sun Life reads this on some off chance. There needs to be some changes
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Send code by email???

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by Rgcool Mar 10, 2019
It's nice that the online registration gives you the option to send a code for signing up by email or snail-mail (postal) but then doesn't ACTUALLY give you the option to have the code sent to your email! You can only have the code sent by regular post, which takes 7-10 business days! Why have the option when you click "what is this" then not give you the actual option to send via email!?!?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Medical insurance

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cloudbase Feb 27, 2019
The company I was working for closed the business and all employees made redundant. This was in August 2018. Despite the claim being made in July 2018, the first contact to advise that no payment would be made was the end of February 2019! Denial of claim, then numerous calls and it took three calls to the call centre (offshore of course), and 10 days to get a call to advise no payment. Awful service! I was advised that as of mid-July 2018, due to administrative issues, all claims had been suspended. Why so long and so many calls/faxes/online claims to get the answer? 7 months is astoundingly poor service!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?