Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(102 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews Clear all

Drug Benefit

by Chris Nickel on Apr 16, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

The Pharmacy I attend raised their dispensing fees back in January by 1 dollar.
My Group Benefits with Sun Life state 100% coverage without any noted limitations like "up to and including".
Sun Life will not recognize the dollar increase and are forcing me to pay. I know, it's only one dollar, but that's not the point to us it? Next year it might be two, etc.
Currently, in short term disability due to surgery. Lost wages claim felt like a lot of delay, with numerous "we need more information from your doctor" and "we need some clarification from your doctor". Not outside the realm of possibility, just having multiple responses of this kind makes me think, either my doctor is a fool or Sun Life dragged its heals.
When I return to work, I am putting serious thought into leaving group benefits and going back to our previous group benefits provider in a private basis. Already acquired quotes and they look favorable.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible customer service, unclear terms and conditions, multiple loopholes

by Insuredincanada on Apr 5, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I can't explain how painful it is having switched to Sun Life from my previous provider. Their submission process and customer service is abysmal. They have an excuse or loophole for pretty much anything.

I would stay away unless you plan to never have any issues or a need for support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrrible

by Kristen on Feb 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

So you pay for the insurance but every time you go to the dentist or eye clinic, you do not show up on the website as active. So you call Sunlife they say they fix the problem, then go back to the clinic and still not active. This has been happening for a year. What a scam!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Ghosting me on my claim

by Christine R on Jan 10, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

Called 3 times to file a claim on my policy and no one will call me back, it has been a month since I first called to file. Insurance companies are notorious for making a claim difficult to pay out but I did not expect this from Sunlife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Shocking incompetent and uncaring

by Enas Satir on Nov 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I don’t know where to begin..
I pay $90 per month and I still pay all my medications out of pocket.. been reaching out to sunlife over and over to fix the issue and they keep referring me to ‘advisors’ who are disinterested.. keeping blaming each other for whatever is wrong..
very disappointing!
I’m shocked this is the best insurance service available in Canada!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Overpayment refund

by Disappointed costomer on Oct 12, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

It's very difficult to claim refund from overpayment even after complying all the pertinent docs they need the waiting period should only 10 working days of processing as they said but it takes days and even weeks and worse is months from them to give refunds....

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Run around on life insurance claim

by Jessy Halleran on Jun 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

The people who work here are completely incompetent! I've spent countless times on the phone trying to get my dad's life insurance. They always give me the run-around and then switch me to someone else. In what world would the dental department also look over life insurance claims? They don't! Didn't stop me from being transferred to them multiple times though.

Sun Life didn't send me an email with the required information so I can actually claim my dad's life insurance. Every time I call to try and get them to send the information they give me the run around through different departments and eventually, they settle on a callback, which just starts the whole thing over again. Losing my dad was awful enough, having to go through all these hoops to try and get the money he paid into for over 30 years is pathetic.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor communication

by Lynn Follier on Jun 3, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Waiting 5 months on a claim decision. Absolutely ridiculous and caused my family to declare bankruptcy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Runarounds and claim denials

by jmcinwpg on Apr 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My place of employment changed health benefits provider 5 months ago. Nothing but problems every time I try to have my prescriptions filled. From their customer service people who are a waste of time (not being able to access anything on my account to wrong information provided).
If it has a lesser cost than other plans, there is a reason! Just remember, you get what you pay for.
If you have a choice, please do not waste your time with Sun Life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Terrible service

by Elisabelle Cossette-Plamondon on Mar 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Spent 3 hours on various phone calls to just get my account "finalized" to submit a claim. My online claim submission option is still not available after 2 weeks. It takes 45 minutes to get someone on the support line, and even then, they try to hang up on you before answering half your questions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics