Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(80 reviews)
Sun Life
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada

by Marc-A on Jun 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Le site ne fonctionne pas pour consulter les garantis... un message téléphonique d'une autre époque avec un demande de téléphoner plus tard dans la semaine en raison d'une forte demande...
3 transferts plus tard avec un conseiller sans réponse, sans solution...
Pas de superviseurs disponibles, un retour dans 10 jours avec possiblement une réponse

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada, merci Sun Life de nous rappeler ce qu'une entreprise ne doit pas être !

Une heure de pure perte de temps

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor communication

by Lynn Follier on Jun 3, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Waiting 5 months on a claim decision. Absolutely ridiculous and caused my family to declare bankruptcy.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

THE ADVISOR HAD ABSOLUTELY NO TRANSPARENCY! Told me after the money got taken out.

by Sara Cristina Eremita on May 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am 32 years old and recently this year decided I needed to start thinking about putting money away. I met a Sun Life advisor at the women’s show set up at the Sun Life booth and got in contact. First of all the lady spoke with me and then called me back maybe an hour later saying "I’m sorry I forgot to put you in the schedule. What time was our appointment and day again?" ( OK BIG RED FLAG I clearly looked past too on my part. But I figured it’s Sun Life they are extremely reputable no biggie. We all have those days). The next step was a zoom interview, she spent a whole hour or so with me going through a long questionnaire about my best fit, my income my debts expenses, ect... to decide what policy was best based on my income and lifestyle. So she set me up with equitable life, I told her that based on my income I could afford a max of $50 off my pay by end of the month. Then I said to her ok let’s do $40 with inflation and everything I don’t wanna take a chance.

So she says she will change it to $40 a month and I think all is good. First paycheque and I see $50 taken off. So I send her this message :

"Hello and good afternoon Suzette,
I Just wanted to inform I saw $50 was taken off my bi-weekly paycheque when I had requested the change to $20 bi-weekly or 40 monthly? Can you please explain why I saw the $50.00 off this biweekly paycheque deduction? After requesting the change with you. Also if this was expected and changing the amount to $40 was not something that would be reflected in time... as far as I can remember correctly, I was not made aware this would happen. If I mention financially I am worried about struggles and ask for $20 off each bi-weekly cheque this is more detrimental to me. Please explain why I am seeing this, much appreciated.

Have a good day,
Sara E."

And she responds with …..

"Hi, Sara,
Good morning, I apologize for the confusion as per Equitable Life the minimum deposit is $50 per month. Unfortunately, $40 does not meet the requirements for the funds. You can send me a letter requesting to cancel the policy and issue a refund based on the market value back to your bank account. Please include your policy# 600750186"

SO SHE TAKES MY MONEY AND LETS IT ALL GO THROUGH THE PROCESS AND NEVER ONCE TOLD ME THERE WAS A $50 minimum and she could not accept $40 and we should find another plan? She just lets it process and goes ahead and tells me afterward? After she maybe got a piece of it I’m sure. If there’s a minimum and you’re aware of this you say something not wait until the money is taken from me first. I was so upset.

Then she says …

“Apart from being a savings account, the account is also an investment account the money deposited is used the buy investment funds. I recommend opening a savings account with your bank as these types of accounts will require a minimum $50 deposit. I will need a letter of direction to cancel the account and send it asap before the next withdrawal date.
Suzette C"

Ok, so this lady told me this is a segregated RRSP you put your money in it builds interest… There’s no real risk of losing, ect... making it out to be pretty average savings, not stocks or anything like that.

I had to do a stop payment with my bank and I will NEVER EVER EVER RECCOMEND. Such a lack of transparency, greedy little advisors working there getting their piece of the pie! Disgusting!!

I was literally better off keeping my money under the mattress as my immigrant ancestors did now I get it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Awful website

by 123asd on May 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Their website and the sign-in process are a disaster. Call someone to get vague instructions and have some long-drawn-out process just to set up an account to check if something is covered or not.
It's 2022 figure it out!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Rip you off if you don't call them out...

by Jack Nychyporuk on Apr 22, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I had worked with a company that I will not disclose. Sun Life sent me a letter with my investment total as I was leaving the company I worked for. The withdrawal fee on the letter I received stating my investment total and my options was 25$. Googled the withdrawal service fee after the transaction took place and it even stated 25$. The lady had charged me 75$ for the withdrawal fee. And on top of that. In the two days that it took to process. My investment dropped by 20 dollars. Not a lot but that's 70 dollars that one of their workers had probably just pocketed. Make sure you know the proper information before dealing with them. They took advantage of me because I misplaced the letter I received.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Runarounds and claim denials

by jmcinwpg on Apr 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My place of employment changed health benefits provider 5 months ago. Nothing but problems every time I try to have my prescriptions filled. From their customer service people who are a waste of time (not being able to access anything on my account to wrong information provided).
If it has a lesser cost than other plans, there is a reason! Just remember, you get what you pay for.
If you have a choice, please do not waste your time with Sun Life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Terrible service

by Elisabelle Cossette-Plamondon on Mar 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Spent 3 hours on various phone calls to just get my account "finalized" to submit a claim. My online claim submission option is still not available after 2 weeks. It takes 45 minutes to get someone on the support line, and even then, they try to hang up on you before answering half your questions.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unable to contact after several trials of many hours...

by Philippe on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have called several times and have been unable to reach anyone for help...
After one hour of waiting, I am told I am not at the right place (despite having had advice from the local advisor to call these numbers) and I am transferred to another line where the wait is over one hour. I eventually had to leave as I have to work and I am not able to take a day off work to get through the system.
And the same process is ongoing.
What am I supposed to do?
It seems to me that the company is incompetent or is mainly concerned about maximizing profit but certainly doesn't care about customers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

My father died 3 years ago. Still waiting?

by Another victim on Jan 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Do not buy life insurance from Sun Life. My mother has been waiting for 3 years to collect my father's small life insurance policy. The paperwork and legal fees they charge are robbery. They should be ashamed of themselves.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

THERE ARE OTHER INSURANCES THAT ARE BETTER THAN SUNLIFE!

by Francheska on Jan 20, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

When using the online chat sometimes it is frustrating because there are "temporarily unavailable". Had to wait more than a year to get covered for the dental coverage. Agents don't explain this, only want commissions! There is other better insurance than Sun Life. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo