Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(77 reviews)
Sun Life
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Awful website

by 123asd on May 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Their website and the sign-in process are a disaster. Call someone to get vague instructions and have some long-drawn-out process just to set up an account to check if something is covered or not.
It's 2022 figure it out!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Rip you off if you don't call them out...

by Jack Nychyporuk on Apr 22, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I had worked with a company that I will not disclose. Sun Life sent me a letter with my investment total as I was leaving the company I worked for. The withdrawal fee on the letter I received stating my investment total and my options was 25$. Googled the withdrawal service fee after the transaction took place and it even stated 25$. The lady had charged me 75$ for the withdrawal fee. And on top of that. In the two days that it took to process. My investment dropped by 20 dollars. Not a lot but that's 70 dollars that one of their workers had probably just pocketed. Make sure you know the proper information before dealing with them. They took advantage of me because I misplaced the letter I received.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Runarounds and claim denials

by jmcinwpg on Apr 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My place of employment changed health benefits provider 5 months ago. Nothing but problems every time I try to have my prescriptions filled. From their customer service people who are a waste of time (not being able to access anything on my account to wrong information provided).
If it has a lesser cost than other plans, there is a reason! Just remember, you get what you pay for.
If you have a choice, please do not waste your time with Sun Life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Terrible service

by Elisabelle Cossette-Plamondon on Mar 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Spent 3 hours on various phone calls to just get my account "finalized" to submit a claim. My online claim submission option is still not available after 2 weeks. It takes 45 minutes to get someone on the support line, and even then, they try to hang up on you before answering half your questions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unable to contact after several trials of many hours...

by Philippe on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have called several times and have been unable to reach anyone for help...
After one hour of waiting, I am told I am not at the right place (despite having had advice from the local advisor to call these numbers) and I am transferred to another line where the wait is over one hour. I eventually had to leave as I have to work and I am not able to take a day off work to get through the system.
And the same process is ongoing.
What am I supposed to do?
It seems to me that the company is incompetent or is mainly concerned about maximizing profit but certainly doesn't care about customers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

My father died 3 years ago. Still waiting?

by Another victim on Jan 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy life insurance from Sun Life. My mother has been waiting for 3 years to collect my father's small life insurance policy. The paperwork and legal fees they charge are robbery. They should be ashamed of themselves.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

THERE ARE OTHER INSURANCES THAT ARE BETTER THAN SUNLIFE!

by Francheska on Jan 20, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

When using the online chat sometimes it is frustrating because there are "temporarily unavailable". Had to wait more than a year to get covered for the dental coverage. Agents don't explain this, only want commissions! There is other better insurance than Sun Life. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Our advisor not available and not reliable

by Constance Tapar on Jan 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

We want to let you know if you encounter an advisor named Ender D. not to deal with him or do not close any transaction with this man. We've been turned away and do not call us back regarding the policy of my husband... We tried for so many months to call us back concerning the policy unfortunately this advisor has never ever tried to call us back since 2019! We even went to his home office at Etobicoke and leave a message to a neighbor... She claimed she is a neighbor.... But we received no call back from this irresponsible advisor. We would like to reach Sun Life to ask this advisor to attend to all his clients' needs and be responsible to call back his clients. And all the clients in the future do not ever transact to this advisor and surely what he did to us will do the same what we experience... frustration and stress.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

12 year client. Not there when I needed them. Multiple disappointments.

by Joel Robic on Dec 26, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Sunlife confirmed coverage of charges ahead of time when I verified. They then refused payment. When I called Sun Life the service team blamed internal consultants for coverage refusal. Multiple calls and wasted time, each time Sun Life promised to rectify the situation. They never did and ultimately waited until we gave up. Stay away from this company. Over the 12 years, I was a client because of my employer... I have multiple examples of this company actively avoiding coverage and generally being a terrible insurance company. If you have a choice stay away from Sun Life at all costs.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Worst insurance experience ever

by ClearWhite on Dec 19, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have Sun Life gold package for dental treatment. All estimates sent by my dentist have been rejected, nothing approved.
Nothing covered...
Very low standard insurance provider

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics