Credit Card Reviews

CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(29 reviews)
CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card
1.7 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Wait times are unbelievable

by CarsonSedun on Nov 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Wait times with CIBC Rewards center are absolutely embarrassing. I’ve called twice now and am currently on hold for over 2 hours. It’s a complete joke. I requested a points refund over 3 months ago. Was supposed to take 4-6 weeks and never heard anything back. Their “callback” feature, if you even want to call it that, doesn’t work and they never called me back. Emailed them 4 times in the last 2 months and never even got an automated response. TERRIBLE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Flight booking

by Pan on Nov 18, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I booked a flight with them which I had to reschedule due to Covid restrictions.

The wait time to rebook the tickets has been preposterous. Also, I was able to get to a call center associate who advised that my call will go to the ticketing department and I should expect a call back in three days. Guess what, I missed one call and I had to go through the same process again. The ticket prices became double by the time I was able to reschedule. DO NOT BOOK A FLIGHT WITH THE REWARDS CENTER.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Poor customer service!

by PeterFromVancouver on Nov 6, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been on hold for 1 hour. I purchased a trip last night and received confirmation. Just now received an email saying payment now hasn't been processed and requires me to call in to process the payment.
Why can't this be done online? Why did I receive confirmation and issuance of the ticket if the payment was not processed? Why do I have to call in separately and wait over an hour... thus far?
If you do get Aventura prepare yourself for incredible, tremendous frustration!!!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Worst customer service ever!

by Kathy on Nov 4, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

The airline cancelled a flight and would like to be rebooked on another. Have been on hold: first time 1.5 hours, second time 2.5 hours and third time 2 hours. The emailed callback request went unreturned and so have sent in a second request. Tomorrow I will try for 3 hours before carrying on with my day, as that is what looks like needs to happen. I also have an appointment at the bank. These points are bogus! Stay away from CIBC Aventura!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

HORRIBLE Customer Service

by Unhappy Customer on Oct 18, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

If you book a flight through CIBC rewards and it gets cancelled, be prepared to spend 3 hours on hold for them to tell you that they will not refund your points and that you are stuck with an airline credit that expires in 6 months time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Talk about a waste of time

by Don’t get this card is all I can say. on Oct 16, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I have been with CIBC since 11 years old. Most of the time I’m ok with their service however the Visa Infinite card for travel points is ridiculous. As I write this review this is the third call and literally at this time as I write this I have been on hold for 2:10 min and 53 seconds. I’m sure that they make enough money off of us to ensure at least reasonable customer service. And every 30 seconds they say “thank you for holding. We sincerely appreciate your patience and will return to your call shortly.” Do they define wasting more than two hours of my life as reasonable? And not being the first time? I wish I could give them a beyond zero negative review. This is ridiculous.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Service Level

by Piz on Oct 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Travel rewards services are non-existent to make contact on hold for two hours.
Value for money, Aventura points bring no advantage!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Travel insurance

by Diana Cartwright on Sep 24, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I was recently in Europe and my flight was significantly delayed so I decided to call CIBC insurance to see if they'd pay for a change of clothes etc. As the agreement says they will. I COULD NOT get hold of anyone. There was nothing in their system to accept a collect call and I tried numerous times. I also had someone try calling from Canada and she couldn't get through to anyone. This really concerned me as I was planning to use the insurance for a car rental. I feared if something happened I would spend the rest of my holiday simply trying to get hold of someone in order to get a claim processed. Fortunately, nothing happened, but I was SO NOT impressed. What's the point of paying for insurance if you're not going to be able to use it? Quite angry and will be looking for another card.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible customer experience

by Maria P. on Sep 3, 2021
2 out of 5 stars

My experience with CIBC Rewards Centre has been horrible. To book a trip on the phone, the waiting time is 1,5h or more and you still don't get on hold of anyone to help you.
Another problem I had is when I exchanged my points for some Save on Food gift cards. I realized this chain of supermarkets is not available in Toronto, so I called the Rewards Centre the right way to cancel the order. They said they would try to help, but it wasn't guaranteed. How come? I called only 1 hour later after my purchase. It doesn't make sense the operator can't do anything. I don't know why, but I do believe the system should be more flexible when it comes to orders and cancellations. My overall experience with the CIBC Rewards Centre has been terrible. Don't recommend it to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Horrible customer service

by Ian M on Jul 15, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

To begin with, their travel options are extremely limited. For example, you can only rent a car at some North American airports. If you need a car for a weekend from a local rentals office, which is a 10 min walk from my home, or in Europe or Asia, you are out of luck! You can call, but it will take up to several hours to get to a representative and you cannot browse through all options and prices. Also, I submitted for a refund for Air Transat flights that got cancelled back in June 2020 and it takes forever to get my money, although other travel agents get it done faster. And then it will be 6-8 weeks more to get back my points I have used to make the booking!! The customer service is awful and they hang up on you because "they have no additional information". The collection rate is bad. The access to lounges is useless because they are either closed for COVID or overcrowded. Find a better card.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo