Credit Card Reviews

BMO World Elite MasterCard Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(44 reviews)
BMO World Elite MasterCard
2 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

I have no idea what changed in the past 5 months - BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE WORST

by Jordyn Strong on Dec 5, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I used to love this card for its benefits and customer service.

I have no idea what changed in the past 5 months but I've since canceled my card. No one speaks clear English - took over five minutes to spell out my name - two times, two different representatives kept putting "g" instead of "J" - the wait times are long, took 15 minutes to give my address where my card never came up.

After 8 years of being with BMO World Elite and a similar card for the business platinum level, I canceled both and went to another bank.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Do not wast your time with this card

by Jesse on Sep 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

When you travel or do some type of charge online they block your card making you call and wait hours online to have the card unblocked. Completely done with BMO and this card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible telephone wait times

by BMO phone on Sep 9, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

We're here to help is a totally false flag. They cannot help. No one can wait 3-4 hours on the phone to connect. Doesn't matter if you call the concierge line, the main line, the world elite line, or any other BMO telephone line - you get shuffled off into one main area that says phone lines are busy and wait times are 4+ hours.
Either BMO has a lot of issues with their credit card or they are too cheap to hire a proper company or employees to answer the phone. What are they hiding? Why don't they want to talk to their customers - those that pay the bills and their salary?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Waiting time on phone

by Monowar Hossain MBA, PMP on Sep 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

They hold up my 15K as collateral against my card for the last 4 years. I called them to release the hold-up period, they kept me waiting for 4 hours and 9 min, I posted on my Facebook all details. Then one ring and line disconnected. It was hard to believe for me. Customer service is horrible. Going to close the card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Customer service. Wait time.

by Frustration on Sep 3, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely terrible service and wait time! Canceling card immediately as better service is elsewhere!
My BMO credit card was denied for a transaction. I had a zero balance so I called the 1-880 customer service number. On the first day, I connected to inquire about your account. I waited three hours before hanging up. The next day I tried again and after punching in my number, an automated request said ‘we would like to talk to you about your account’ and said your call is being transferred. The automated voice tells me there are a lot of calls and wait time could be up to an hour but if this is about a lost or stolen card please stay on the line. I thought that would be fast. I have been on hold for almost three hours again. Can you imagine the stress of having your card lost or stolen and being on hold this long? Needless to say, I will stay on hold and clear up this problem. Then immediately cancel my card and go elsewhere.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

BMO Airmiles Elite Mastercard

by Syl on Aug 9, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have this Mastercard that expires in March 2025. I was informed that BMO has made the decision to eliminate the card and replace it with a card with a higher fee. I was told I had until December 2022 to activate a new card. By the way, I had already paid the yearly fee for my current card. Well, surprise surprise tried to use my credit card on August 2nd and the transaction was declined. Called the call centre and waited 3 hours but my phone died so got disconnected. Called the following day at 6 am and waited 15 minutes to be told I need to activate a new card. Really what terrible client service. Big banks do whatever they want without any concern for client impact. Thank God I wasn't travelling. Whoever the Executive that made this decision needs to be fired unless the only concern is fatting up bottomless. I am done and will be moving all my banking.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible Wait time

by EdenF on Aug 4, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I am attempting to get hold of the BMO Credit Card Dispute Department and I am currently on hold. I am on the phone now for 2:28:12 to be exact and have yet to speak to customer service. I reckon that I would be here for another 5 hours? Who has time for this? Horrible!!!! Lesson learned - leave BMO and bank locally (credit union).

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Fine for years and now GARBAGE

by Dave F on Jul 27, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I pay my bill in full every month but now they call with a recorded message saying they need to speak with me - I call them back and I’m on hold for 3 hours (no joke)! When I finally speak to a real human, I’m upsold and told there are no issues with my card - they just want to upset me! 3 hours of my life I’ll never get back. The latest is not getting a bill anymore! 3 times this year and I’m only in month 7. I’ve lived in the same house for 15 years but somehow I’m not getting a bill???
Now if I call just to get my balance, I’m immediately transferred and out on hold for hours! I’m cutting up this card and will never get another!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poor customer service

by F.S on Jul 21, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

There is no upgrade for telephone services. Other banks give you an option to leave your number so they can call you back for BMO there is no such option you have to hold the line for 15-30 minutes! The same issues with online customer service with personal and business accounts. Good luck even being able to read the contact number on the back of the card. I personally talked to 3 managers of master cards to let them know that it is not easy to read the contact number due to the spot of printing it and no changes or updates so far after a year of talk. No improvement or upgrade in terms of customer service over years. I've been up on this bank and will switch to another bank for sure it is frustrating.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. 

Get this card / Apply online

Extreme slow response

by SJ on Jun 17, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

What do you mean wait time 4 hours? If the support service is inadequate to meet the client demand timely, then expand the capacity of the service team or adapt other solutions like call back queue list. This is utterly stupid waste of time, and anger-provoking to stay in line and listen to stupid recorded voice of "appreciating the patience"

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics