Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(108 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada

by Marc-A on Jun 8, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Le site ne fonctionne pas pour consulter les garantis... un message téléphonique d'une autre époque avec un demande de téléphoner plus tard dans la semaine en raison d'une forte demande...
3 transferts plus tard avec un conseiller sans réponse, sans solution...
Pas de superviseurs disponibles, un retour dans 10 jours avec possiblement une réponse

Un des services les plus merdiques au Canada, merci Sun Life de nous rappeler ce qu'une entreprise ne doit pas être !

Une heure de pure perte de temps

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unable to contact after several trials of many hours...

by Philippe on Mar 7, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

I have called several times and have been unable to reach anyone for help...
After one hour of waiting, I am told I am not at the right place (despite having had advice from the local advisor to call these numbers) and I am transferred to another line where the wait is over one hour. I eventually had to leave as I have to work and I am not able to take a day off work to get through the system.
And the same process is ongoing.
What am I supposed to do?
It seems to me that the company is incompetent or is mainly concerned about maximizing profit but certainly doesn't care about customers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Poorest customer service

by Cust on Apr 27, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

Poorest customer services. And they virtually don't care about customers. I tried to talk with their advisors for a couple of times, but they ignored to have conversation. Not only that, their offering is most expensive among the market in Canada. Furthermore, their advisors will never share any key details. After trying to reach more than 10 times when finally I got to reach them 11th time and when I asked them to share the investment options over email, they never shared it. And don't seem to be interested in sharing it. So as an individual if you genuinely care about your savings, investment, insurance I think Sun life is the one to go for. Because they are only interested to have your money and that is what their team of advisors do. They won't be interested in having a further conversation if you're indecisive during the conversation.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Planning to get life insurance to protect your family, including children? Make sure that you get enough coverage. According to studies, it takes about $250,000 in total to raise a child to the age of 18 (and that doesn’t include any post-secondary education costs).

Awful customer service for term life insurance

by Derrek on Mar 31, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

SunLife Canada's customer service was painfully slow, made no use of the Internet for communications and was frustratingly bureaucratic and impersonal.

To begin with, when I applied for term life, they started withdrawing a premium before the policy was even approved and before the date I requested to start the coverage. Whenever they notified me about my application, they sent it by Canada Post (regular mail) which always took a week or more to arrive and more than once they gave me incorrect information when I called their customer service line. I couldn't even look up the status of my policy online.

An abysmal experience for me. It just wasted my time and money, so I cancelled the policy. Then, after I cancelled it by registered mail with plenty of advance notice, they still withdrew a premium for the next month and literally took a month to refund it to me -- via a cheque in the mail, of course.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

If I could rate them lower than 1 on customer service, I would

by Annoyed on Mar 28, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

I had an issue with my plan. Each time I'd call I'd be put on hold for 20 minutes, then transferred to someone else for another 20 minutes, at which point the call would go to voicemail. I did have someone call me back, only to tell me they weren't the right department and give me a "different" number to call... it was the same number. I got through to someone who was again no help, and he literally told me the calls (one of which I'd just finished 15 minutes earlier) didn't happen. Despite me having my phone with me and being able to check that yes, I had called multiple times and gotten a call back. He proceeded to insist if it wasn't in his system it didn't happen. So apparently my phone (not to mention my own memory of the hours I spent on hold) did not happen... it's still not fixed. He didn't fix it. I'm just going to *hopefully* start uploading all bills online. If it wasn't a group plan I'd fully demand to switch providers at this point because the people at Sunlife are truely something else. I've never had customer service not only be disinterested in issues before, but then actively deny they happened... are people at Sunlife trained to be as bad at their jobs as possible? If you have a choice, choose something else.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Horrible customer service

by CanadianGipsy on Feb 24, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This has got to be the worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Customer service is only responding if you are the owner of the company. As an employee you only pay.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Thinking of getting a life insurance quote from an insurance agent? They work for one insurance company and can only sell the products of that company. That may not result in the best rate for you. Our insurance brokers compare life insurance quotes across 20+ Canadian insurers for you.

Ghosting me on my claim

by Christine R on Jan 10, 2024
1.5 out of 5 stars

Called 3 times to file a claim on my policy and no one will call me back, it has been a month since I first called to file. Insurance companies are notorious for making a claim difficult to pay out but I did not expect this from Sunlife.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Agent not available/ Insurance won't work

by Jeel Patel on Jan 3, 2024
1 out of 5 stars

This is tlotrally the worst company you can go with. Honestly, had to wait on call just to talk to a customer support and still no answer. A normal guy living and working a normal life just can't afford to wait and hold on the line for 1.5 hour.
The insurance wouldn't work and there is no reply on the email.
Just do me a favor, don't go with this company.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Worst insurance ever, dont choose!

by John on Dec 21, 2023
1 out of 5 stars

I am with sun life because of work and my password never works, I always have to changed it… can’t access my so caled « benefits » … no customer service, nothing to help! Most useless company and app ever made! 0/10

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo