Credit Card Reviews

CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card Consumer Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(38 reviews)
CIBC Aventura VISA INFINITE Card
1.6 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Product Features experience:
Share your own experience
Write a review

Right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing

by Caroline MacDonald on Apr 20, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

In total, I have spent 4 - 5 hours over two days trying to get a hold of someone to take advantage of their promotion on travel redemption points. I have transferred between two numbers, each representative offloading to the other - repeatedly!
After a number of phone calls, and requests to escalate to managers who never get back to you that day (2-4 business days which tells me they have a lot of customer complaints), one person tells me I am not eligible because somewhere in the fine print, it only for Canadian travel! Regardless of the fact, that I had redeemed points previously for US travel on the promotion or so I thought I did. They then went on to tell me that the promotion wasn't applied in that instance, and it was the regular redemption program - even though they left me believing I qualified and they had rectified it. This of course is all news to me... after repeated conversations and discussions with various representatives.
You cannot escalate, you cannot be provided with an explanation, you cannot reason with them.... it is truly a nightmare. I will not be using any of their products again! I would switch credit cards immediately if I didn't have all my banking with CIBC.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

CIBC Travel Rewards Impossible to Redeem

by Russell Weir on Mar 16, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

My family and I purchased flights to Italy from Ottawa in 2020, just before Covid hit, using points earned on our visa card plus the difference in cash.
When our flights were cancelled, CIBC offered us a 2 year Credit or our money back. When they said "money back" they meant cash money. We were told that if we took the money back it would only apply to the cash we paid and our points would be lost. We opted for the 2-year travel credit.
When Air Canada announced that they were offering to turn travel credits into Vouchers with no expiry date, we called CIBC. We were told it did not apply and the two-year credit still applied. ( This is probably incorrect as people that had booked through 3rd parties such as Expedia were able to convert easily)
Now we are trying to book a flight somewhere as the 2 years are up. CIBC is telling us that depending on our desired destination, our credit will likely not apply due to base fares and tax rates for the destination. My wife and I have spent a combined wait time of 9 hours on the phone this week trying to book something and each time we finally connect to someone, they tell us the same thing which is that our original file needed to be purged new one created. They say they have just done it but it will take several days to reach ticketing. They also say that they will call us back the moment it reaches ticketing and they don't call back!. I've also tried their automated "Call back" email program and guess what! No one calls back
CIBC is essentially trying to steal our money! I do not recommend this card or its rewards!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Good luck reaching their customer service

by Anna Logacheva on Mar 7, 2022
1.5 out of 5 stars

I will definitely go to a different bank after my recent experience with CIBC for the following reasons:
1. Horrible wait times for the reward center. You spend 2 hours waiting for someone to pick up the phone. After that, they start transferring you and at some point, the office closes. So, they just hung up.
2. If you want to complain, they transfer you to customer service, but you can just leave a message. They will never call you back.
3. If you get very angry, and insist, you might get to the manager who will refuse to discuss any issues with you. Got a response "I am not going to talk about it" when I told him that his staff was hanging up on me at 7 pm.
4. They will never call you back to finalize the booking and your ticket ends up being 2 times more expensive by the time you finally get someone to book it for you.
Go with another bank, your lifetime is more valuable than this...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite Card

Earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first 3 months (up to $2,000 in total purchases). Plus, no annual fee in the first year, including on supplementary cards. A welcome offer value of $350. What else will you get:

 

  • 4% on eligible recurring bill payments and grocery store purchases
  • 2% on eligible gas station and daily transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7 Visa Infinite Dining Series Visa Infinite Music Series Wine Country Wonders Luxury Hotel Privileges
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance & New Mobile Device Insurance coverage

Get this card / Apply online

Worst customer service ever

by Meg Westley on Jan 14, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

This credit card is a total rip-off. Booking travel takes hours of sitting on hold and to get a deal you have to take incredibly convoluted routes. I had a $500 credit after cancelling a flight due to Covid and was never able to claim it because the travel rewards centre did not call back as promised. When I spoke to customer service they said there was nothing they could do. Godawful

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Unreachable during emergency situations for up to 3-4 days

by Aventuradumpsterfire on Jan 13, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

Picture this, you buy a round trip through Aventura, you make it to your destination when it’s time to go home, you try to check-in at the airport, lo and behold, CIBC rewards has made the booking but not acquired an actual ticket, you are told that the airline can do nothing because the ticket was purchased under CIBC rewards, you attempt to call the line and are put on hold for 2 hours and then dropped, you try again and are told your calling after hours and to call the next day.
The next flight is after your covid test requirements so you purchase a rapid PCR test which is what is now the only thing available required for an additional $900 dollars at the foreign airport. You purchase your own ticket for 3x the original price. + a new 7-hour layover because CIBC rewards cannot be reached, and you need to get home...
You arrive home and continue calling CIBC rewards and are continuously being put on machine hold for over the next 3 days with nobody picking up the phone. You are very very angry
Welcome to my life.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't waste you money

by Michael. on Jan 10, 2022
1 out of 5 stars

The visa card is not worth the money. You can accumulate points, but good luck using them or even getting them back if you wish to cancel. Wait times are insanely high, I doubt they have anyone working on a help desk.
In hindsight, I would never wish to use an Aventura points card. You basically cannot get a hold of anyone to do anything, and their user interface is pathetic! Feels like you have gone back to the late '90s in terms of UI and speed.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment 

Get this card / Apply online

Not worth it for the fees we pay yearly

by Tony on Dec 30, 2021
1.5 out of 5 stars

I was invited by the bank to apply for the card and was invited to transfer the Balance over from other cards with 0 interest for 10 months. When missed payment by two days only they start charging me interest and cash advanced fees from day one of the transfers that’s a steal, also their trip cancellation insurance policy is a scam you have to deal with some insurance in Montreal if your flight is cancelled and it took over a year to get my money back.
CIBC Visa cards are not good any other cards on the market offer the same for free!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Waiting time

by Kiafarivar55@icloud.com on Dec 13, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I’ve almost waited 1 hour and 36 minutes in order to request the refund for the ticket I bought with them and now instead I get nothing than wait for ridicule customer service which is almost there is no excuse for such long hold time that they keep you and because of this they charge you 139$ annual and the service they give you isn’t worth it at all!

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Terrible customer service experience

by Ajay on Dec 10, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

I wish I could upload the screenshot here. I was on HOLD for OVER 2 HOURS before I decided to hang up. Such a pathetic customer service experience.
CIBC spends Millions on marketing campaigns and promotions but they can't afford to hire more customer service representatives to address customer issues.
Disgusting...

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Scotiabank® Gold American Express® Card

Earn up to 40,000 bonus Scotia Rewards points in your first year (that's up to $400 towards travel). What else will you get:

 

  • Earn 5 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible grocery stores, dining and entertainment
  • Earn 3 Scotia Rewards points for every $1 you spend at eligible gas stations, daily transit, and select streaming services
  • Earn 1 point for every $1 you spend on all other eligible everyday purchases
  • Complimentary Concierge Services 24/7
  • Comprehensive Travel Insurance coverage with 25 days of travel medical insurance for eligible persons under age 65

Get this card / Apply online

Wait times are unbelievable

by CarsonSedun on Nov 22, 2021
1 out of 5 stars

Wait times with CIBC Rewards center are absolutely embarrassing. I’ve called twice now and am currently on hold for over 2 hours. It’s a complete joke. I requested a points refund over 3 months ago. Was supposed to take 4-6 weeks and never heard anything back. Their “callback” feature, if you even want to call it that, doesn’t work and they never called me back. Emailed them 4 times in the last 2 months and never even got an automated response. TERRIBLE

0 of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo