Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(107 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most helpfull reviews
Review author
Clear all

Arbitrary maximums

by DisgustedWithSunlife on Apr 17, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

For drugs that your doctor prescribes you, there is an arbitrary formula for "maximum dispensary fees" as well as "cusotmary fee for this medication". Which, while I have 100% drug coverage, results in less than 20% reimbursed, leaving me over $100 out of pocket.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Drug Benefit

by Chris Nickel on Apr 16, 2024
2 out of 5 stars

The Pharmacy I attend raised their dispensing fees back in January by 1 dollar.
My Group Benefits with Sun Life state 100% coverage without any noted limitations like "up to and including".
Sun Life will not recognize the dollar increase and are forcing me to pay. I know, it's only one dollar, but that's not the point to us it? Next year it might be two, etc.
Currently, in short term disability due to surgery. Lost wages claim felt like a lot of delay, with numerous "we need more information from your doctor" and "we need some clarification from your doctor". Not outside the realm of possibility, just having multiple responses of this kind makes me think, either my doctor is a fool or Sun Life dragged its heals.
When I return to work, I am putting serious thought into leaving group benefits and going back to our previous group benefits provider in a private basis. Already acquired quotes and they look favorable.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrrible

by Kristen on Feb 8, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

So you pay for the insurance but every time you go to the dentist or eye clinic, you do not show up on the website as active. So you call Sunlife they say they fix the problem, then go back to the clinic and still not active. This has been happening for a year. What a scam!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that if you are a 30-year old male, a term life insurance policy for 20 years with coverage of $200,000 will cost you around $19/month? Getting your term life insurance quote today will allow you to benefit from a great rate.

Unacceptable customer service

by Asim Shrivastava on Sep 27, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Impossible to get through to their helpline. Tried calling through the mobile app. It doesn't work - there is no such option that comes up. Every year, despite adding my beneficiaries, they remove my daughters from coverage without any intimation to me. Unfortunately, I don't have a choice as they are appointed by my employers. I would NEVER use them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

LIAR, FRAUD and SCAM

by Ana G on Aug 18, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I subscribed to Medical + Dental 6 weeks ago, started being covered 4 weeks as soon as it got approved. Received my SUNLIFE Insurance card last week. However today, I went to the dentist and to my surprise had to pay $600 because I found out SUNLIFE doesn't cover me. I called and asked for some explanations. They replied over the phone they only start covering Dental in 3 months from now (will be active in November 2021). We're in August 2021! I asked "why" since I pay, got approved and know I'm currently covered for medical for 4 weeks. They say that's how they proceed. But when I subscribed, they never clearly stated I'll have to wait 3 additional months, never said Medical and Dental won't start the same date even though I subscribed AT THE SAME TIME, WITH THE SAME FORM. This is NONSENSE and without a doubt a fraud, in order to take advantage of vulnerable clients. Shady practices with a questionable ethic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Pick the right advisor

by mwong on Feb 21, 2018
5 out of 5 stars

I've had the same advisor for approximately 6 years now and I cannot begin to tell you how quickly he has handled everything. Sam Pakbaz was there for me when my wife passed away in 2016 and when I called him, he went from his usual cheeriness to immediate shock and worry. He came over 2 hours later and was really sympathetic and let me vent how I felt. From the time that Sam came over that day to him returning with my cheque from Sun Life, it took 8 days. I had put in a couple of claims from other companies and I was shocked when he called and said he would be by later that day with the cheque. My wife passing away was one of the hardest things for me to handle. I'm happy I did not need to handle the paperwork. Thank you Sam and keep up your hard work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

No good for grieving..

by lmwalters on Feb 17, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My daughter's father passed away in May of 2017. We have been going through the run around since then. She still hasn't received her money he has left for her. I am also on there and because I am the "EX-WIFE" they won't give me my part either. I have to get my divorce paperwork and prove that the divorce decree doesn't say that it doesn't go to me for life insurance. I have sent my divorce paperwork and still nothing. I have emailed them and called them and I am getting absolutely NO RESPONSE! It is so frustrating! I think this place is a dang JOKE!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Disgusted

by Molly - 24 on Feb 16, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

This company is absolutely appalling. We were told it would take 2-3 weeks for us to receive our money after cancelling a life insurance policy my father had, on my brother and myself, as he was gravely ill and we needed the money to care for him. After 3 weeks I called, and the money hadn’t been sent. They said it would be one more week. After that, I called. Again it hadn’t been sent. Repeat for 5 more weeks. Every day I told my father not to worry, we would have the money soon. I get a phone call, as we are sitting by my father in the hospital, and they asked for the address for where it should be sent. Over 2 months later they still didn’t even write the cheque. The money came 1 day before my father died, he was in a coma and didn’t know we received it. I’m disgusted by how many times I was lied to and disgusted he spent 25 years paying a company like this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Disgusting company.

by 123fedup. on Feb 2, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Sun Life Insurance long Term

by AngryCustomer on Dec 1, 2017
2.5 out of 5 stars

The person passed away before Sun life Insurance sent the payments to her. So according to the policy, they have to pay 30 times the monthly amount to the surviving spouse or, if there is no live spouse, to their single children under 21. Well, she had a spouse and Sun Life insurance only paid 6 times the monthly amount she was entitled to received. We are still going back and forth with them trying to make them pay

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo