Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(100 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Terrible customer service, unclear terms and conditions, multiple loopholes

by Insuredincanada on Apr 5, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I can't explain how painful it is having switched to Sun Life from my previous provider. Their submission process and customer service is abysmal. They have an excuse or loophole for pretty much anything.

I would stay away unless you plan to never have any issues or a need for support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Awful customer service for term life insurance

by Derrek on Mar 31, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

SunLife Canada's customer service was painfully slow, made no use of the Internet for communications and was frustratingly bureaucratic and impersonal.

To begin with, when I applied for term life, they started withdrawing a premium before the policy was even approved and before the date I requested to start the coverage. Whenever they notified me about my application, they sent it by Canada Post (regular mail) which always took a week or more to arrive and more than once they gave me incorrect information when I called their customer service line. I couldn't even look up the status of my policy online.

An abysmal experience for me. It just wasted my time and money, so I cancelled the policy. Then, after I cancelled it by registered mail with plenty of advance notice, they still withdrew a premium for the next month and literally took a month to refund it to me -- via a cheque in the mail, of course.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If I could rate them lower than 1 on customer service, I would

by Annoyed on Mar 28, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had an issue with my plan. Each time I'd call I'd be put on hold for 20 minutes, then transferred to someone else for another 20 minutes, at which point the call would go to voicemail. I did have someone call me back, only to tell me they weren't the right department and give me a "different" number to call... it was the same number. I got through to someone who was again no help, and he literally told me the calls (one of which I'd just finished 15 minutes earlier) didn't happen. Despite me having my phone with me and being able to check that yes, I had called multiple times and gotten a call back. He proceeded to insist if it wasn't in his system it didn't happen. So apparently my phone (not to mention my own memory of the hours I spent on hold) did not happen... it's still not fixed. He didn't fix it. I'm just going to *hopefully* start uploading all bills online. If it wasn't a group plan I'd fully demand to switch providers at this point because the people at Sunlife are truely something else. I've never had customer service not only be disinterested in issues before, but then actively deny they happened... are people at Sunlife trained to be as bad at their jobs as possible? If you have a choice, choose something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

Horrible customer service

by CanadianGipsy on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This has got to be the worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Customer service is only responding if you are the owner of the company. As an employee you only pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrrible

by Kristen on Feb 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

So you pay for the insurance but every time you go to the dentist or eye clinic, you do not show up on the website as active. So you call Sunlife they say they fix the problem, then go back to the clinic and still not active. This has been happening for a year. What a scam!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Chat representative outstanding!

by Graham on Jan 24, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

I had a question for SunLife that required a human being to help me with and I found the right one fortunately. It took some time to convince the chat bot that I needed a person but that seems to be par for the course now. I had submitted 2 claims in one transaction and only one had been processed, so I needed to know which one to resubmit. Agent was fast and efficient at getting back to me with the information I was looking for. Best chat experience ever. Thanks.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Ghosting me on my claim

by Christine R on Jan 10, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

Called 3 times to file a claim on my policy and no one will call me back, it has been a month since I first called to file. Insurance companies are notorious for making a claim difficult to pay out but I did not expect this from Sunlife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Agent not available/ Insurance won't work

by Jeel Patel on Jan 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This is tlotrally the worst company you can go with. Honestly, had to wait on call just to talk to a customer support and still no answer. A normal guy living and working a normal life just can't afford to wait and hold on the line for 1.5 hour.
The insurance wouldn't work and there is no reply on the email.
Just do me a favor, don't go with this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Worst insurance ever, dont choose!

by John on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I am with sun life because of work and my password never works, I always have to changed it… can’t access my so caled « benefits » … no customer service, nothing to help! Most useless company and app ever made! 0/10

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo