Credit Card Reviews

BMO World Elite MasterCard Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(19 reviews)
BMO World Elite MasterCard
3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Looking for the best Credit Card?

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350.

Get this credit card

 

Filter

Most helpfull reviews

Garbage

by Danny on Nov 17, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to talk to someone from World Elite Mastercard for a week. Each time, I am put on hold for an estimated wait time of 2-2.5 hours. I have tried calling several times between 8 am and 9 pm. It’s always the same message. Do you think any our your customers that qualify for this credit card have 2.5 hours to wait on hold?!
You would think paying $125 a year, would come with at the very least - the benefit of being able to talk to one of your employees! Absolute garbage. I will be cancelling my card as soon as I have time. I imagine cancelling it will take 2 hours too!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Still Waiting After Two Hours

by Marjorie on Oct 16, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

At this point, I am looking for another card. Worst customer service ever! Only good for air miles. They still charge a fee for every foreign currency transaction. I pay my bill monthly, but for those of you who don’t, my interest rate went up to 22.5%.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Way too long wait times

by Holly Thomson on Oct 8, 2021
4 out of 5 stars

Got a call that my card was compromised, so I called BMO. Waited 45 minutes on hold, got asked really hard to answer security questions - apparently, I got one wrong or something - as many people would since it’s something many people don’t know off the top of their heads. She told me she couldn’t help me because I failed the security test. That I had to physically go to a branch - because some random hacker on the internet compromised my card or something - something not even my fault. I’m just really annoyed right now so venting. I don’t think they should make the questions so hard to answer without any notice of what they are going to ask. Especially after such a long time on hold.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Customer Service?

by basiler on Oct 5, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

I use this credit card for air miles. But customer service sucks big time. I have been trying to reset my online password as I am locked out, and it's been over a week and wait times have been anywhere from 2 to over 4 hours on any given day. At this point, I may just cancel the card. Customer Service is everything to me. I guess BMO does not feel the same way?

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by TJ on Oct 3, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Got this card after extensive research comparing numerous travel reward cards. I simply couldn't pass up the 3:1 and 2:1 reward rates. The first problem occurred when I was navigating the sign-up for the rewards site... took multiple attempts to secure acceptance of my typed-in info. Directions included in the welcome package were not clear. Started to rack up points and was ready to redeem for a hotel stay through their reward website. Took me 2 hours just to get the website to come up! Followed all steps to book the hotel I needed but the booking didn't go through! I was super frustrated by this time and called the reward centre. It took 2 days before I finally got through and in the end, nothing got resolved. The customer service is terrible!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

5 hrs on hold

by Donna Salt on Aug 31, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been trying to get customer service on the phone for over a week. Every time I call they say over 2 hours wait. I’m locked out for online with my MC, so today I decided to wait. I am still on hold it’s been over 5 hours! That is the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I don’t care how good the rewards are if the customer service don't care!!! Very angry and frustrated! I am going to cut up this card and move on. Don’t ever get this card!!! I will NEVER get an account with the bank either.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Complain

by Laura on Aug 19, 2021
2.5 out of 5 stars

It took me few times to be on the line for more than 3 hours.
Right now I am on the line and it turned my 4th hour of waiting when someone will pick up the phone.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

BMO - what happened?

by Roque44 on Aug 15, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

I have used the BMO World Elite card extensively for about 10 years now. I am highly disappointed recently with customer service. Long wait times and the reps seem so depressed and not attentive. I understand this is COVID time and we all need to be patient, but my calls to the BMO customer service line have been confusing, frustrating and no one there seems to care about resolving issues. I am looking at cancelling my card.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

small prints very important

by MG on Jul 22, 2020
2 out of 5 stars

If you transfer an amount from another card, make sure to read all of the small prints because it’s not exactly 0% interest for one year. There’s a transfer fee, and, if you think there are no minimum payments think again, we still have to make minimum payments according to the law...). Because I missed those minimum payments (since I thought no payments for one year) they will charge you interest for the remaining periods, in addition to the transfer fee already paid. Absolutely not worth it.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst Call Center Wait Times

by Sandy on Sep 3, 2019
2 out of 5 stars

Be prepared to be on hold a minimum of 20-40 minutes. I have called numerous times over the past 2 years generally because I am locked out of my account online and need resets. I have never gotten through without a minimum of 20 minutes hold. Of course, when I first signed up for the card and experienced this I spoke with a manager who said: "We are aware of the issue and are working on getting it resolved". Here we are 2 years later the same problem. In the past, we always used CIBC visas and never did we have any wait times like this...We only switched because Aeroplan points were harder to come by and the program was making changes. After using my points on BMO world elite we will be moving on as my time is more valuable than the service BMO offers.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo