Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(107 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Affordable Life Insurance?

  • Rates from 20+ life insurers
  • Premiums start at $12/month
  • Standard & Guaranteed plans
  • Can be purchased remotely

Get a tailored quote

Filter

Most recent reviews Clear all

Circus of a provider

by Fitzpatrick on Aug 5, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

Had low expectations for this company and was still let down. Customer service is a joke and refuses to resolve even basic issues without consistent complaints. Mobile and web platforms also repeatedly don't function as intended, making constant calls the only way to get anything done with them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Representative disappeared

by Cocol168 on Jul 29, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

Salesperson completely disappeared after we said we wanted a lower premium and coverage. Luckily for us, that meant we went with another broker and got even lower rates.
She was knowledgeable but this kind of work ethic makes me question Sun Life as a company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poorest customer service

by Cust on Apr 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Poorest customer services. And they virtually don't care about customers. I tried to talk with their advisors for a couple of times, but they ignored to have conversation. Not only that, their offering is most expensive among the market in Canada. Furthermore, their advisors will never share any key details. After trying to reach more than 10 times when finally I got to reach them 11th time and when I asked them to share the investment options over email, they never shared it. And don't seem to be interested in sharing it. So as an individual if you genuinely care about your savings, investment, insurance I think Sun life is the one to go for. Because they are only interested to have your money and that is what their team of advisors do. They won't be interested in having a further conversation if you're indecisive during the conversation.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

They’re bullies and will harass you if you try to make a claim

by Kushaldeep Thind on Apr 23, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Sunlife is the WORST insurance possible. My mom has cancer and is on disability I’m not kidding when I say they will harass and bully you over and over again for the same doctor note (we already gave them like 4, but they want one monthly) like SHE HAS CANCER, but they want to try and save money so they will bully you. They don’t care if you’re sick, it’s literally just about them making money. As a company owner, please don’t get this insurance for your employees.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Outstanding

by Happy Chappie on Apr 23, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

We've already got policies with sun life.
So we increased our coverage today.
Rep was polite, straight forward to talk to & we're now sorted.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible customer service, unclear terms and conditions, multiple loopholes

by Insuredincanada on Apr 5, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I can't explain how painful it is having switched to Sun Life from my previous provider. Their submission process and customer service is abysmal. They have an excuse or loophole for pretty much anything.

I would stay away unless you plan to never have any issues or a need for support.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

If I could rate them lower than 1 on customer service, I would

by Annoyed on Mar 28, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had an issue with my plan. Each time I'd call I'd be put on hold for 20 minutes, then transferred to someone else for another 20 minutes, at which point the call would go to voicemail. I did have someone call me back, only to tell me they weren't the right department and give me a "different" number to call... it was the same number. I got through to someone who was again no help, and he literally told me the calls (one of which I'd just finished 15 minutes earlier) didn't happen. Despite me having my phone with me and being able to check that yes, I had called multiple times and gotten a call back. He proceeded to insist if it wasn't in his system it didn't happen. So apparently my phone (not to mention my own memory of the hours I spent on hold) did not happen... it's still not fixed. He didn't fix it. I'm just going to *hopefully* start uploading all bills online. If it wasn't a group plan I'd fully demand to switch providers at this point because the people at Sunlife are truely something else. I've never had customer service not only be disinterested in issues before, but then actively deny they happened... are people at Sunlife trained to be as bad at their jobs as possible? If you have a choice, choose something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Chat representative outstanding!

by Graham on Jan 24, 2024
5 out of 5 stars

I had a question for SunLife that required a human being to help me with and I found the right one fortunately. It took some time to convince the chat bot that I needed a person but that seems to be par for the course now. I had submitted 2 claims in one transaction and only one had been processed, so I needed to know which one to resubmit. Agent was fast and efficient at getting back to me with the information I was looking for. Best chat experience ever. Thanks.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Shocking incompetent and uncaring

by Enas Satir on Nov 28, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I don’t know where to begin..
I pay $90 per month and I still pay all my medications out of pocket.. been reaching out to sunlife over and over to fix the issue and they keep referring me to ‘advisors’ who are disinterested.. keeping blaming each other for whatever is wrong..
very disappointing!
I’m shocked this is the best insurance service available in Canada!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Deceitful Corrupt manipulative company Sun Life

by Sun Life Deceitfulness on Nov 20, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

My wife’s parents started a life insurance policy in 1976 for her. In 2012 a Sun Life representative informed us that we could withdrawal mature dividends in the amount of 3200 and that it would not affect our policy in any way no documents were signed and we used the money to pay off a one year interest free furniture loan. To our disbelief we were informed years later that Sun Life classified it as a loan which had accumulated extensive interest and depleted our policy. We contacted many representatives from Sun Life who agreed we had been misled and lied to yet the company would not do anything other than force us to close the policy. My wife has Lupus stage 4 kidney disease and other health issues. Sun Life is absolutely despicable ruthless and if nothing else I hope this review will inform other honest people trying to help loved ones to never deal with Sun Life Respectfully Submitted David and Heather

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo