Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(83 reviews)
Sun Life
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Retirement

by Drago on Jul 11, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

My retirement payment due date was April 1st, Now is July 11 and I still I didn’t get my first pension. What a shame! I’m behind with payments for my bills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Ms. Jollymore & Mia

by Barbara Shore on Jul 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Sun Life appears to not believe severe depression is a disability. They need to update themselves and enter the 21st century. Initially approving, then denying a disability by Ms. Jollymore, mother of a severely disabled baby, receiving palliative care and they cut off her benefits.
Disgusting behaviour, but not *unexpected* from these rip-off insurance companies that get rich off our backs. Sun Life is one of the very worst.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

OUTRAGEOUS lack of support for Mental Health issues

by Disillusioned Therapist on Jul 5, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

As a healthcare practitioner, who has more than 20 years of experience, I worked throughout the pandemic providing frontline care. Suffering burnout and compassion fatigue, (called major depressive disorder by my healthcare practitioner) I accessed my workplace benefits for support. After leaving me without ANY benefits for a period of 2 1/2 months (from May to July, while they 'reviewed' my claim, Sun Life ultimately decided that I did not qualify for benefits because I did not meet all their criteria - i.e: not accessing enough mental health support. In a time when Mental Healthcare is most in demand, and unattainable. When daily reports that Mental Health issues are at an all-time high. I accessed, as much as I was able, but not 'enough'. They also stated I did not qualify as 'Totally disabled'. No, I wasn't. I was open to, and actively involved in a graduated return to work plan, with accommodations in place! But that made me not totally disabled. A catch-22 like a leg-hold trap! Do you want me to pretend to be sicker, and more disabled than I am so I can qualify for services? Yet, I am also expected to be actively involved in a rehabilitation plan. This is a scam. Sun Life as an organization should be ashamed of itself. I've worked with clients for over 2 decades to support their mental health and wellness and advocated for them when they encounter challenges and resistance from Insurance and employers. Then, when I need support - it is not there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada

by Marc-A on Jun 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Le site ne fonctionne pas pour consulter les garantis... un message téléphonique d'une autre époque avec un demande de téléphoner plus tard dans la semaine en raison d'une forte demande...
3 transferts plus tard avec un conseiller sans réponse, sans solution...
Pas de superviseurs disponibles, un retour dans 10 jours avec possiblement une réponse

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada, merci Sun Life de nous rappeler ce qu'une entreprise ne doit pas être !

Une heure de pure perte de temps

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor communication

by Lynn Follier on Jun 3, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

Waiting 5 months on a claim decision. Absolutely ridiculous and caused my family to declare bankruptcy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

THE ADVISOR HAD ABSOLUTELY NO TRANSPARENCY! Told me after the money got taken out.

by Sara Cristina Eremita on May 31, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am 32 years old and recently this year decided I needed to start thinking about putting money away. I met a Sun Life advisor at the women’s show set up at the Sun Life booth and got in contact. First of all the lady spoke with me and then called me back maybe an hour later saying "I’m sorry I forgot to put you in the schedule. What time was our appointment and day again?" ( OK BIG RED FLAG I clearly looked past too on my part. But I figured it’s Sun Life they are extremely reputable no biggie. We all have those days). The next step was a zoom interview, she spent a whole hour or so with me going through a long questionnaire about my best fit, my income my debts expenses, ect... to decide what policy was best based on my income and lifestyle. So she set me up with equitable life, I told her that based on my income I could afford a max of $50 off my pay by end of the month. Then I said to her ok let’s do $40 with inflation and everything I don’t wanna take a chance.

So she says she will change it to $40 a month and I think all is good. First paycheque and I see $50 taken off. So I send her this message :

"Hello and good afternoon Suzette,
I Just wanted to inform I saw $50 was taken off my bi-weekly paycheque when I had requested the change to $20 bi-weekly or 40 monthly? Can you please explain why I saw the $50.00 off this biweekly paycheque deduction? After requesting the change with you. Also if this was expected and changing the amount to $40 was not something that would be reflected in time... as far as I can remember correctly, I was not made aware this would happen. If I mention financially I am worried about struggles and ask for $20 off each bi-weekly cheque this is more detrimental to me. Please explain why I am seeing this, much appreciated.

Have a good day,
Sara E."

And she responds with …..

"Hi, Sara,
Good morning, I apologize for the confusion as per Equitable Life the minimum deposit is $50 per month. Unfortunately, $40 does not meet the requirements for the funds. You can send me a letter requesting to cancel the policy and issue a refund based on the market value back to your bank account. Please include your policy# 600750186"

SO SHE TAKES MY MONEY AND LETS IT ALL GO THROUGH THE PROCESS AND NEVER ONCE TOLD ME THERE WAS A $50 minimum and she could not accept $40 and we should find another plan? She just lets it process and goes ahead and tells me afterward? After she maybe got a piece of it I’m sure. If there’s a minimum and you’re aware of this you say something not wait until the money is taken from me first. I was so upset.

Then she says …

“Apart from being a savings account, the account is also an investment account the money deposited is used the buy investment funds. I recommend opening a savings account with your bank as these types of accounts will require a minimum $50 deposit. I will need a letter of direction to cancel the account and send it asap before the next withdrawal date.
Suzette C"

Ok, so this lady told me this is a segregated RRSP you put your money in it builds interest… There’s no real risk of losing, ect... making it out to be pretty average savings, not stocks or anything like that.

I had to do a stop payment with my bank and I will NEVER EVER EVER RECCOMEND. Such a lack of transparency, greedy little advisors working there getting their piece of the pie! Disgusting!!

I was literally better off keeping my money under the mattress as my immigrant ancestors did now I get it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Awful website

by 123asd on May 6, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Their website and the sign-in process are a disaster. Call someone to get vague instructions and have some long-drawn-out process just to set up an account to check if something is covered or not.
It's 2022 figure it out!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Rip you off if you don't call them out...

by Jack Nychyporuk on Apr 22, 2022
2 out of 5 stars

I had worked with a company that I will not disclose. Sun Life sent me a letter with my investment total as I was leaving the company I worked for. The withdrawal fee on the letter I received stating my investment total and my options was 25$. Googled the withdrawal service fee after the transaction took place and it even stated 25$. The lady had charged me 75$ for the withdrawal fee. And on top of that. In the two days that it took to process. My investment dropped by 20 dollars. Not a lot but that's 70 dollars that one of their workers had probably just pocketed. Make sure you know the proper information before dealing with them. They took advantage of me because I misplaced the letter I received.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Runarounds and claim denials

by jmcinwpg on Apr 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My place of employment changed health benefits provider 5 months ago. Nothing but problems every time I try to have my prescriptions filled. From their customer service people who are a waste of time (not being able to access anything on my account to wrong information provided).
If it has a lesser cost than other plans, there is a reason! Just remember, you get what you pay for.
If you have a choice, please do not waste your time with Sun Life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Terrible service

by Elisabelle Cossette-Plamondon on Mar 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Spent 3 hours on various phone calls to just get my account "finalized" to submit a claim. My online claim submission option is still not available after 2 weeks. It takes 45 minutes to get someone on the support line, and even then, they try to hang up on you before answering half your questions.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics