Independent Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

(184 reviews)
This page has been viewed by:
162,616
consumers
(1.7 out of 5 stars)
Customer Service:
Value for Money:
 

They try and make it hard...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by drralbert Nov 19, 2018
They make things up to try and get you drop your claims and customer service people are rude from the first call...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

LTD

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Bewildered Nov 01, 2018
I would not even give them 1 star, but I had to submit this. I applied to LTD and it was a nightmare from the start. I have paid into this for 12 years and I was warned when applying that they review to deny. My claim was for acute anxiety, stress and physical/health issues and in the end, I was told it was "due to reasons of a personal nature rather than an illness or injury" even though I had a 3-page letter from a psychologist stating otherwise and a 5-page signed note from my doctor. I had to do a personal interview on the phone, which was a joke. I should have declined the interview. It made me feel like a victim and only caused me more undue stress. They are not there for our health. How is a claim denied with signed documents from doctors? I looked into suing them and had a lawyer set up, who wanted to pursue it but I have opted to step away for now. You can google search this to find lawyers who specifically deal with denied claims. I cannot put who I found, but they are there if you require additional help to pursue your claim.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sun Life Financial Advisor

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Customer Oct 24, 2018
I dealt with a very unprofessional and rude service provider on behalf of Sun Life. It's my personal belief their lack of knowledge and inability to address issues makes them unqualified to provide the services they attempt to provide to customers. Their advice for me to remove my investments and life insurance from Sun Life was not taken. I am looking forward to Sun Life appointing a qualified and professional representative who will provide professional and respectful service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

ZERO STARS!! JUST TERRIBLE :(

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by NotImpressed321 Oct 18, 2018
I have group benefits with this company and it's been a nightmare since day one. I mailed my claim forms to them that consisted of four documents. They separated them and entered my ONE claim as two. So I was told all my information is missing but it wasn't...they made the error. I spoke with someone who told me they fixed it and they would resubmit it for me. I hear nothing from them for two weeks, so I followed up to find out that it was rejected due to a date missing (had the month but not the day) on my receipt even though all the other forms submitted with it had the date electronically printed on them. I was asked to get a new copy and then use their stupid mobile app to resubmit the receipt. I did that. Hear nothing again. Follow up again and was told my information is missing...the SAME first problem was never actually fixed on their end. So I'm told to resubmit the same form again with a new reference number. I ask why it's needed because they have it, and they were incredibly rude and were just sending me their list of auto responses. I disconnected, and spoke with someone else who told me I could go on their website and just enter the claim amount - easy peasy...WHY DIDN'T THE OTHER ELEVENTY BILLION REPS I SPOKE WITH TELL ME THIS?!?! I'm incredibly reluctant that this suggestion of entering it online will work...but it's another waiting game, I guess. Save your time...save your employees' time and do not use these guys. They are just awful. You have to follow up all the time, otherwise, you won't know what's going on. They do not communicate anything to you. Of course not, right? Why would they want to reimburse you money? Apparently, to them, that's not what benefits are for...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Sun Life bad customer service

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Michele Oct 17, 2018
This is not the first time I am calling Sun Life customer service and each time the representative isn’t helpful at all, they are short, almost rude and not willing to explain anything. My claim got denied and I called to find out why. I was told my claim online was missing information. When I asked if I missed any fields, I was told that I should mail out the claim instead!!! The rep didn’t want to tell me if I had missed any fields. Then I had to wait a few minutes to get a mailing address and the rep then went quiet!!! The worst experience ever!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

IMPOSSIBLE TO CLAIM

 
(1.5 out of 5 stars)
by SUNLIFECRITIC Oct 15, 2018
If you try to make a large claim (say for a few months of medical claims), it is impossible because you will be logged out automatically after 8 minutes and an error message will say "logged out due to inactivity" as you are entering the data. That is not inactivity. Then you will get on the chat line for customer service and see you are number 75 in the queue and after 40 minutes, the chat will start and after 1 minute you will (guess what?) be logged out for inactivity as you are typing.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

DI hurry up and wait

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by iluminati Oct 03, 2018
Thomas Jefferson was wrong... all men are not created equal. Montreal Sun Life Disability office is evidence that some are less equal between the ears at least. Terrible service and BAD attitude towards people that pay them.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

Awful to deal with

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by jlbrcic Sep 25, 2018
I have a public health plan with them and I dread every time I have a claim. Use Blue Cross, much better service. Very onerous process and forms. Seem to do everything to dissuade from claiming benefits. Rude staff.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Health benefits

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andrew Sep 20, 2018
Awful service and not a user-friendly website. Easier to deal with Revenue Canada than Sun Life Insurance bureaucrats. Terrible website and poor instructions. Avoid this company at all costs. Departments don't communicate information with each other. Do not send any documents at the Montreal address indicated on the claim form or they will lose your receipts or even destroy them. Pay more and get a better company. Anything but Sun Life. This company does not even deserve one star.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

AVOID SUN LIFE

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Giselle2018 Sep 05, 2018
AVOID THIS COMPANY. I’ve been paying into my benefits, you’d think the least they can do is take a phone call from me and give me some information on my claim. I’ve been in the process of filing a disability claim for almost a month now and all I’m trying to do is check the status (when I should be receiving money as I’ve been off of work now for over a month due to high-risk pregnancy) and every time I call, someone tells me they can’t access my information because my file is handled in another office and I’m tired of being transferred over there to a voicemail. The same number that I’ve called twice before and was able to speak to someone who was able to access my file is the same number I’m calling again and it’s taking me all over Ontario and no one can access my information. Does Vancouver not have a customer service centre with people who actually pick up the phone like Waterloo or Toronto or Halifax or Montreal does?? Every time I’m transferred to Vancouver, I’m forwarded to a voicemail. This is so ridiculous I’ve never experienced this before, this is the WORST customer service and everyone I speak to is telling me something different. I don’t even know why my file is being handled in Vancouver when I live in Toronto. They even have an online option where you can “track your claim” and every time I go to look, it shows me that I supposedly haven’t filed a claim in the last 90 days. When I finish sorting this out, I'm CANCELLING and switching somewhere better, this is a disgusting service. Been off of work for so long and I’m due in 3 weeks and I can’t even enjoy a peace of mind like these insurance companies claim to give you whenever you need your.... behind.... covered. 0 STARS. I’m leaving this review anywhere I can so people can avoid this stress.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Not there when you need them!

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Brokebeaver22 Sep 05, 2018
I've been paying premiums for myself and my wife for years, when I actually need their assistance ...they take 3 weeks to answer your claim (online) and refuse to pay because my wife's provincial health insurance was not valid at the time! I mean that sucked but we thought we were all right until it got sorted because I freaking pay for insurance as well... What's the point of paying for insurance if they refuse to insure you? **Garbage company, looking to leech off of your bank accounts!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

Charging me and not covering

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by LaneyB Aug 31, 2018
This is by far the worst company I have ever interacted with (in any industry, for anything). They are currently charging me for vision insurance but do not have me in the system. Because they do not have me in the system, they say they can't be charging me. My paychecks say otherwise. The customer service is slow, rude, and completely unknowledgeable. They are inexpensive because in this case, you really do get what you pay for. The hours of time you spend trying to fix their mistakes is worth so much more than the money you "save". If you care about yourself, choose ANY other company.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst group insurance provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by hong.n Aug 17, 2018
I submitted three claims for prescription drugs ranging from $46-72 dollars. I was given $3 back in total because senior claims manager said the reasonable and customer cost of my prescription was $1. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU BOUGHT PRESCRIPTION FOR $1? He suggested that I shop around. Going back to Great West Life. Sun Life in my experience is the worst insurance provider for a group. Recommending my employer change providers.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

medical or non medical

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by medical claim Aug 07, 2018
The worst insurance provider that we have chosen for our company; it was a terrible decision and the staff is completely incompetent
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Don't touch this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Unhappy customer Aug 05, 2018
Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.
 

Out of sun, out of life...

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Andre E. Jul 27, 2018
Forget about the policies and rules that are agreed on upon contracting with Sun Life. They will do whatever they can to rip you off based on their own judgement, based on what's more convenient to them. They will say 'You are covered for this drug up to the reasonable and customary amount of the lowest priced equivalent drug', but THEY are not reasonable, so they will apply customary amount as they see fit. Time to process your payments is another joke. 3 to 4 weeks minimum after they receive the claim, which you still have to send via regular mail by the way. Well, I guess that's because it still is 2018 and we do not have many alternatives to paper, right?
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Terrible provider

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Shane Jul 09, 2018
Customer service is terrible. Perhaps it was just who handled my claim, Renee P. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 35-year old female, a term life insurance policy for 10 years with coverage of $500,000 will cost you around $15-$20/month? Getting your life insurance quote today will allow you to lock-in a great rate.
 

Zero peace of mind

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Sbright Jul 07, 2018
Almost three weeks waititing on a claim that is pending. No one has any answers, case manager working on my file happens to be out of office today and her manager didn't even have the decency to return my phone call. I have already waited the 60 days waiting period, I've been told no missing information or additional info needed, so what's the hold up? It's disheartening that the people you trust in purchasing a product to give you peace of mind don't care enough to give it. I'm very disappointed. Cause more stress to someone who is healing, shameful
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Worst Insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Vannie Jul 04, 2018
Absolutely the worst insurance company. I have group benefits with Sun Life through work. They always find excuses to not reimburse the payment. I submitted several prescription drugs for my son and they returned and said the drug is not covered. My son had severe eczema and the hydrocortisone was prescribed by a medical doctor. But they said it's alternative herbal medication and not covered. Really? Hydrocortisone cream is not a herbal cream. I paid extra every paycheck to cover my son but at the end, all claims were denied. Useless policies and it's a company that needs to change. I urge all employers to not insure your employees with Sun Life. $ not well spent.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.
 

Personal Health and Dental

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by xtxpr Jun 29, 2018
Looked into Sun Life for Health and Dental as a small business. The worst customer service and the absolute worst coverage offered. They never get back to you, pass your calls around until your disconnected and will only deal with you via snail mail. THEY DON'T COVER WHAT YOU ACTUALLY NEED COVERAGE FOR. They could have told us this from the beginning. Instead, they picked apart the paperwork for two months (this box not checked, this wasn't initiated) before sending via mail once again nothing was cover. They will not cover any medication that you are already taking!!! THEY COULD HAVE TOLD US THIS TWO MONTHS AGO INSTEAD OF DRAGGING IT ALONG!!! No humanity, just lengthy bureaucratic process without no actual help.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Great service

 
(5.0 out of 5 stars)
by Chuch Jun 01, 2018
Sun Life has always been very easy to work with. I love my advisor. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years now and my investments are making money and I feel secure that my loved ones will be taken care of if anything happens to me.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).
 

The Worst insurance company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by overit May 24, 2018
I am only with Sun Life as it is my husband who has their benefits through work. But I would never choose them if I had a choice. I had a claim I submitted with them, checked that it was indeed something covered by our benefits before going to the service. I submit the claim with my backup and get told it was denied - so I call in and first I get this extremely rude employee screaming at me on the phone and telling me over and over that it was denied because they are my husdand's insurance and not mine to use (though I am on the policy and know that I am under him on the insurance), he wouldn’t even listen to me, so I hung up and called back - spoke to another lady who put me through to her manager, who told me she couldn’t see why my claim was denied but that I needed to get the person who completed my service to call in with their information (though they had their registration number and all nesscary information.) I did so and had the person call in - waited forever to hear anything back about this and in an email, they say that they will reimburse me for this claim - great! But of course not, the reimbursement still hasn’t come yet and that was over a month ago, I called in to see what was going on and was told they won’t speak to me about anything. My husband needs to call and though my service came to $245 (and we were covered up until $300 per service), they are only reimbursing $100. So I’m just fed up at this point and say save your money. If you don’t have to go with Sun Life, don’t.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Avoid at all costs

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Trevor S May 23, 2018
Sun Life has the absolute worst group insurance service ever. If you have a choice, pay any other company other than Sun Life for medical and dental insurance. They will do whatever they can to deny claims that they will eventually have to pay. They do what they can to make life difficult on their CUSTOMERS. The people that pay them! That is crazy to think. These guys are on a sinking ship because they don't have common sense and they like redundancy! Do yourself a favour and pay someone else. I guarantee they will be better than what Sun Life provides.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.
 

keep away from this company

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by gouda s May 09, 2018
I am paying for the highest health insurance plan they have since year one and for the first time I sent my drugs invoices to claim department, which is a basic medication for regular hypertension, but they say that my drugs list is not covered, why? No answer, only told me to contact my area agent, I called him and briefly, he told me that it's not his responsibility!!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

AWFUL Claim experience

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by PA Apr 23, 2018
I only have Sun Life because of the company I work for. I submitted a few claims since November last year and EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM had a problem with the processing. I had all the backup documentation, everything properly done and still, there were errors with the processing. I'd NEVER recommend Sun Life to anyone. Stay away from them, if you want to keep your sanity!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance , you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.
 

LTD Coverage DENIED

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by ToyotaKid Apr 21, 2018
After dealing with a serious cardiac issue, and returning to work before the end of my Short-term benefits, I have since been hospitalized TWICE for the same condition. Now that I will be looking to use LTD for a short time until I'm able to return to work, Sun Life delayed and stalled for a month after being sent all the information from my Dr as requested. After a month of delays and no income, my "rep" decided to pass my file to their "Health Partner" (AKA: A Doctor they pay to deny claims) for review. This so-called "partner" OVERRULED my Doctor and Cardiologists findings and have denied my coverage. I am not well enough to return to work yet, as my Dr indicated, and now over 2 months later, I am still in the "appeals" process. No income, for 3 months, maxed out CC's, used all my savings to survive...And still no resolution. This is a very common game they play... Stall and delay and bully you until you're unable to remain off work any longer due to financial pressures, regardless of your health. I have 8 co-workers who have had to retain a lawyer in order to receive BENEFITS THAT YOU PAY FOR. How this company hasn't been sued out of existence is beyond me. They are immoral and unsympathetic, and their "customer service" is absolutely appalling. ZERO STARS
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

Disgusted and Confused

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by DisappointedCustomer Apr 10, 2018
I only have Sun Life because of the company I work for. I had surgery and I submitted ALL necessary COMPLETED paperwork back in Feb. I had surgery in March and it is now April and I STILL have not received my disability. Sun Life claim to have needed info from me that they already had in file. They told me it would take 5 days to have my claim assigned. I called 4 days later and my claim still had not been assigned! They're saying they dropped the ball and it will take another 5 days to be assigned and additional time to have my claim approved so I can finally receive my benefits. By the time I receive my benefits, I will be back at work. I can not begin to explain how disappointed and disgusted I am with this company. My disability is my only form of income while I'm out of work and they're basically telling me there is nothing I can do about it even though they dropped the ball! This is absurd and Sun Life should be investigated! I'm committed to exploring every outside option I can to have them take responsibility for their actions. If an individual pay monthly for your insurance, you should at least have the decency to pay out in a timely efficient manner! Shame on you Sun Life!
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.
 

This is why rates are high

 
(2.0 out of 5 stars)
by azaeal Apr 05, 2018
Been trying to get a claim estimate completed but Sun Life is being stubborn about fulfilling it because they put a stipulation in policy saying only 1 claim per 2 years. I did not use the full portion of the benefits and they are refusing to let me use the remaining portion. No wonder providers charge full amount of your benefits and drive rates up because they know places like this have this stupid rule.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
 

CROOKED FRAUD COMPANY

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by cassey16 Mar 21, 2018
I have a life insurance policy with this company for over 25 years. Four years ago I took out a loan against the policy. I made monthly payments to pay off the loan. It was paid off a year ago. One year later they sent me a statement saying that I was still owing over $800 in loan on the policy. Disgusting, lying, stealing company. Don't trust this company. I am fearful that this company will steal money from my insurance when I die and my family will not know.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote , meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.
 

DO NOT USE SUN LIFE.

 
(1.0 out of 5 stars)
by Steve Mar 20, 2018
#1 SUN LIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sun Life has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sun Life. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUN LIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sun Life a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sun Life with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sun Life because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sun Life actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sun Life is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sun Life because they are so terrible to deal with.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?