Credit Card Reviews

Walmart MASTERCARD Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(256 reviews)
Walmart MASTERCARD
1.3 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Please don't get this card if you want to sleep without nightmares.

by javbergen on May 31, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Card was pushed on me when I entered the store. Received the card and activating it was no problem. But then the problems started:
I could not find a method on-line to institute per-authorized payment, which i have on all my credit cards.
So I received a bill in the mail and I mailed a check (#006) in the pre-addressed envelope for the full amount. Check was not cashed. Next month I received a statement which included the balance for the previous month plus an outrageous interest on that balance. I mailed another check (#007) for the full amount and called them. Could not understand the person I was talking to (probably some off-shore service) and finally gave up.
Received a new statement with threatening letter demanding payment, or else.
Again, tried to talk to them over the phone without result. I was on the phone for more than one and a half hour, being transferred back and forth. They claimed that they had not received either check. I had no choice but to give up.
In order to cut the crap I went to Walmart Customer Service and paid the total balance by debit card. Meanwhile I had already cancelled the Walmart credit card.
Now It seems that suddenly they found one of my checks (#008) because I noticed that it was cashed on my bank statement. So now Walmart owes me $435.12
Still no sign of the previous check but I am sure that they will try to cash that one too if they finally find it.
Please stay away from this corporate credit card scam, and if you already have one, I suggest you cancel it and cut it up.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Worst service I have ever experienced.

by Priti on Dec 17, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

Customers service does not do what they say. Security department does not function the way it is supposedly have to.
I have been waiting for my card cancelation, refund and new card for over three months. Called them 4 to 5 times, every time promise and issuance is given with no results.
Customers service reps do not have clear English as well.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Unnecessary Holds and difficulty with customer service

by Elaine Aldridge-Low on Jun 5, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

If you are considering the Walmart World MC be prepared for long wait times and substandard customer service. I have now called 3 times regarding a hold they put on my card. The first call they told me nothing was wrong, second call I spoke to someone in the Philippines who was obviously reading from a script and did not listen to my specific concerns. Told me they had tried to SOS and I did not respond. I did not receive anything from them. I was transferred to their Security department and told they had removed the hold and I could try using the card again in 10 minutes. When I did so it was declined. I called back a third time and asked that my call be escalated and I again spoke to someone in the Philippines who just regurgitated what I had already been told. I don't feel like a valued customer event when I pay my credit card in full every month. I will be switching cards! The only thing this card is good for is the points.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Could be better

by Purplejkats on May 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Have had this card for years and have not had a problem until recently. Had the option to lock and unlock the card as needed for security reasons, but suddenly that option was taken away and my card is locked I can not unlock it. When I called the first time I got someone who spoke English so poorly I could not understand what they said. I speak English not Hindi. The second time I called the person said she would fix it. The third time I called the person I spoke to said it could take up to 48 hours to fix...hope I don't have to call a 4th time.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

NEVER EVER SUBSCRIBE FOR THIS CARD

by Syed on Apr 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The so-called rewards are just a way to lure you in and they start putting on interest, other cards if you incur some interest and call would remove the interest but not this one. When I called the lady was ill-trained and had only basic English, instead of listening and replying to my request she just kept on repeating her speech and finally when she understood she refused. I demanded cancellation, for that I was transferred to another agent who said that you are going to lose your rewards so I told him: keep the reward and I'll pay the pending amount including the interest, just close the account. Glad to be out of this short but painful experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

RUN!

by Awful experience on May 25, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Never ever apply for a Walmart Rewards Mastercard. Insane problems, they will put unnecessary "security blocks" so you have to send them additional identification by fax (who uses a fax anymore)... I suspect a secondary scam. My credit is excellent and I fear they have created problems. I cancelled my card and I am still receiving charges, likely from sending them identification to unblock.
The entire support does not speak English. Absolutely no online account to check or verify current charges. Walmart promises discounts for signing up, I would not sign up for a million dollars!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Gong Show

by Angie from Alberta on Nov 29, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Applied for the Walmart Mastercard to get the $25 discount on our purchases and was told the application didn't go through. 2 weeks later, got the card in the mail. Spent 1.5 hours getting thrown from department to department just getting the card activated (barely able to understand the people on the phone). Went to the store to make a Christmas purchase for $560 and the card was declined. Didn't even prompt me for a PIN. Went home and spent another hour getting thrown from one department to the next and was finally transferred to the Security department. Was told that due to the high purchase amount and first purchase, the card was blocked. They requested that I fax pictures of my ID and utility bill to prove my identity. Firstly, who uses Fax anymore, secondly, why wasn't the PIN prompted to prove my identity, and finally, why would I fax my personal details somewhere that can be used for purposes of fraud. After reading reviews with similar experiences, I decided to cancel my card

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

STAY AWAY

by SK on Oct 16, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

I went for the scam to save $25 on my purchase worst mistake in a long long time. I had no intention of activating this card thought not a bad idea to have it in case I ever need it. I have over an 800 credit rating and currently have a Visa and Mastercard from other banks. I bought a bbq at Walmart and scammed into the $25 off on the purchase. As soon as I got the statement I mailed a cheque for the full amount. My phone started ringing 1888 numbers 4-5 times every day the people phoning me were from somewhere in the world but could not be understood so I started ignoring these calls thinking they just wanted me to activate the card. 2 days ago I received another statement saying I was in arrears and they started adding interest. I phoned their customer service line about taking 1 hour and explained all and they said they never received the cheque and they would be sending it to collections soon then he told me that they don't accept cheques on the invoice it says make your cheque payable to... I told him this and he said he had to transfer me to a higher level of customer service back on hold for 45 minutes the next person I could only describe as possibly a french east Indian who was impossible to understand. I gave up all together about 2.5 hours later. I phoned the Walmart store and talked to the manager she said this is all a common story I cancelled my cheque costing me $13 and with another $6 interest charge I have no choice but to go to the store and pay it to save my plus 800 credit rating. The cheque has not been cashed. For your own peace of mind STAY AWAY DO NOY BITE NOTHING BUT A HUGE SCAM shame on Walmart and shame on Mastercard I learned a valuable lesson STAY AWAY AS FAR AS YOU CAN! It would only let me give 1 star I would rate them at least a MINUS 10

2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible Customer Service

by runningwithscissors113 on Jul 29, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

Have never been able to even use their website because it constantly locks me out. Every time. Then you have to call customer service and deal with a foreign agent who tries to upsell insurance and can't help with unlocking account anyway. Deplorable customer service. Their algorithms constantly lock the account and decline normal transactions. Garbage.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo