Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(83 reviews)
Sun Life
2.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Retirement

by Drago on Jul 11, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

My retirement payment due date was April 1st, Now is July 11 and I still I didn’t get my first pension. What a shame! I’m behind with payments for my bills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible, buyer be aware!

by Johan on Aug 31, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took me 6 months of back and forth to finally be approved on a disability mortgage... A week after I was told I was approved they had told me more information required! They don’t have the public as their best interest but they are very good at collecting your money!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

NOT IMPRESSED

by bbbbbbb on Dec 31, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this life insurance for 14 years and did not realize that once I turn 65 it is now called "My life choice renewable term insurance". My payments were $20.50 and now since I turned 65 they will be $50.50. What a scam. They will not refund what you paid into it if you refuse to pay the new price. All I can say is what a waste of money I put into this. So what do they do with my Money? Where does it go, if not back to me? I asked if I could case it in as some insurance policies do, but the person I was talking to (who hardly spoke English) said no. Pretty sad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that one in three Canadians, on average, will be disabled for more than three months before they turn 65? Get a disability insurance quote today to make sure your income is secure, even when you are temporary disabled.

Don't touch this company

by Un happy customer on Aug 5, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

CROOKED FRAUD COMPANY

by cassey16 on Mar 21, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

I have a life insurance policy with this company for over 25 years. Four years ago I took out a loan against the policy. I made monthly payments to pay off the loan. It was paid off a year ago. One year later they sent me a statement saying that I was still owing over $800 in loan on the policy.
Disgusting, lying, stealing company. Don't trust this company. I am fearful that this company will steal money from my insurance when I die and my family will not know.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

DO NOT USE SUN LIFE.

by Steve on Mar 20, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

#1 SUN LIFE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS; Pay attention to your investments! I learned the hard way. Sun Life has illegally been charging me a FRONT END FEE and a BACK end fee on my investments for over three years. They pull money in and out of investments just to increase their own fees they can collect. Then, when you attempt to move your funds to a different investment firm to conduct your own investments, they use DELAY TACTICS. All while your investment dwindles away to nothing. Highly frustrating and unprofessional. I requested my funds be moved over to my own financial institution that I deal with. It has been FOUR MONTHS. My bank has been fighting to get my money out of the greedy claws of Sun Life. I have been on the phone with them daily. It's supposed to take up to three weeks. Not four months. What a joke! #2 SUN LIFE INSURANCE; We asked Sun Life a simple question about their life insurance policies available at a local trade show. The lady at the trade show seemed nice enough... So we gave her our phone number. She said she would call us to answer our question later. She called us EVERY DAY for SIX MONTHS straight. Not exaggerating! We were ready to charge Sun Life with harassment as we asked them OVER and OVER again to stop calling. We even went into the office and told them we were not interested in their life insurance. There are better options out there for life insurance. They continued to harass us, attempting to use scare tactics to talk us into buying their insurance. #3 WORK-BASED BENEFITS PACKAGE; What an over-priced pile of garbage. Every company seems to make the switch over to Sun Life because they APPEAR to have lower rates. Then later find out that Sun Life actually doesn't have good coverage at all. Most of the claims that employees submit get declined or audited. Sun Life is extremely difficult to get ahold of and, if you do manage to get through to sometime, good luck understanding what they are mumbling over the phone... Other benefits packages (EG Great-West Life) offer much better packages and a painless online claim process that pays you within 72 hours. Even care suppliers will refuse to use "Direct Pay" if you have Sun Life because they are so terrible to deal with.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Pick the right advisor

by mwong on Feb 21, 2018
5 out of 5 stars

I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

We Regret Our SL Investments

by Jonathan Sevy on Feb 9, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

We bought insurance and financial products from Sun Life in 2010. Their subsequent communications are an ongoing Gong Show. Thousands of words, very few numbers, no transparency at all. Another example just came in: a letter informing us that “the monthly cost of insurance of $140.62 exceeded the fund value in your policy on Nov. 18, 2017, and a minimum payment of $75.27 is required.” We called our very experienced agent (again) to ask about it and got back 2 long emails full of details about our various accounts without clarifying anything at all. Some of the details were flat wrong. We called him again this morning and had to rein his complicated, jargon-loaded, often erroneous explanations in several times before he finally realized what the “fund value in your policy” meant and that the $75 payment was going to disappear anyway when we make our regular annual payment. Our agent pointed out that people commonly lose track of the complexities of their Sun Life policies and other accounts. Well, duh. I asked why, since the company is obviously aware of that fact, their communications are ALL so obtuse as to make their customers feel too stupid to follow what is happening with their investments? No answer. He also had no answer for why his calculations about this matter do not match those of the letter. Sun Life is a Gong Show as far as customer communications and transparency are concerned. The only reason we have not closed our accounts with Sun Life is because none of the 3 tiers of customer service we have contacted can tell us what it will cost us to do so. As far as they have been able to show us, our investments with them have paid less than 5% returns during one of the most profitable markets in the history of the world. We would not trust Sun Life to carry our lunch around the corner, and are chipping away at an escape hatch.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Disgusting company.

by 123fedup. on Feb 2, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Customer Service is appalling

by CMS on Dec 30, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

I had 2 life insurance policies (one company provided and an additional supplemental policy). I decided I no longer needed the supplemental policy and called mid-November to cancel it. I'd already had numerous problems with this company with billing issues on the company provided policy and had experienced months of run-around. I found the same problems in trying to cancel a policy. First of all, you have to wait forever to get thru to them on the phone. Then you are told you need to email your request, complaint, question, etc. to a generic email address. The emails go unanswered. Follow up phone calls get you nowhere. After 3 emails and a threat to complain to my state insurance board, I got a response that my request to cancel my policy was "under review!" I had prepaid for the quarter and called to cancel about 6 weeks into the quarter so expected a pro-rated refund but since they have to "review" my request, they have now dragged this out thru the quarter. Ridiculous! If I want to stop doing business with your company, what is there to "review"...it's not even a claim! And now I am getting the runaround again on the remaining policy I hold with them because I want to go from quarterly payments to monthly so that when I find another policy thru another company and cancel with Sun Life I dont' lose 2 months worth of payments! There is no way to change your policy payment schedule on their website, and a call, when I finally reached a representative resulted in being told to email my request. I flat-out told the rep I refuse to go thru the email run-around again and mailed them 1 months payment with a 7 page complaint letter, including all of my unanswered email threads from previous problems. Avoid this company. I realize from the poor way they treat customers that if my family had to file a claim on my life insurance, they would be treated the same way and face months of stone-walling and being ignored!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo