Life Insurance Reviews

Sun Life Life Insurance Reviews

This page has been viewed by: Please wait... consumers
(108 reviews)
Sun Life
2.1 out of 5 stars:
Customer service:
Value for Money:
Share your own experience
Write a review

An awful experience

by dkhoob on Aug 8, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

The worst experience one may have in obtaining a life insurance claim. Company's strategy is to create every reason for not paying your life insurance claim. Staff are very incompetent, lacking knowledge of the process and no respect for their customers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Ins-Investment Plan A Loser

by Jonathan Sevy on Oct 9, 2016
1.5 out of 5 stars

Email just sent to "our" Sun Life Agent:
I'm looking at a June Segregated Funds Policy Statement and find myself chafed again by the convoluted non-information that we have received from Sun Life about our investments.

I shake my head at the sentence: "Please be assured that your segregated fund contract issued by sun Life Assurance Company of Canada continues to provide guarantees to help protect you against volatile markets." We feel no assurance, and Sun Life has been either unwilling or unable to show us a clear, simple record of money invested, interest payments and rates, withdrawals, and running balance(s).

It's a stunning failure, and we are very, very disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

unbelievable OPUS 2 insurance!

by it's painful for OPUS 2 life insurance policy on Jun 17, 2016
1 out of 5 stars

I don't how many people to buy OPUS 2 life insurance policy from Sun Life?!
I bought it in 1992 and finished payment already, but starting 3 years before, Sun Life sent me a letter to ask paying few hundreds again, say the company isn't running well so ask more money to keep this policy. I called to them, but no body can answer me questions about why? for how long for this payment? etc. Today I got another letter from them to ask me to pay full amount of money which isn't few hundreds, it's over a thousand dollar which was my original policy payment as 1992!! Unbelievable!! Sun Life is one of a big company in Canada, compare with other insurance's companies, why the performance has a huge difference? when the time they asked me to buy their life insurance, all they told me how strougn they are! but results to make me so dispointed! Lucky, I am only one bought Sun Life insurance! So becareful, when you buy any insurances from Sun Life!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Not sure if you can qualify for life insurance with existing health pre-conditions? Let us to help you with a no medical life insurance quote, meaning that you do not need to pass a medical exam to qualify for a life insurance policy.

Life Insurance Denial!!!

by Kansas12 on May 20, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

It's been 10 months since I submitted a request for life insurance payment from Sun Life. After 3 months of calling writing letters etc. I have finally been denied. I filed again and was denied again, I then filed again and was denied. The reason for denial was that Sun Life states that my deceased wife didn't submit a document called "EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY". This document was never requested nor has any mention of it been made by her employer. I have hired a lawyer that specializes in this area but have still even denied. I am not satisfied with this lawyer either but that's another story. This EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY document states that you have no disease that would cause death within 3 years of the start date of the policy. She got cancer 4 years after start date. I contend why worry about the document since it's been 4 years. Of course Sun just sees a chance for denial. Today is May 20th 2017 she passed Aug 16 2016 and I'm still fighting. My next course of action is to sue in federal court, which I plan to do. I will not give up until I have collected

5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Terrible, buyer be aware!

by Johan on Aug 31, 2020
1 out of 5 stars

It took me 6 months of back and forth to finally be approved on a disability mortgage... A week after I was told I was approved they had told me more information required! They don’t have the public as their best interest but they are very good at collecting your money!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Don't touch this company

by Un happy customer on Aug 5, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

Trying to claim a life insurance policy taken out by the bereaved, the family continues to struggle to get the payout. With numerous calls to the company telling us to get all signatures completed when only one executive dealing with all the finances. Also asked to provide bank details on two occasions only to be told 4 weeks later that they don't pay into your bank account but direct to the funeral directors. The way we've been treated is absolutely disgusting. None of their call operators read from the same script obviously making it up as they go along. Furthermore, what you actually contribute in payments you only get about a third back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics
Did you know that mortgage insurance is the same as life insurance but more expensive and offers less protection? By cancelling it and getting life insurance, you would typically save around 30%-40% for the same coverage.

Disgusting company.

by 123fedup. on Feb 2, 2018
1 out of 5 stars

My dad died 2 months ago, claim for funeral cover was made 2 days after. We are still waiting for the funeral money to be paid. This company uses delay tactics to avoid paying out - asking for death certificate to be sent twice, then stating executor of will needs to be changed 8 weeks after original claim. We now have to re apply for money. Disgusting service to grieving family. Luckily our funeral director is understanding otherwise we would have problems. AVOID - I could scream when I see those cringey adverts. Not a good company.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo

Stress for your loved ones!

by Debbie on Jun 19, 2017
1 out of 5 stars

Appalling service don't waste your money with this load of cowboys. My father passed away 7 weeks ago and started the claim process the following day to pay for his funeral still waiting for the money he's paid on time for over 5 years. Service is slow, delay tactics are used . Complaints team respond with assurance it will be dealt with promptly and still nothing. So the bit about taking the stress away from your loved one is complete rubbish! They've caused additional stress for the last 7 weeks. Put the money under your floor boards for your funeral as looking at reviews watch dog say it's likely you won't even get as much as you have paid in over the years!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Review topics

Life insurance

by Chick 22 on Dec 3, 2015
1 out of 5 stars

Sun life of Canada decided my premiums would not match my life insurance they cancelled my policy after 15 years of payments they brought the policy from another company and decided my monthly payments wasn't worth what my children would get if I died so the cancelled it the financial ombudsman is now dealing with them you might as well say the stole 15 years of payments from me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo
Did you know there is a 35% chance of developing a critical illness before you are 65 and 65%-70% chance before you turn 81? That means getting a critical illness insurance quote is no less important than getting life insurance. Your choice.

NOT IMPRESSED

by bbbbbbb on Dec 31, 2019
1 out of 5 stars

I have had this life insurance for 14 years and did not realize that once I turn 65 it is now called "My life choice renewable term insurance". My payments were $20.50 and now since I turned 65 they will be $50.50. What a scam. They will not refund what you paid into it if you refuse to pay the new price. All I can say is what a waste of money I put into this. So what do they do with my Money? Where does it go, if not back to me? I asked if I could case it in as some insurance policies do, but the person I was talking to (who hardly spoke English) said no. Pretty sad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

YesNo